[MOD 0.12.x] Factorio Maps

Topics and discussion about specific mods
jeroon
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 351
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 10:18 am

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Factorio Maps

Post by jeroon » Tue Sep 08, 2015 10:11 am

Updated to 0.5.5.

Changelog:
Narc changed the javascript output, so now when you zoom in/out/move in your browser, the location in the browsers url bar updates, so you now can link to a specific position on the map. Very handy for pointing people to a point on your map. Thanks Narc!

User avatar
Narc
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 271
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2013 7:25 am

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Factorio Maps

Post by Narc » Fri Sep 11, 2015 4:52 am

Hey, I just got a multiplayer patch from YPetremann over on github. The diff looks like this: https://github.com/narc0tiq/FactorioMap ... b6689f?w=1

I went ahead and included a version bump and packed it up as a tentative v0.5.6 -- grab it from https://github.com/narc0tiq/FactorioMap ... _0.5.6.zip.

Everyone, be aware that I am not Jeroon and therefore this is not an official update.

Also please note that if you're using a headless server you cannot use FactorioMaps, as it will happily crash the headless peer when it tries to take screenshots. Notably, the confusing warning we saw earlier shows up again:

Code: Select all

 107.508 Warning LuaGameScript.cpp:1078: luaremove_path error: Scripts can only use file space inside of /home/narc/srv/factorio/script-output (requested path was /home/narc/srv/factorio/script-output/FactorioMaps/bob-world-3)
But this is not actually directly related to the crash that happens immediately thereafter:

Code: Select all

#0  0x7fbc88f2cd40 in ?? at ??:0
#1  0x5e1f8a in getWidth at /tmp/factorio-yavVX5/src/Graphics/Display.cpp:197
#2  0x4455ff in luaTakeScreenshot at /tmp/factorio-yavVX5/src/Script/LuaGameScript.cpp:990
#3  0xa8169e in callWrapper at /tmp/factorio-yavVX5/src/Script/LuaBinder.hpp:307
[...remainder ellided...]
That said, if you're doing multiplayer the classic way (with all peers playing), this will let any player trigger the map generation instead of requiring player 1 to do it. Do remember that all players will perform the same operations, and also that since the map generating process is usually quite long, it will likely result in everyone disconnecting from everyone else.

jeroon
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 351
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 10:18 am

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Factorio Maps

Post by jeroon » Sun Sep 13, 2015 7:50 pm

Thanks for the changes YPetremann, I've updated the first post. :)

Note that I haven't tested it myself in a Multi Player game, it crashed my game when I tried to use it with 2 local clients, so use at own risk, backup your backups bladibla.

As stated in the first post, you can always open your MP game in Single Player and use Factorio Maps that way.

User avatar
HeilTec
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 258
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 1:14 pm

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Factorio Maps

Post by HeilTec » Thu Sep 17, 2015 1:08 am

Great work on creating this useful helper.

The ability to create and share map and coordinates has been a fantastic help in multiplayer games.

A slight issue with the browser history made me look for a fix.
Every move or zoom that changed the URL added a new history entry.
fix
I have made a pull request to Narc's github

(edit: Removed download - get the new version.)
Last edited by HeilTec on Thu Sep 17, 2015 1:01 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Google is my friend. Searching the forum and the wiki is always a first.

User avatar
Narc
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 271
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2013 7:25 am

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Factorio Maps

Post by Narc » Thu Sep 17, 2015 5:00 am

HeilTec wrote:A slight issue with the browser history made me look for a fix.
[...]
I have made a pull request to Narc's github
And I've built it up into a v0.5.7: https://github.com/narc0tiq/FactorioMap ... _0.5.7.zip

Thank you very much for the fix!

User avatar
HeilTec
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 258
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 1:14 pm

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Factorio Maps

Post by HeilTec » Thu Sep 17, 2015 6:03 am

Narc wrote:...
Thank you very much for the fix!
I hope for a bright future for this.

I wonder if more parts of the API can be used?
Google is my friend. Searching the forum and the wiki is always a first.

jeroon
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 351
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 10:18 am

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Factorio Maps

Post by jeroon » Thu Sep 17, 2015 6:53 am

Thanks for the changes, I've updated the first post :)

User avatar
Narc
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 271
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2013 7:25 am

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Factorio Maps

Post by Narc » Thu Sep 17, 2015 7:03 am

Hurrah for cooperative development!

