General Discussion

New energy types, decorations, electric train, new types of belts and inserters, bigger inventory and many more stuff.

Moderators: McGuten, odin_spain

Murlocking
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2016 11:41 pm
Contact:

Re: General Discussion

Post by Murlocking »

Berkys32 wrote:
McGuten wrote:
EmperorZelos wrote:Thank you that worked!
I need make better system for ores... ^^
I agree... I was just able to make them work just to get they are almost useless...
What do you mean useless?
They are used in most of the recipes after the first tier....

I don't see how they could be more useful or less useless...

THEY DO WHAT THEY DO!

@McGuten What are the combinators and how do you use them

McGuten
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 310
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2014 3:06 pm
Contact:

Re: General Discussion

Post by McGuten »

Murlocking wrote:
Berkys32 wrote:
McGuten wrote:
EmperorZelos wrote:Thank you that worked!
I need make better system for ores... ^^
I agree... I was just able to make them work just to get they are almost useless...
What do you mean useless?
They are used in most of the recipes after the first tier....

I don't see how they could be more useful or less useless...

THEY DO WHAT THEY DO!

@McGuten What are the combinators and how do you use them

I dont know, i never use combinators, We dont add combinators ^^
Image

Berkys32
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 112
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2016 9:17 am
Contact:

Re: General Discussion

Post by Berkys32 »

Murlocking wrote:
Berkys32 wrote:
McGuten wrote:
EmperorZelos wrote:Thank you that worked!
I need make better system for ores... ^^
I agree... I was just able to make them work just to get they are almost useless...
What do you mean useless?
They are used in most of the recipes after the first tier....

I don't see how they could be more useful or less useless...

THEY DO WHAT THEY DO!
Most of vanilla recipes are untouched. Or all of them?

McGuten
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 310
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2014 3:06 pm
Contact:

Re: General Discussion

Post by McGuten »

Berkys32 wrote:
Murlocking wrote:
Berkys32 wrote:
McGuten wrote:
EmperorZelos wrote:Thank you that worked!
I need make better system for ores... ^^
I agree... I was just able to make them work just to get they are almost useless...
What do you mean useless?
They are used in most of the recipes after the first tier....

I don't see how they could be more useful or less useless...

THEY DO WHAT THEY DO!
Most of vanilla recipes are untouched. Or all of them?

Only 5dim stuff are ported to new ores, maybe in next releases i do more recipes with new ores
Image

Berkys32
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 112
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2016 9:17 am
Contact:

Re: General Discussion

Post by Berkys32 »

This way Im able to finish game almost without mining new ores. They are needed only for some machines, so no need for steady supply.
Imho would be great, if you add more and more new ores to components that are needed for research (like 1 new ore for green, 2 for blue and so).
Or maybe you can do this like different version of mod - "Hardcore" or so...

October
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2016 1:34 pm
Contact:

Re: General Discussion

Post by October »

McGuten wrote:Im working on new version of transport module and... now you can walk through pipes!!

Image
May I see this option in code, please?

Siegercz
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 8:52 am
Contact:

Re: General Discussion

Post by Siegercz »

Hey guys. Good job with that new version. Is anywhere changelog for 3.0 ? :)

McGuten
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 310
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2014 3:06 pm
Contact:

Re: General Discussion

Post by McGuten »

Siegercz wrote:Hey guys. Good job with that new version. Is anywhere changelog for 3.0 ? :)
In download page you have it
Open tabs for each module ^^
Image

Murlocking
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2016 11:41 pm
Contact:

Re: General Discussion

Post by Murlocking »

Anyone updated their old worlds with the Bob's Ores to this new version?

Have you encountered any issues?

There's a lot of changes in these updates but I am not starting over :D

Already using the new pack (updated modules) in a new world, good job !

Murlocking
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2016 11:41 pm
Contact:

Re: General Discussion

Post by Murlocking »

Seems to work great after updating old worlds!

Don't forget to remove the Bob's Ores folder or Rar.

Murlocking
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2016 11:41 pm
Contact:

Re: General Discussion

Post by Murlocking »

On an other note, I noticed that the Inserters in the Player Crafting Menu, they are all messed up.
What I mean by that is that they are not in order anymore.

A good example is the regular (Not modded) inserters, instead of starting with Inserters, Fast Inserters and then Long Inserters, it's Long Inserters/Fast Inserters/Inserters.
Very annoying, trust me on that one!

Same for the side inserters, but even more chaotic in the ordering.

