Assign Trains to Schedules (Train Routes)

This are only lists of links to other suggestions!
Search, if your idea has been already suggested.
varundevan
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 143
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2020 4:41 am
Contact:

Re: Assign Trains to Schedules (Train Routes)

Post by varundevan »

foamy wrote:
Sat Jun 20, 2020 5:10 am
The fact that this same suggestion has come up for literally years would indicate to me, at any rate, that it's a good idea.


Also, I think it's a good idea. It'd not be any more hassle in the worst case -- one train on each route -- and in any situation where you have more than one train on a route, it's a useability improvement.
usability... game needs many of such improvements IMO...

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 11421
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Assign Trains to Schedules (Train Routes)

Post by ssilk »

Technically this is a perfect showcase for a mod. Nothing complicated to calculate, just going through all trains, read their schedule and make a list like in CrashDrive’s post viewtopic.php?p=493820#p493820

Image

In this manner:
- same schedule means same route. (We need a hash function to calculate if two schedules are similar)
- we need some kind of virtual train (invisible trains), that can be used to create and store unassigned routes/schedules. New route places down invisible locomotive and opens schedule editor.
- assignment of routes just copies the schedule from train A to train B.

The rest is just hard work. :)
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

sparr
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1234
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2014 5:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Assign Trains to Schedules (Train Routes)

Post by sparr »

Although it also optionally does more than the requested feature here, https://mods.factorio.com/mod/SmartTrains implements this feature. If you ignore all the stuff about dynamic schedules and signals and rules, just use the Trainlines feature, it's pretty much exactly what folks here want.

Koub
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 6029
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:54 am
Contact:

Re: Assign Trains to Schedules (Train Routes)

Post by Koub »

sparr wrote:
Sun Aug 23, 2020 4:53 am
Although it also optionally does more than the requested feature here, https://mods.factorio.com/mod/SmartTrains implements this feature. If you ignore all the stuff about dynamic schedules and signals and rules, just use the Trainlines feature, it's pretty much exactly what folks here want.
Indeed, thanks for the link. I think I'll be using this mod as soon as I have no more achievements to do. However, I still am convinced vanilla needs this to make the game better natively.
Koub - Please consider English is not my native language.

Balthazar
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2013 10:58 am
Contact:

Re: Assign Trains to Schedules (Train Routes)

Post by Balthazar »

Just wanted to add that assigning trains to routes and not the other way solves a few other problems:
  • if the train is attacked and destroyed the route is currently lost.
  • If you want to change a route you need to hunt down all the trains (Not usually too hard since they're listed in the same stations so unless lots of trains in one station that's not too bad).
  • The amount of work added by having to create the route is miniscule and applies only to the fringe case where a route only has one train, overall you save on it
Been playing satisfactory and its incredibly frustrating doing vehicle routes there because they dont have this; it's not AS big a deal here because factorio is so much more polished, but it really is just a universally better way of doing it; it's really obvious why in games that aren't factorio and dont have as good tools for dealing with it. It might not really be necessary right now, but i think there's a good case that it could enable more options in the future, like combat trains or circuit checks for how many trains are on a route. Cleaner definitions like these just open more opportunities.

User avatar
AmericanPatriot
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 246
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2020 12:47 am
Contact:

Re: Assign Trains to Schedules (Train Routes)

Post by AmericanPatriot »

Balthazar wrote:
Sat Oct 03, 2020 2:07 pm
I don't think this will be added so late in the game. We'll just have to hope for factorio 2 in a decade or so.
:D

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 11421
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Assign Trains to Schedules (Train Routes)

Post by ssilk »

Yes, especially this one is one of the must haves in vanilla, because it has such a high gameplay value. And it has really not much side effects, it looks like a relatively straight forward implementation (no matter if implemented with defining routes from schedules (see former thread page) or from trains as above).

@boskid: are there any plans to implement this?

But as always I think it is a good idea to have a mod first to see/fix implementation details that we are currently not thinking about. And not need to wait so long for that. :)

And I move this one now to frequently requested.
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

Post Reply

Return to “Frequently Suggested / Link Collections”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users