[MOD 0.12.x] The 8L Train Project v1.2.3 (Updated '16-05-01)

Topics and discussion about specific mods
User avatar
Jackalope_Gaming
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 230
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2015 10:11 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] The 8L Train Project v1.2.0 (Updated '16-03-26)

Post by Jackalope_Gaming »

I was wondering about that interaction at viewtopic.php?f=25&t=20670. I'm glad to see there is more information known now. Meppi, I will add your changes. Thanks!

Alas, this still doesn't fix the issue of inserters not being able to input on the last tile of a wagon if there's no locomotive or wagon behind it. I'll put in a formal bug report on that.

Meppi
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2016 2:57 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] The 8L Train Project v1.2.1 (Updated '16-04-08)

Post by Meppi »

You're right, i haven't noticed the problem with the inserters before.
Increasing joint_distance on the locomotive by 0.1 fixes this.
It moves all the wagons back by a constant offset, while the wagons still stay length 8.
I ajusted pictures.shift on the wagons to compensate for it.

entities.lua:

Code: Select all

supported_wagons = {
    -- base game
    "cargo-wagon",

    -- Rail Tanker
    "rail-tanker",

    -- Bob's mods
    "cargo-wagon-2",
    "cargo-wagon-3",
    "armoured-cargo-wagon",
}

supported_locos = {
    -- base game
    "diesel-locomotive",

    -- FARL
    "farl",

    -- Bob's mods
    "diesel-locomotive-2",
    "diesel-locomotive-3",
    "armoured-diesel-locomotive",

    -- More Locomotives
    "cargo-locomotive",
    "hs-locomotive",

    -- Color-coding colored locos
    "diesel-locomotive-red",
    "diesel-locomotive-orange",
    "diesel-locomotive-yellow",
    "diesel-locomotive-green",
    "diesel-locomotive-cyan",
    "diesel-locomotive-blue",
    "diesel-locomotive-purple",
    "diesel-locomotive-magenta",
    "diesel-locomotive-white",
    "diesel-locomotive-black",
}


-- reconfigure all supported cargo wagons for 8L size
for i,name in ipairs(supported_wagons) do
    if  data.raw["cargo-wagon"][name] then
        data.raw["cargo-wagon"][name].collision_box = {{-0.6, -2.7}, {0.6, 2.7}}
        data.raw["cargo-wagon"][name].selection_box = {{-1, -4.5}, {1, 3}}
        data.raw["cargo-wagon"][name].connection_distance = 3
        data.raw["cargo-wagon"][name].joint_distance = 5
        data.raw["cargo-wagon"][name].pictures.scale = 1.09
        data.raw["cargo-wagon"][name].pictures.shift = {0.76, -0.55}
        if name == "rail-tanker" then
            -- picture scale and shift need to be overridden with these values for rail tanker
            data.raw["cargo-wagon"][name].pictures.scale = 1.08
            data.raw["cargo-wagon"][name].pictures.shift = {2.05, -0.60}
        end
    end
end

-- reconfigure all supported locos for 8L size
for i,name in ipairs(supported_locos) do
    if  data.raw["locomotive"][name] then
        data.raw["locomotive"][name].collision_box = {{-0.6, -2.8}, {0.6, 2.8}}
        data.raw["locomotive"][name].selection_box = {{-1, -4.5}, {1, 3}}
        data.raw["locomotive"][name].connection_distance = 3
        data.raw["locomotive"][name].joint_distance = 5.1
        data.raw["locomotive"][name].pictures.shift = {1.0, -0.5}
    end
end

User avatar
Jackalope_Gaming
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 230
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2015 10:11 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] The 8L Train Project v1.2.1 (Updated '16-04-08)

Post by Jackalope_Gaming »

The problem with adding that extra joint distance is it then makes locomotives 8.1 tiles long. This means trains with several locomotives at the start might need to have different station setups. Granted, I don't expect anyone to seriously use 4 or more locomotives in front, but I won't be changing the exact 8.0 length.

Of note is the inserter problem also happens in the base game if the cargo wagon ends on a whole tile. The shortest setup that causes this is 3 locomotives and 1 cargo wagon, and then 2 locomotives and 4 cargo wagons. More likely to happen is the 2-4 scenario.

It is a bug in the base game and should be addressed as such.

