[MOD 0.12.0] Fluid Barrel (1.0.0)

Topics and discussion about specific mods
firegrenade
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 4:55 am
Contact:

[MOD 0.12.0] Fluid Barrel (1.0.0)

Post by firegrenade » Thu Jan 08, 2015 5:15 am

This mod is requested by Brekkjern inspired by the mod by btw located here. The original mod was reported broken so I have duplicated the mod. No code or images were taken from the previous mod.

Showcase
Image
Image

Features
  • Fill barrels with any type of fluid in an assembler.
  • Empty barrels with any type of fluid in an assembler.
  • Recipes are in new technology "Liquid Handling 2"
[Subject edited by Koub : the mod is naturally 0.12.0 compatible]

Downloads
Attachments
fluid-barrel_1.0.0.zip
(99.29 KiB) Downloaded 14320 times

Redlemon
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 11:57 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.11.x] Fluid Barrel (1.0.0)

Post by Redlemon » Fri Jan 09, 2015 10:39 pm

MP, Dytech and 11.10 friendly ? ^^

Thanks a lot

By the way, it's awesome. thanks a lot for the dev.

User avatar
XyLe
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 124
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2014 10:45 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.11.x] Fluid Barrel (1.0.0)

Post by XyLe » Sun Jan 11, 2015 4:41 am

That mod is a great idea! amazing! if only it worked for me , keke

I use 5dim's + DyTech + TreeFarm.. can you please take a look at why it crashes the game for me and my friend? both of us can launch the game but it crashes on attempt to generate a map

Redlemon
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 11:57 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.11.x] Fluid Barrel (1.0.0)

Post by Redlemon » Thu Jan 15, 2015 10:24 pm

Redlemon wrote:MP, Dytech and 11.10 friendly ? ^^

Thanks a lot

By the way, it's awesome. thanks a lot for the dev.
For me it does work like a charm, 30 hours doing barrels all day. not a single glitch. MP + dytech on 11.10

Thanks again for this awesome mod.

User avatar
morphman
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2015 10:11 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.11.x] Fluid Barrel (1.0.0)

Post by morphman » Thu Jan 22, 2015 10:20 am

Is there any specific reason to have a brand new tech unlock for it? As I see it, from a game story standpoint, it should really be the same process as filling crude oil barrels, which you get from Liquid Handling (1?).

Great mod though, I've always found it odd that only crude oil can be barrelled.

GopherAtl
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 177
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 7:54 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.11.x] Fluid Barrel (1.0.0)

Post by GopherAtl » Mon Feb 02, 2015 4:46 am

nice mod, good chance I'll be using it in the future.

A suggestion though. If it were me, I would make 2 new kinds of "barrels," one a tank, like a propane tank, specifically for the gasses (just petroleum gas, in vanilla, but other mods may add other gasses, not sure?) and the other made of plastic. The plastic one would have all the same liquid recipes as the barrels, but should be the only tank you can use for sulfuric acid. If I remember my chemistry, I don't think sulfuric acid would eat through steal drums, but it would react with the metal and render the acid useless. These new items and their filling recipes would come from the new tech, fluid handling 2.
My Mods:
Nixie Tubes - numeric displays for your circuit networks!
Logistic Combinators - use logistics values in circuit logic! -
Autowire - automate red/green wire connections

linshuboy
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2015 2:46 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.11.x] Fluid Barrel (1.0.0)

Post by linshuboy » Sun Apr 26, 2015 1:08 pm

Thank you for your excellent work again! :D

This is my translation text for zh-CN:(format UTF-8withoutBOM)
fluid-barrel_1.0.0\locale\zh-CN\technology-names.cfg

Code: Select all

[technology-name]
fluid-barrel=液体灌装机

[technology-description]
fluid-barrel=选择每一种液体的专用桶。
fluid-barrel_1.0.0\locale\zh-CN\item-names.cfg

Code: Select all

[item-name]
water-barrel=水桶
sulfuric-acid-barrel=硫酸桶
lubricant-barrel=润滑油桶
petroleum-gas-barrel=天然气桶
heavy-oil-barrel=重油桶
light-oil-barrel=轻油桶

JyeGuru
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2014 3:59 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.11.x] Fluid Barrel (1.0.0)

Post by JyeGuru » Thu Jun 11, 2015 9:12 am

Awesome! I've added this to my modpack now and deprecated my customized version of the Liquid Station Mod.

Peter34
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1086
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 12:44 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.11.x] Fluid Barrel (1.0.0)

Post by Peter34 » Fri Jun 12, 2015 1:42 am

YukiHyou wrote:Awesome! I've added this to my modpack now and deprecated my customized version of the Liquid Station Mod.
I like the idea of a smaller-sized machine for barrelling and unbarrelling, though. Preferably 1x1 tile, or 2x1 or 2x2 tiles. And also using less power than an Assembler Machine. But that's the only complaint I have about the Fluid Barrel mod.

JyeGuru
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2014 3:59 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.11.x] Fluid Barrel (1.0.0)

Post by JyeGuru » Fri Jun 12, 2015 1:57 am

Honestly that was the main thing I modded out. I did also consider making the barreling happen in a chemical plant, but there's enough recipes in them already without messing with them any further.