2 others small "bugs", the Repair Kit MK2 as it's itemname instead of the In-game name and same for the Colored Concrete description (NOT 100% SURE, forgot to take a screenshot of it).

Also, speaking of Colored Concrete... I think you should just call them Blue Concrete, Yellow... etc.. Blue Floor sounds a bit weird when it's actually still Concrete, just different colors :D

McGuten
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 310
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2014 3:06 pm
Contact:

Re: General Discussion

Post by McGuten »

Thanks you for report bugs, i will fix it in next releases ^^
Image

Mokmo
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2016 6:44 pm
Contact:

Re: General Discussion

Post by Mokmo »

So i installed 3.0.0, not the whole thing just core, automatization, logistic and trains.

On my save that had all these except automatization, what i notice a lot
-You made a lot of categories that take a lot of place and move a lot of items around for no obvious reason
-did you change the dynamics of electric rails, because i can't get further than a pole's reach before losing all power (problem from 2.2 also)
-Categories spam, getting lost was very easy. Hey, i need the electric smelter, it's not in production anymore, so is a lot of things the parts i installed don't even touch. All guns/armor/ammo went out of their specific category, again. I don't think it's well executed.

Any way to get automatization 2.2.0 somewhere ? I like it but not 3.0.0,,,

Berkys32
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 112
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2016 9:17 am
Contact:

Re: General Discussion

Post by Berkys32 »

Nice update!
After i loaded saved game from older version, all my tin plates dissapeard with some message, but thats not serious.
Great job with new categories (except inserters), it will just take some time before you find optimal settings.
I see i still need Bobs Library...
And what about adding new ores to vanilla items?

Murlocking
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2016 11:41 pm
Contact:

Re: General Discussion

Post by Murlocking »

Berkys32 wrote:Nice update!
After i loaded saved game from older version, all my tin plates dissapeard with some message, but thats not serious.
Great job with new categories (except inserters), it will just take some time before you find optimal settings.
I see i still need Bobs Library...
And what about adding new ores to vanilla items?
They don't disappear, they are transform into an new ID.
At least for me that's what happened.

Berkys32
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 112
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2016 9:17 am
Contact:

Re: General Discussion

Post by Berkys32 »

Murlocking wrote:
Berkys32 wrote:Nice update!
After i loaded saved game from older version, all my tin plates dissapeard with some message, but thats not serious.
Great job with new categories (except inserters), it will just take some time before you find optimal settings.
I see i still need Bobs Library...
And what about adding new ores to vanilla items?
They don't disappear, they are transform into an new ID.
At least for me that's what happened.
For me all my Tin plates disappeared, even from smart inserters, and no new appeard...

Murlocking
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2016 11:41 pm
Contact:

Re: General Discussion

Post by Murlocking »

I wasn't really pleased with some of the textures, especially the Medium Poles and the Big Chest so I decided rework the Medium Poles ones and change the Big Chest :P
Enjoy!

Image

http://imgur.com/XUw1OoP

Siegercz
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 8:52 am
Contact:

Re: General Discussion

Post by Siegercz »

Murlocking wrote:I wasn't really pleased with some of the textures, especially the Medium Poles and the Big Chest so I decided rework the Medium Poles ones and change the Big Chest :P
Enjoy!

Image

http://imgur.com/XUw1OoP
Yeah, that white shadow from medium pole is quite annoying TBH.

Murlocking
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2016 11:41 pm
Contact:

Re: General Discussion

Post by Murlocking »

Siegercz wrote:
Murlocking wrote:I wasn't really pleased with some of the textures, especially the Medium Poles and the Big Chest so I decided rework the Medium Poles ones and change the Big Chest :P
Enjoy!

Image

http://imgur.com/XUw1OoP
Yeah, that white shadow from medium pole is quite annoying TBH.
Annoying and really ugly because it's unfinished.
I polished the side of the poles, removed some "white" where transparency should have been and made a simple shadow with a spray tool in Photoshop.
The bottom of the poles with the big metal plate still look weird on grass but does a good job on concrete.

I didn't really understand the texture with the Big Chest, it looked like a top made lockers and a garage interior.
The one i'm using is not the best resolution but it's pretty funny in-game with the giant chests :D

gangsta-playa
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2016 4:59 pm
Contact:

Re: General Discussion

Post by gangsta-playa »

It may be asked already but how do I connect my e-rails to my electric network? I don't see a blue background like on the pictures. Or is this a bug with 3.0.0?

Post Reply

Return to “5dim's mod”