[MOD 0.14] AAI Programmable Vehicles

Changing/adding/removing one thing of the game. Doesn't break the game completely, if mod is removed.

Re: [MOD 0.14] AAI Programmable Vehicles

Postby robertpaulson » Sun Jul 16, 2017 4:57 am

I managed to strip it all down to the AAI vehicles, off-grid-effects and prototypes. So everything else is optional if you just care about RC function.

Everything works fine, and I removed much of all the tweaks i.e killing all trees in radius lol- how cheesy is that. And the nudge works now so that's great. Honestly I'm impressed with path-finding. I told the car to travel 1k+ tiles through base and few forests and it did it quite smoothly. I thought I would need to babysit the thing.

However I wanted to use electric vehicles mod, the consume energy/equipment function does not work for me for some reason. Electric car initiates correctly when placed by hand with the grid contents. If you place it empty and add the items to grid it will never update the grid equipment for electric vehicles. And even if I put it down with the equipment as soon as I get and move front/back the car "runs out of fuel" basically after the first "fuel_tick". For now I'm tweaking the Electric vehicle car to basically to require fusion reactor and bunch of batteries in recipe and ditch the entire energy consumption deal, but it's painful, since its a quite neatly calculated mod.
robertpaulson
Inserter
Inserter
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2017 2:21 pm

Re: [MOD 0.14] AAI Programmable Vehicles

Postby Berkys32 » Sun Jul 16, 2017 5:42 am

You want your vehicles to use equipment energy to run?
This mod do this for me, but i have opposite problem - I dont want it. I want my energy to be conserved for shield and laser modules, but instead of this, when my vehicles get to biters, their batteries are empty...
Berkys32
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2016 9:17 am

Re: [MOD 0.14] AAI Programmable Vehicles

Postby cpy » Sun Jul 16, 2017 1:17 pm

Found bug when you have tanks with custom weapons it only lets you keep just one.
Bobwarfare tank only have 1 weapon, when i remove programable vehicles tanks have all weapons again.

Bob equipment also vanishes from vehicles. If you put some items to your vehicle grid it just vanishes after a while or after you give command to a vehicle.
User avatar
cpy
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
 
Posts: 655
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:34 am

Re: [MOD 0.14] AAI Programmable Vehicles

Postby Earendel » Sun Jul 16, 2017 2:49 pm

Vehicle equipment grids are not officially supported right now. I didn't make the mods that add equipment grids to my vehicles. Also the code that makes them use battery power was submitted to me and has the clear intention of making vehicles run on battery power for all things.

At some point I will be adding proper equipment grid support complete with the ability to deploy vehicles with equipment grids. Before I do that though, if people have specific use cases of ideas on how it should work feel free to make suggestions.

My current thinking is that there should be a special bit of equipment that allows battery power to be used to move the vehicle, and without it fuel would be required. The other option is to have a unit data signal to switch on and off fuel use which would be more versatile but also more complicated. Another thing to bear in mind is that I will soon be trying to remove the AAI structures dependency so any solution will need to work with that.
User avatar
Earendel
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
 
Posts: 371
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2014 11:57 am


Re: [MOD 0.14] AAI Programmable Vehicles

Postby robertpaulson » Sun Jul 16, 2017 4:17 pm

Berkys32 wrote:You want your vehicles to use equipment energy to run?
This mod do this for me, but i have opposite problem - I dont want it. I want my energy to be conserved for shield and laser modules, but instead of this, when my vehicles get to biters, their batteries are empty...


are you using electric vehicles, or you just added grid to the vanilla car?
robertpaulson
Inserter
Inserter
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2017 2:21 pm

Re: [MOD 0.14] AAI Programmable Vehicles

Postby cpy » Mon Jul 17, 2017 7:18 am

Earendel wrote:I just found this video on orbiting cars: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l1vEO-6G9AI


That terrain generator is cool, do you know by any chance what it is?
User avatar
cpy
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
 
Posts: 655
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:34 am

Re: [MOD 0.14] AAI Programmable Vehicles

Postby Berkys32 » Mon Jul 17, 2017 9:57 am

robertpaulson wrote:
Berkys32 wrote:You want your vehicles to use equipment energy to run?
This mod do this for me, but i have opposite problem - I dont want it. I want my energy to be conserved for shield and laser modules, but instead of this, when my vehicles get to biters, their batteries are empty...


are you using electric vehicles, or you just added grid to the vanilla car?


Just mod called Vehicle equipment grid, which add equipment grid to AAI vehicles. But sadly this mod alter not only this mod, but Bobs vehicles with bobs vehicle equipment too (as all vehicles use any energy from any batteries)
Berkys32
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2016 9:17 am

Re: [MOD 0.14] AAI Programmable Vehicles

Postby Berkys32 » Mon Jul 17, 2017 10:04 am

Earendel wrote:Vehicle equipment grids are not officially supported right now. I didn't make the mods that add equipment grids to my vehicles. Also the code that makes them use battery power was submitted to me and has the clear intention of making vehicles run on battery power for all things.

At some point I will be adding proper equipment grid support complete with the ability to deploy vehicles with equipment grids. Before I do that though, if people have specific use cases of ideas on how it should work feel free to make suggestions.

