[MOD 0.12.x] Landfill (2.1.7)

Topics and discussion about specific mods
Post Reply
User avatar
MasterBuilder
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 348
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2014 1:22 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Landfill (2.1.5)

Post by MasterBuilder »

waduk wrote:Is it possible you make the compression bomb is cutting / removing the land besides making small hole ?
pic
I played in island map, and i want to cut away a portion of the land/creating an island.
Go into control.lua, change displaceDirt to false.
Give a man fire and he'll be warm for a day. Set a man on fire and he'll be warm for the rest of his life.

waduk
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 372
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 5:44 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Landfill (2.1.5)

Post by waduk »

vedrit wrote:
waduk wrote:Is it possible you make the compression bomb is cutting / removing the land besides making small hole ?
pic
I played in island map, and i want to cut away a portion of the land/creating an island.
There's a setting you can set to false in the mod configs
Aaah, Thank you !
MasterBuilder wrote: Go into control.lua, change displaceDirt to false.
Yes, thank you.

Peter34
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1100
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 12:44 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Landfill (2.1.5)

Post by Peter34 »

The Shaped Compression Bomb seems to not work sometimes. I distinctly remember testing it very recently, and having some problems at first until figuring out that it needs to be connected to Electricity in order to work. Then it did work, exploding for me and creating some nice 3x3 or 4x4'ish lakes.

But now it's no longer working. Is it that 12.5 broke the mod? It wasn't long ago that I first tested it, but it may have been Thursday or Wednesday, when we were still playing 12.4.

The rest of the mod works fine, but I'm really unhappy about no longer being able to create lakes when needed.

Peter34
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1100
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 12:44 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Landfill (2.1.5)

Post by Peter34 »

Without disabling any of the mods I'm using (because I had thought that perhaps that was the cause), the Bomb now works. It's very odd.

I think the most likely explanation, weird as it sounds, is that my power generation is minimalistic, due to me using a mod to "measure" the amout of charge in an Accumulator and then using that to control power generation (via pumps), so that the system gets as close as possible to just generating enough power to not decharge the Accu's, thus leaving no excess power to charge up the Bomb.

(Next time around, I'll probably try to use a non-Pump based approach to power generation control, see if that works better.)

dyf123
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2014 9:28 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Landfill (2.1.5)

Post by dyf123 »

I suggest that the throwDirt method changes to like that.

Code: Select all

function throwDirt(x, y)
    local dirtTiles = {}
    local tileName
    local dirtDisplaced = 0
    local floor = math.floor
    local distX,distY

    --game.player.print(x..","..y)

    if displaceDirt == true then
        x = floor(x)
        y = floor(y)
        
        local location={}
        
        for xx = x - 3, x + 3, 1 do
            for yy = y - 3, y + 3, 1 do
                distX = math.abs(x - xx)
                distY = math.abs(y - yy)                
                
                if floor(math.sqrt((distX * distX) + (distY * distY))) >= 2 then
                    tileName=game.gettile(xx,yy).name
                    --here start
                    if (tileName=="water" or tileName=="deepwater") then                        
                        table.insert(dirtTiles, {name = "water", position = {xx, yy}})
                    else
                        table.insert(dirtTiles, {name = "grass", position = {xx, yy}})
                    end
                    --to here
                    dirtDisplaced = dirtDisplaced + 1
                end                
            end
        end

        if dirtDisplaced ~= 0 then
            game.settiles(dirtTiles)
        end
    end
end
The old code will make a puddle on anywhere. I want to clean up a small island in the lake. I don't want to make a puddle with dirt's side in the middle of water.

waduk
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 372
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 5:44 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Landfill (2.1.5)

Post by waduk »

Peter34 wrote:Without disabling any of the mods I'm using (because I had thought that perhaps that was the cause), the Bomb now works. It's very odd.

I think the most likely explanation, weird as it sounds, is that my power generation is minimalistic, due to me using a mod to "measure" the amout of charge in an Accumulator and then using that to control power generation (via pumps), so that the system gets as close as possible to just generating enough power to not decharge the Accu's, thus leaving no excess power to charge up the Bomb.

(Next time around, I'll probably try to use a non-Pump based approach to power generation control, see if that works better.)
I think the mods based on accumulator, if you place them at night/falling lights level, it won't get charged.

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 13204
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Landfill (2.1.5)

Post by Rseding91 »

dyf123 wrote:I suggest that the throwDirt method changes to like that.

Code: Select all

function throwDirt(x, y)
    local dirtTiles = {}
    local tileName
    local dirtDisplaced = 0
    local floor = math.floor
    local distX,distY

    --game.player.print(x..","..y)

    if displaceDirt == true then
        x = floor(x)
        y = floor(y)
        
        local location={}
        
        for xx = x - 3, x + 3, 1 do
            for yy = y - 3, y + 3, 1 do
                distX = math.abs(x - xx)
                distY = math.abs(y - yy)                
                
                if floor(math.sqrt((distX * distX) + (distY * distY))) >= 2 then
                    tileName=game.gettile(xx,yy).name
                    --here start
                    if (tileName=="water" or tileName=="deepwater") then                        
                        table.insert(dirtTiles, {name = "water", position = {xx, yy}})
                    else
                        table.insert(dirtTiles, {name = "grass", position = {xx, yy}})
                    end
                    --to here
                    dirtDisplaced = dirtDisplaced + 1
                end                
            end
        end

        if dirtDisplaced ~= 0 then
            game.settiles(dirtTiles)
        end
    end
end
The old code will make a puddle on anywhere. I want to clean up a small island in the lake. I don't want to make a puddle with dirt's side in the middle of water.
That's literally the point of the throwDirt() function - it prevents you from doing what you're trying to do. It prevents people from making moats with the bombs.