User avatar
Ezzue
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2014 7:54 pm

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Factorio Maps

Post by Ezzue » Wed Sep 30, 2015 7:24 am

Hey!
Man I love this mod!
But how do you upload it to a website? And any suggestions on which sites?
Thanks in advance.

jeroon
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 351
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 10:18 am

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Factorio Maps

Post by jeroon » Sat Oct 17, 2015 7:31 pm

Updated to 0.5.8 due to changes in Factorio 0.12.11: game.on_init has become script.on_init and game.makefile is now game.write_file.

Because of this changes the new version won't work for versions older than 0.12.11, I've attached the previous version (0.5.8) to this post.

WARNING: The file attached to this post is the old version, new version is in the first post!
Attachments
FactorioMaps_0.5.7.zip
(9.58 KiB) Downloaded 291 times

navillus
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2015 5:24 pm

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Factorio Maps

Post by navillus » Tue Oct 20, 2015 7:45 am

Using Factorio Maps 0.5.8 and Factorio 12.11, I can use it during normal play however loading a game gives the following error:

Unknown key:"Error while running the on_load: __FactorioMaps__/Files/control.lue:363: attempt to index global 'game' (a nil value)"

miturion
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2015 5:46 pm

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Factorio Maps

Post by miturion » Thu Dec 24, 2015 12:58 pm

Nice, you can create some cool maps with this mod.

Blackraz0r
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2014 1:03 pm

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Factorio Maps

Post by Blackraz0r » Mon Jan 11, 2016 2:37 pm

Hey guys,

is there a way to have a livemap like dynmap in minecraft? this would be so damn cool. :D

Woehler
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2015 8:47 pm

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Factorio Maps

Post by Woehler » Fri Jan 22, 2016 8:08 am

Can't get this mod to work.
Only tried using it on 1 MP map. But tried different factorio install with and without any other mods. Tried loading it in SP and MP. And tested all of the settings in the mod.
Except the one time it crashed, it would say that max zoom was broken no matter what settings I used.
It would however still make a folder in the script output with a index file. But no pictures.

jeroon
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 351
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 10:18 am

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Factorio Maps

Post by jeroon » Mon Jan 25, 2016 1:48 pm

Sorry for the late reply, but did your game crash to desktop? If so, you should probably make a bug report, because that's never suppose to happen, no matter how bad I code ;)

I've never heard anyone else having the problem you discribed, and unfortunately I can't think of a reason it is happening.. what were the exact error messages you were getting?

User avatar
SuicidalKid
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 247
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2015 9:58 pm

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Factorio Maps

Post by SuicidalKid » Tue Jan 26, 2016 10:47 pm

navillus wrote:Using Factorio Maps 0.5.8 and Factorio 12.11, I can use it during normal play however loading a game gives the following error:

Unknown key:"Error while running the on_load: __FactorioMaps__/Files/control.lue:363: attempt to index global 'game' (a nil value)"
Also getting this error, any fix?
I have no idea what I'm doing.

jeroon
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 351
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 10:18 am

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Factorio Maps

Post by jeroon » Wed Jan 27, 2016 6:38 pm

SuicidalKid wrote: Also getting this error, any fix?
does this new version help? I disabled on_load, since on_tick is checking if the UI already exists.
Attachments
FactorioMaps_0.5.9.zip
(9.67 KiB) Downloaded 216 times

User avatar
SuicidalKid
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 247
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2015 9:58 pm

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Factorio Maps

Post by SuicidalKid » Wed Jan 27, 2016 8:40 pm

jeroon wrote: does this new version help? I disabled on_load, since on_tick is checking if the UI already exists.
Yup! Error doesn't show up anymore.
I have no idea what I'm doing.

Woehler
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2015 8:47 pm

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Factorio Maps

Post by Woehler » Wed Jan 27, 2016 9:00 pm

I continue to get a "Max zoom break" as error. and no images in the images folder in script output.
Doesn't matter what settings I use.

jeroon
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 351
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 10:18 am

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Factorio Maps

Post by jeroon » Thu Jan 28, 2016 1:59 pm

SuicidalKid wrote:
jeroon wrote: does this new version help? I disabled on_load, since on_tick is checking if the UI already exists.
Yup! Error doesn't show up anymore.
nice :)
Woehler wrote:I continue to get a "Max zoom break" as error. and no images in the images folder in script output.
Doesn't matter what settings I use.
can you upload your save, so I can take a look at it? From what I see it only should give that error when the zooming get's too big, is your map enormous?

Post Reply

Return to “Mods”