My current thinking is that there should be a special bit of equipment that allows battery power to be used to move the vehicle, and without it fuel would be required. The other option is to have a unit data signal to switch on and off fuel use which would be more versatile but also more complicated. Another thing to bear in mind is that I will soon be trying to remove the AAI structures dependency so any solution will need to work with that.


Yes, be able to switch battery using for move on/off will be really best sollution (like make emergency switch when they ran out of fuel). But as long as warden can hold tons of fuel for all vehicles, I rather save energy for weapons. Could you please point me to part of your mod, where I can disable this function please?
Berkys32
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2016 9:17 am

Re: [MOD 0.14] AAI Programmable Vehicles

Postby Earendel » Mon Jul 17, 2017 11:58 am

cpy wrote:
Earendel wrote:I just found this video on orbiting cars: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l1vEO-6G9AI


That terrain generator is cool, do you know by any chance what it is?


Alien Biomes: https://mods.factorio.com/mods/Earendel ... /downloads

Berkys32 wrote:
Earendel wrote:Vehicle equipment grids are not officially supported right now. I didn't make the mods that add equipment grids to my vehicles. Also the code that makes them use battery power was submitted to me and has the clear intention of making vehicles run on battery power for all things.

At some point I will be adding proper equipment grid support complete with the ability to deploy vehicles with equipment grids. Before I do that though, if people have specific use cases of ideas on how it should work feel free to make suggestions.

My current thinking is that there should be a special bit of equipment that allows battery power to be used to move the vehicle, and without it fuel would be required. The other option is to have a unit data signal to switch on and off fuel use which would be more versatile but also more complicated. Another thing to bear in mind is that I will soon be trying to remove the AAI structures dependency so any solution will need to work with that.


Yes, be able to switch battery using for move on/off will be really best sollution (like make emergency switch when they ran out of fuel). But as long as warden can hold tons of fuel for all vehicles, I rather save energy for weapons. Could you please point me to part of your mod, where I can disable this function please?


Search control.lua for "consume". There is a function to get energy from batteries or fuel.
User avatar
Earendel
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
 
Posts: 371
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2014 11:57 am

Re: [MOD 0.14] AAI Programmable Vehicles

Postby Northgate » Wed Jul 19, 2017 4:08 pm

I'm having huge issues with the path finding of the vehicles. If vehicles have to travel longer than a short distance they can't find their destination and start to roam around randomly. Also they seem to bug themselve through walls which makes it very hard to prevent them from getting into crowded areas.

Are there any solutions to this? Or would it be possible to limit them to only walk on zones?
Northgate
Inserter
Inserter
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2016 9:17 pm

Re: [MOD 0.14] AAI Programmable Vehicles

Postby Skeleton Man » Wed Jul 19, 2017 8:50 pm

Northgate wrote:I'm having huge issues with the path finding of the vehicles. If vehicles have to travel longer than a short distance they can't find their destination and start to roam around randomly. Also they seem to bug themselve through walls which makes it very hard to prevent them from getting into crowded areas.

Are there any solutions to this? Or would it be possible to limit them to only walk on zones?

I was having the same problem and ended up designing my base around vehicles being able to get through it. This mean pretty much walling off every main area of the factory and leaving areas that vehicles can drive through. It helps pathfinding a bit but they do have a habit of passing through objects they cut close to. They don't automatically trigger gates which means it wasn't too much of a hinderance to set up walls everywhere.

The vehicles won't get stuck on underground belts either, so you can bridge areas of the factory together using long strips of underground belts. Until new pathfinding is coded specifically for the vehicles (which is a huge task in itself and likely wouldn't be very performance friendly) you'll have babysit the vehicles through most complex areas.

However makes me think, there ought to be a way to pack up a vehicle, the opposite of a vehicle deployer, automatically. Then you could simply pack a vehicle and its cargo up at one point, move it via conveyor or train to another point, then unpack and re-deploy it there. Would be pretty needlessly complex but probably cool.
Skeleton Man
Inserter
Inserter
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2017 1:21 pm

Re: [MOD 0.14] AAI Programmable Vehicles

Postby Northgate » Wed Jul 19, 2017 10:09 pm

I actually already have walls everywhere where the vehicles shouldn't go. The problem is that they glitch through the walls on a frequent base. And even tough everything is walled off and there is literally just one way to go, they still roam around cluelessly.
Northgate
Inserter
Inserter
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2016 9:17 pm

Re: [MOD 0.14] AAI Programmable Vehicles

Postby Skeleton Man » Thu Jul 20, 2017 10:29 am

Northgate wrote:I actually already have walls everywhere where the vehicles shouldn't go. The problem is that they glitch through the walls on a frequent base. And even tough everything is walled off and there is literally just one way to go, they still roam around cluelessly.

That's weird, long range bug pathfinding gets sticky either way. Some people have figured out combinator based pathfinding but that's a huge chore. You can really only hope for improvement in general biter AI, or keep vehicles far away from the insides of your base.
Skeleton Man
Inserter
Inserter
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2017 1:21 pm

Previous

Return to New Items, Entities, Extensions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: margdoc and 2 guests