If you want to play cheaty you can change displaceDirt = true to displaceDirt = false at the top of control.lua.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

ljcomplex
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun May 31, 2015 7:17 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Landfill (2.1.6)

Post by ljcomplex »

So I'm getting an error since updating to 0.12.7. Anytime I try to place landfill, big or small, I get this:

Image

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 13204
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Landfill (2.1.6)

Post by Rseding91 »

ljcomplex wrote:So I'm getting an error since updating to 0.12.7. Anytime I try to place landfill, big or small, I get this:
Download the latest version off the front page.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

BlackLight
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 11:01 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Landfill (2.1.6)

Post by BlackLight »

Rseding91 wrote:Download the latest version off the front page.
It didn't work for me either on the first try. Finally I uninstalled Factorio, deleted the Mod, reinstalled Factorio x64 0.12.7 and again put Landfill_2.1.6.zip in the mods folder. Maybe not all steps are necessary, but it worked for me.
Avous wrote:I'm going to request something and its fairly big, would there be a way to detect which ground texture is being used around the water source that you are filling, then set it to a variable and use that to change the texture? I play in a desert and it's pretty weird having grass in the middle of it for no reason.
Come on, you fill in an oasis (in the desert) and wonder why you get grass? There was a reason for the oasis, e.g. groundwater, and it still persist, hence the grass. I find it quite fitting.

Peter34
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1100
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 12:44 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Landfill (2.1.6)

Post by Peter34 »

Hey, what's the license for this mod? I'd like to make a variant of it...

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 13204
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Landfill (2.1.6)

Post by Rseding91 »

Peter34 wrote:Hey, what's the license for this mod? I'd like to make a variant of it...
If you want to change it for your own use/your friends - do what you want.

If you want to change it and make a new forum post with the modified version: link back to this post stating where it came from and that you've modified it in some way.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

User avatar
Gergith
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2015 4:35 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Landfill (2.1.6)

Post by Gergith »

Hello Rseding91!

I REALLY love this mod.

I read through this whole thread, or skimmed it thoroughly at least. I also searched the topic, but sorry if I missed these already.
I had a few suggestions for features if you were wanting to add some.


1. Allowing construction bots to lay landfill?
2. Allowing the Water-Be-Gone to be used from a bit further away from your body?

3. Currently when laying blueprints on trees in 0.12 you can hold shift and it will actually cut down the trees and make the blueprint. If you implement construction bots being able to lay landfill, perhaps you could add it so shift+blueprints will landfill any area that an object is trying to be built on but can't due to water. Specifically not using the bigger landfill so it's closer to a 1x1 ratio of blueprint to landfill.

I do realize 3 would be probably harder than 1 and 2. Thanks for your time and thanks again for his great mod!

Regardless, thanks for the awesome mod!
Currently using: Latest Steam build
Plugins: Bob's Mods|DyTech|Yuoki Industries|5Dim's Mod|Mineable Rock|AutoTrash|Advanced Logistics System|Landfill|Long Reach|Upgrade Planner
For Testing: Test Mode

Plus my own: Coordinates mod

Craydy
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2015 12:54 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Landfill (2.1.7)

Post by Craydy »

Hello there, to begin with.
If I try to load an old world, or create a new one I get the Error:
"__Landfill__/control.lua:13: attempt to index global 'script' (a nil value)"
I have a few mods (mainly bob's) in my folder, but disabling them did not change the Error.
Is there something we can do?

Edit: I am using Factorio 0.12.8 atm

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 13204
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Landfill (2.1.7)

Post by Rseding91 »

Craydy wrote:Hello there, to begin with.
If I try to load an old world, or create a new one I get the Error:
"__Landfill__/control.lua:13: attempt to index global 'script' (a nil value)"
I have a few mods (mainly bob's) in my folder, but disabling them did not change the Error.
Is there something we can do?

Edit: I am using Factorio 0.12.8 atm
You need to update to 0.12.11 or later.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

Craydy
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2015 12:54 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Landfill (2.1.7)

Post by Craydy »

Rseding91 wrote:You need to update to 0.12.11 or later.

Thanks alot, fixed it. Did not knew you had to check the experimental box.

Von_Hertz
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2015 2:07 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Landfill (2.1.7)

Post by Von_Hertz »

HELP!

If I try to load a world I get the Error:
"__Landfill__/control.lua:13: attempt to index global 'script' (a nil value)"

what is the problem?
I am using Factorio 0.12.12 atm

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 13204
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Landfill (2.1.7)

Post by Rseding91 »

Von_Hertz wrote:HELP!

If I try to load a world I get the Error:
"__Landfill__/control.lua:13: attempt to index global 'script' (a nil value)"

what is the problem?
I am using Factorio 0.12.12 atm
If you're getting that error then you're not on 0.12.12. Try re-downloading the game from the main website (experimental section) and see if you get the same error.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

Drudok
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 10:39 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Landfill (2.1.7)

Post by Drudok »

Is there anywhere I could download a 12.10 compatible version? Neither version in the main post works in 12.10.

Edit: I found version 2.1.6 that works fine. Unsure if you would want me sharing a link to a re-hosted version of your stuff so I won't.

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 13204
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Landfill (2.1.7)

Post by Rseding91 »

Drudok wrote:Is there anywhere I could download a 12.10 compatible version? Neither version in the main post works in 12.10.

Edit: I found version 2.1.6 that works fine. Unsure if you would want me sharing a link to a re-hosted version of your stuff so I won't.
Just update the game to 0.12.11 or 0.12.12.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

Post Reply

Return to “Mods”