GopherAtl
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 177
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 7:54 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.11.x] Fluid Barrel (1.0.0)

Post by GopherAtl » Fri Jul 17, 2015 5:32 pm

This is one of those mods I can't live without, so just went to see about updating it for 0.12.0. It seems to work as-is, though there is some oddness with displaying the names of recipes in the menu. Filled a storage tank with water, then disconnected from the well and shifted it back and forth, barreling and unbarreling to a second tank, and it seems to function perfectly. Just an FYI.
My Mods:
Nixie Tubes - numeric displays for your circuit networks!
Logistic Combinators - use logistics values in circuit logic! -
Autowire - automate red/green wire connections

Peter34
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1086
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 12:44 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.11.x] Fluid Barrel (1.0.0)

Post by Peter34 » Sat Jul 18, 2015 3:12 pm

GopherAtl wrote:This is one of those mods I can't live without, so just went to see about updating it for 0.12.0. It seems to work as-is, though there is some oddness with displaying the names of recipes in the menu. Filled a storage tank with water, then disconnected from the well and shifted it back and forth, barreling and unbarreling to a second tank, and it seems to function perfectly. Just an FYI.
So I just put this in my mod folder, and it works right away? Without me having to do anything? Or what?

FishSandwich
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1847
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 3:37 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.11.x] Fluid Barrel (1.0.0)

Post by FishSandwich » Sat Jul 18, 2015 3:15 pm

GopherAtl wrote:It seems to work as-is, though there is some oddness with displaying the names of recipes in the menu.
Yep, it's an issue with the locales and was that way before 0.12
Peter34 wrote:
GopherAtl wrote:This is one of those mods I can't live without, so just went to see about updating it for 0.12.0. It seems to work as-is, though there is some oddness with displaying the names of recipes in the menu. Filled a storage tank with water, then disconnected from the well and shifted it back and forth, barreling and unbarreling to a second tank, and it seems to function perfectly. Just an FYI.
So I just put this in my mod folder, and it works right away? Without me having to do anything? Or what?
Yes, this one works fine in 0.12 without needing changes.

Koub
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4788
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:54 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.11.x] Fluid Barrel (1.0.0)

Post by Koub » Sat Jul 18, 2015 3:30 pm

Topic moved to Mods ‹ Mods for 0.12 ‹ New Items, Entities, Extensions (0.12)
It seems the OP hasn't visited this forum in the last 4 months. I'll change the title of the topic, and when I have a little time, add the template.
Koub - Please consider English is not my native language.

reddutton
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2015 12:35 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.0] Fluid Barrel (1.0.0)

Post by reddutton » Sun Jul 19, 2015 6:47 pm

any one else having issues with the unfilling of barrels stops randomly till you add or remove a module on the 0.12 update
thy may be stupid but thy am smart (reddutton 2006 seconlife)

Mr. Zero
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 12:09 am

Re: [MOD 0.11.x] Fluid Barrel (1.0.0)

Post by Mr. Zero » Mon Jul 20, 2015 7:03 am

Koub wrote:Topic moved to Mods ‹ Mods for 0.12 ‹ New Items, Entities, Extensions (0.12)
It seems the OP hasn't visited this forum in the last 4 months. I'll change the title of the topic, and when I have a little time, add the template.
To save you some trouble, for my love of refineries and shipping resources around by trains, I have updated the mod with the missing locale files, updated the image with the new timer graphics for research and provide a template below according to the current standards (not sure, seems sslik is still figuring out what template will contain. Also lack of author description?!).
Fluid Barrel Mod Template

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 10472
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.0] Fluid Barrel (1.0.0)

Post by ssilk » Fri Jul 24, 2015 10:15 am

Moved to convenience, I think this is more game-changing, than just adding items.
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

waduk
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 364
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 5:44 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.0] Fluid Barrel (1.0.0)

Post by waduk » Fri Jul 24, 2015 11:35 am

Does anyone else experiencing a subtle stutter (when moving) after activating this mod ?
It didn't register on fps count (retain at 60 fps), but it's noticeable.
Affect new game.
I tested it by disabling all mods except for Fluid Barrel, quit, make new game, yet the problem exist.
Also, this happen on other mod (Rail Tanker) although in Rail Tanker the problem is more severe.
Maybe happen to the mod that affect liquid handling?
I posted the same report on Rail Tanker thread.
Last edited by waduk on Fri Jul 24, 2015 11:41 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Klonan
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 3642
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 2:09 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.0] Fluid Barrel (1.0.0)

Post by Klonan » Fri Jul 24, 2015 11:39 am

waduk wrote:Does anyone else experiencing a subtle stutter (when moving) after activating this mod ?
It didn't register on fps count (retain at 60 fps), but it's noticeable.
Affect new game.
I tested it by disabling all mods except for Fluid Barrel, quit, make new game, yet the problem exist.
Also, this happen on other mod (Rail Tanker) although in Rail Tanker the problem is more severe.
Maybe happen to the mod that affecting liquid handling?
I posted the same report on Rail Tanker thread.
There nothing in this mod that should cause any performace issues, its literally just a handful of items, recipes and technologies.

waduk
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 364
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 5:44 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.0] Fluid Barrel (1.0.0)

Post by waduk » Fri Jul 24, 2015 11:44 am

Klonan wrote:
waduk wrote:Does anyone else experiencing a subtle stutter (when moving) after activating this mod ?
It didn't register on fps count (retain at 60 fps), but it's noticeable.
Affect new game.
I tested it by disabling all mods except for Fluid Barrel, quit, make new game, yet the problem exist.
Also, this happen on other mod (Rail Tanker) although in Rail Tanker the problem is more severe.
Maybe happen to the mod that affecting liquid handling?
I posted the same report on Rail Tanker thread.
There nothing in this mod that should cause any performace issues, its literally just a handful of items, recipes and technologies.

Yet it happen, probably a main game bug ? Only arose if the (liquid) mod is used ?

Edit: Probably main game issue, happen even in x86 build vanilla game. In x64 build, the problem only arose if the mod is activated.

Post Reply

Return to “Mods”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users