Meppi
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2016 2:57 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] The 8L Train Project v1.2.1 (Updated '16-04-08)

Post by Meppi »

Sorry, I didn't think this through. It should be connection_distance = 2.9 and joint_distance = 5.1 on the locomotive to keep it 8 tiles long and only move the wagons back by 0.1 tiles.
Anyway, this is just a workaround and the defs should take a look at that bug, since it might even carry over to their implementation in 1.13.

Arumba
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2015 6:46 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] The 8L Train Project v1.2.1 (Updated '16-04-08)

Post by Arumba »

Hi! I am having some issues getting the newest version of the mod to work. The last version I had that worked was Train-position-and-length-fix_0.2.0

I deleted this mod, downloaded v1.2.1 and put it in the mod folder like normal, but now the trains are all normal length. When I hover over any cargo wagons in the game it doesn't show that they are being affected by any mods, it just looks like a vanilla unmodded wagon. Going back to the previous version updates my trains to the *nearly* correct length, albeit without being able to use the last inserter on the last wagon for loading a train (oddly though you can still *unload* the last train with the last inserter).

Why is it that the newer version of the mod isn't doing anything?

Seeing that last inserter not work is driving me insane.

Please help.

Choumiko
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1352
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] The 8L Train Project v1.2.1 (Updated '16-04-08)

Post by Choumiko »

Arumba wrote:Hi! I am having some issues getting the newest version of the mod to work. The last version I had that worked was Train-position-and-length-fix_0.2.0
That's strange.. the changes don't look like it should break anything at all.
Is the mod enabled if you look at mods in Factorio? If you have any of the supported mods ("? FARL >= 0.4.0", "? RailTanker >= 1.1.3", "? boblogistics >= 0.12.0", "? more-locomotives >= 0.3.0", "? color-coding >= 1.0.3"]) their version must also match, else Factorio will disable it without telling you. Did you change anything else?

Meppi
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2016 2:57 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] The 8L Train Project v1.2.1 (Updated '16-04-08)

Post by Meppi »

Hi Arumba,
the mod is working for me and it shows up in the tooltip as base->8L-Train-Project.
I'm using it together with FARL 0.5.20 and RailTanker 1.1.3.

However, activating the mod does not update the existing trains correctly. It can even cause the collision boxes to clip into each other, getting them stuck.
You'd have to pick up the existing trains and put them back down. Crafting new ones is not necessary though.

I managed to make the last inserters work by moving the cargo wagons back a bit, as I mentioned in my last posts.
That change is not in v1.2.1.
Here is my ajusted v1.2.1 entitities.lua:

Code: Select all

supported_wagons = {
    -- base game
    "cargo-wagon",

    -- Rail Tanker
    "rail-tanker",

    -- Bob's mods
    "cargo-wagon-2",
    "cargo-wagon-3",
    "armoured-cargo-wagon",
}

supported_locos = {
    -- base game
    "diesel-locomotive",

    -- FARL
    "farl",

    -- Bob's mods
    "diesel-locomotive-2",
    "diesel-locomotive-3",
    "armoured-diesel-locomotive",

    -- More Locomotives
    "cargo-locomotive",
    "hs-locomotive",

    -- Color-coding colored locos
    "diesel-locomotive-red",
    "diesel-locomotive-orange",
    "diesel-locomotive-yellow",
    "diesel-locomotive-green",
    "diesel-locomotive-cyan",
    "diesel-locomotive-blue",
    "diesel-locomotive-purple",
    "diesel-locomotive-magenta",
    "diesel-locomotive-white",
    "diesel-locomotive-black",
}


-- reconfigure all supported cargo wagons for 8L size
for i,name in ipairs(supported_wagons) do
    if  data.raw["cargo-wagon"][name] then
        data.raw["cargo-wagon"][name].collision_box = {{-0.6, -2.7}, {0.6, 2.7}}
        data.raw["cargo-wagon"][name].selection_box = {{-1, -4.5}, {1, 3}}
        data.raw["cargo-wagon"][name].connection_distance = 3
        data.raw["cargo-wagon"][name].joint_distance = 5
        data.raw["cargo-wagon"][name].pictures.scale = 1.09
        data.raw["cargo-wagon"][name].pictures.shift = {0.76, -0.55}
        if name == "rail-tanker" then
            -- picture scale and shift need to be overridden with these values for rail tanker
            data.raw["cargo-wagon"][name].pictures.scale = 1.08
            data.raw["cargo-wagon"][name].pictures.shift = {2.05, -0.60}
        end
    end
end

-- reconfigure all supported locos for 8L size
for i,name in ipairs(supported_locos) do
    if  data.raw["locomotive"][name] then
        data.raw["locomotive"][name].collision_box = {{-0.6, -2.8}, {0.6, 2.8}}
        data.raw["locomotive"][name].selection_box = {{-1, -4.5}, {1, 3}}
        data.raw["locomotive"][name].connection_distance = 2.9
        data.raw["locomotive"][name].joint_distance = 5.1
        data.raw["locomotive"][name].pictures.shift = {1.0, -0.5}
    end
end

Arumba
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2015 6:46 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] The 8L Train Project v1.2.1 (Updated '16-04-08)

Post by Arumba »

Choumiko wrote:
Arumba wrote:Hi! I am having some issues getting the newest version of the mod to work. The last version I had that worked was Train-position-and-length-fix_0.2.0
That's strange.. the changes don't look like it should break anything at all.
Is the mod enabled if you look at mods in Factorio? If you have any of the supported mods ("? FARL >= 0.4.0", "? RailTanker >= 1.1.3", "? boblogistics >= 0.12.0", "? more-locomotives >= 0.3.0", "? color-coding >= 1.0.3"]) their version must also match, else Factorio will disable it without telling you. Did you change anything else?

Ahh! Got it thank you, I had RailTanker 1.1.2 installed. Now I have to replace all of my damn trains though. Thank you!

User avatar
Jackalope_Gaming
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 230
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2015 10:11 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] The 8L Train Project v1.2.1 (Updated '16-04-09)

Post by Jackalope_Gaming »

Yeah, the train replacement is a pain but I'm not sure how to get it to fix itself. By the way, Arumba, when did you first start using this mod?

Meppi, thank you for testing these numbers and fixing the inserter issue!

I've redone v1.2.1 so now it has included the fix for the inserter problem. Also added a notice at the top of the OP to let people know what they need to do to get the mod working with existing maps.

Arumba
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2015 6:46 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] The 8L Train Project v1.2.1 (Updated '16-04-09)

Post by Arumba »

Jackielope wrote:Yeah, the train replacement is a pain but I'm not sure how to get it to fix itself. By the way, Arumba, when did you first start using this mod?

Meppi, thank you for testing these numbers and fixing the inserter issue!

I've redone v1.2.1 so now it has included the fix for the inserter problem. Also added a notice at the top of the OP to let people know what they need to do to get the mod working with existing maps.
I forced Steejo to start using it with me in SAR about a month ago, and I've been using it in my latest "Steam Release" campaign on YouTube. I can't play without it now. Stupid trains need to be consistent!

Of course all of this might not be necessary if they would just give us the "Loader" already. I can't believe how slow 0.13 is to be released compared to their normal speed.

User avatar
Jackalope_Gaming
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 230
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2015 10:11 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] The 8L Train Project v1.2.1 (Updated '16-04-09)

Post by Jackalope_Gaming »

The good news is Wube is on track (pun intended) to get trains have full tile lengths both when horizontal and vertical.

As for the loader, they're planning on a "heavy inserter" instead that lets the inserter benefit from the stack size bonus when placing on belts. I'm curious how it'll go.

User avatar
Roktaal
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 6:42 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] The 8L Train Project v1.2.1 (Updated '16-04-09)

Post by Roktaal »

It still doesn't fix the train length for vertical placement:

Image

The station is the same, just rotated by 90 deg.
Same trains, 3 wagons long.
Obvious difference in train placement

Speadge
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 130
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 10:01 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] The 8L Train Project v1.2.1 (Updated '16-04-09)

Post by Speadge »

Roktaal wrote:It still doesn't fix the train length for vertical placement:

The station is the same, just rotated by 90 deg.
Same trains, 3 wagons long.
Obvious difference in train placement

I couldnt find any hint that this should be fixed with this mod

Speadge
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 130
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 10:01 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] The 8L Train Project v1.2.1 (Updated '16-04-09)

Post by Speadge »

hi,

since the update i had the same length problems that had been reported before.

But even after rebuilding a train i see some glitches when the train changes direction.
The cargo seems to jump some centimeter then and almost SIT in the loc.

Using the Factorio extended trains - might that cause the issue or is it intended?


Thanks

User avatar
Roktaal
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 6:42 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] The 8L Train Project v1.2.1 (Updated '16-04-09)

Post by Roktaal »

Speadge wrote:
Roktaal wrote:It still doesn't fix the train length for vertical placement:

The station is the same, just rotated by 90 deg.
Same trains, 3 wagons long.
Obvious difference in train placement

I couldnt find any hint that this should be fixed with this mod
You are right. I haven't read the long description carefully.
My report can be disregarded

User avatar
Jackalope_Gaming
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 230
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2015 10:11 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] The 8L Train Project v1.2.1 (Updated '16-04-09)

Post by Jackalope_Gaming »

Speadge wrote:hi,

since the update i had the same length problems that had been reported before.

But even after rebuilding a train i see some glitches when the train changes direction.
The cargo seems to jump some centimeter then and almost SIT in the loc.

Using the Factorio extended trains - might that cause the issue or is it intended?


Thanks
Could you please provide a screenshot or two so I can see what you're talking about?

If Extended Trains is a factor then disabling it would fix the issue. I don't expect it is the problem though since that mod doesn't change the physical size of the trains.

@Roktaal: The long description spoiler specifically addresses that with this line: "It (this mod) does not change the fact that trains effectively get shorter when oriented vertically compared to horizontally."

User avatar
Roktaal
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 6:42 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] The 8L Train Project v1.2.1 (Updated '16-04-09)

Post by Roktaal »

Jackielope wrote:@Roktaal: The long description spoiler specifically addresses that with this line: "It (this mod) does not change the fact that trains effectively get shorter when oriented vertically compared to horizontally."
Yes. After re-reading the long description with more caution I got it. Appologies

Speadge
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 130
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 10:01 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] The 8L Train Project v1.2.1 (Updated '16-04-09)

Post by Speadge »

Jackielope wrote:
Speadge wrote:hi,

since the update i had the same length problems that had been reported before.

But even after rebuilding a train i see some glitches when the train changes direction.
The cargo seems to jump some centimeter then and almost SIT in the loc.

Using the Factorio extended trains - might that cause the issue or is it intended?


Thanks
Could you please provide a screenshot or two so I can see what you're talking about?

If Extended Trains is a factor then disabling it would fix the issue. I don't expect it is the problem though since that mod doesn't change the physical size of the trains.

@Roktaal: The long description spoiler specifically addresses that with this line: "It (this mod) does not change the fact that trains effectively get shorter when oriented vertically compared to horizontally."
sorry, was speaking about the partpack "factorio Extended" and its trains.

It has some locomotives that might not be adjusted by your mod.


I will try to provide a screen this evening

User avatar
Jackalope_Gaming
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 230
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2015 10:11 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] The 8L Train Project v1.2.1 (Updated '16-04-09)

Post by Jackalope_Gaming »

Don't worry about the screenshot, at least not yet. I'm adding support for Factorio Extended right now.

I'm also contemplating whether there might be a command that forces reloading of all train entities but nothing else and whether that might be much simpler than requiring the player to replace all the train entities manually.

Edit: I've fully added support for Factorio Extended's trains. Still poking around for some way to force the connection_distance to be reset for trains.

Speadge
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 130
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 10:01 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] The 8L Train Project v1.2.1 (Updated '16-04-09)

Post by Speadge »

Jackielope wrote:Don't worry about the screenshot, at least not yet. I'm adding support for Factorio Extended right now.

I'm also contemplating whether there might be a command that forces reloading of all train entities but nothing else and whether that might be much simpler than requiring the player to replace all the train entities manually.

Edit: I've fully added support for Factorio Extended's trains. Still poking around for some way to force the connection_distance to be reset for trains.
Hi,

you were right: since 1.2.2 i dont have the Problem i described in my last post anymore.

strangely i havent had it in 1.2.0 either, though i experienced different lenth of the locos, but everything worked fine.
Must have been sth u changed in 1.2.1.

Anyhow - everything is fine now - thank you!

Post Reply

Return to “Mods”