Let's see your clever builds

Post pictures and videos of your factories.
If possible, please post also the blueprints/maps of your creations!
For art/design etc. you can go to Fan Art.

Post Reply
User avatar
SusiQ
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2015 12:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Let's see your clever builds

Post by SusiQ » Mon Jan 19, 2015 12:56 pm

Hi! I'm new here and love factorio. Here is one of my recent cool finds:
You can run pipe and boilers in the same line! Not sure its actually useful, but its cool :D
Attachments
power31 (2).png
power31 (2).png (593.04 KiB) Viewed 29217 times

User avatar
hitzu
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 528
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2014 5:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Let's see your clever builds

Post by hitzu » Mon Jan 19, 2015 1:12 pm

So wasteful! Underground pipes are very expencive for such small gaps. But you can turn inserters on 90 degree so they will transfer coal across the lines of boilers, not along them.

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 10480
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Let's see your clever builds

Post by ssilk » Mon Jan 19, 2015 8:32 pm

I need to try that. This is a col way of feeding coal, when this works - as hitzu said - works sideways.
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

Neotix
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 597
Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2013 9:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Let's see your clever builds

Post by Neotix » Mon Jan 19, 2015 10:15 pm

Yup, it's working just fine (good idea guys). Only boilers stack can't be too hight because to feed boilers on top, inserters take fuel from boilers below.

Screen from Test Ground
Image

User avatar
SusiQ
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2015 12:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Let's see your clever builds

Post by SusiQ » Tue Jan 20, 2015 7:51 pm

Yes it definitely also works just hopping from boiler to boiler with pipes in between :) Just thought it was extra cool that you could have them running in the same line with a long armed inserter. And sometimes cool, fun or pretty trumps wasteful :D As long as it still works of course. Pretty's worth nothing if it doesnt work anymore. :D

User avatar
sgt_cookie
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 11:13 am
Contact:

Re: Let's see your clever builds

Post by sgt_cookie » Mon Jan 26, 2015 6:51 pm

Image

This has probably been done before, but I was quite proud of this little manufactury. It started with a simple idea "I want my pipe and underground pipe to be close together, but not in the same chest" and I managed to get them side by side. It wasn't difficult to figure out, so I'm probably not the first to do it this way. Just thought I'd share.

EDIT: After a little tinkering, I've been able to get this all to fit into a single Medium Pole with the chests still close together.

First, simply move the middle inserter one tile across, extending the Iron input by one as well

Second, grab the left inserter and put it in the (currently) empty spot. Turn it to the right, put it down there and you're good go. Don't get rid of the chest above it.

Third, move the top inserter down one, place the chest right next to it and voilà. It's all snugly inside the Medium Pole.

User avatar
MadZuri
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 178
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 8:15 am
Contact:

Re: Let's see your clever builds

Post by MadZuri » Mon Feb 09, 2015 8:03 pm

I'd like to introduce a tileable blue science build using only burner inserters. This is for you, Gepwin :)
Image
Last edited by MadZuri on Mon Feb 09, 2015 8:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

mike_smit
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2015 10:59 am
Contact:

Re: Let's see your clever builds

Post by mike_smit » Mon Feb 09, 2015 8:13 pm

MadZuri wrote:I'd like to introduce a tileable blue science build using only burner inserters. This is for you, Gepwin :)
Image
but why burner inserters? aren't they only useful for gun turrets and boilers?

User avatar
MadZuri
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 178
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 8:15 am
Contact:

Re: Let's see your clever builds

Post by MadZuri » Mon Feb 09, 2015 8:16 pm

mike_smit wrote: but why burner inserters? aren't they only useful for gun turrets and boilers?
Because http://youtu.be/SSxedDNEQf0

User avatar
MadZuri
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 178
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 8:15 am
Contact:

Re: Let's see your clever builds

Post by MadZuri » Mon Feb 09, 2015 10:29 pm

Also of note, if you don't want to use underground belts, you can use boilers to filter out fuel from a mixed line. No power needed.
Image

User avatar
gepwin
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2014 6:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Let's see your clever builds

Post by gepwin » Mon Feb 09, 2015 10:59 pm

MadZuri wrote:Also of note, if you don't want to use underground belts, you can use boilers to filter out fuel from a mixed line. No power needed.
That is an amazing idea. Thank you, I have been racking my brain trying to think of how to do this with no smart inserters.

Sparrer
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 1:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Let's see your clever builds

Post by Sparrer » Tue Feb 10, 2015 1:34 pm

Hi everyone! Here i built factory for the production of productivity modules lev.2
http://imgur.com/1StBXgO

n9103
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1067
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2013 12:09 am
Contact:

Re: Let's see your clever builds

Post by n9103 » Tue Feb 10, 2015 4:16 pm

Well that's different. Not often you see production of oil products integrated into the layout with those using them.
Colonel Failure wrote:You can lose your Ecologist Badge quite quickly once you get to the point of just being able to murder them willy-nilly without a second care in the world.

User avatar
Kalabint
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 5:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Let's see your clever builds

Post by Kalabint » Tue Feb 10, 2015 11:14 pm

Hi, a small and simple Solution for Transporting Oil with Robots:

Image

Setup:
Requester chest, i usually request 10-40 barrels
Active Provider Chest
A Storage Tank as buffer (too big^^)
and a Assembly Machine

The idea behind it is to Transport the Full and Empty Barrels with the Logistic System, so no need to pull trough the whole map or making train Stations for the Oil Plants.

The bad thing about it, its only usable when a big Roboport Network is inplace...


[Data: 7k Robots, 357 Roboports installed, so its works fine for me :)]


Edit: Changed the Picture
Last edited by Kalabint on Fri Feb 13, 2015 11:45 am, edited 1 time in total.

Sparrer
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 1:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Let's see your clever builds

Post by Sparrer » Wed Feb 11, 2015 10:52 am

Hi everyone! Few more factories.
Main idea is compact and balanced design.
Also all factories consume only iron plate and copper plate (resources are moving on a transport belt)
http://imgur.com/iZ9Yq1f,D6XcaU3,yRpyr8A#0 Laser turret
http://imgur.com/iZ9Yq1f,D6XcaU3,yRpyr8A#1 Solar panel and accum.
http://imgur.com/iZ9Yq1f,D6XcaU3,yRpyr8A#2 Drones

User avatar
cpy
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 763
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:34 am
Contact:

Re: Let's see your clever builds

Post by cpy » Fri Feb 13, 2015 8:19 am

Kalabint: what program makes this GPU temp overlay?

Neotix
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 597
Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2013 9:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Let's see your clever builds

Post by Neotix » Fri Feb 13, 2015 8:27 am

HWiNFO

User avatar
cpy
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 763
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:34 am
Contact:

Re: Let's see your clever builds

Post by cpy » Fri Feb 13, 2015 8:40 am

Neotix wrote:HWiNFO
Thanks because some asshole claimed it was EVGA precision overlay, but i have EVGA precision and overlay is completely different! Thanks i'll give it a try today.

dee-
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 386
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2015 9:21 am
Contact:

Re: Let's see your clever builds

Post by dee- » Fri Feb 13, 2015 9:24 am

This overlay is from RivaTuner. It is also used by MSI Afterburner and other programs.

Image

Here's a link that shows how you can use RivaTuner's OSD with data from Afterburner and Hwinfo: link

So if you say the dude saying it's from Precision is an a-hole then...... :mrgreen: :mrgreen: as it's strictly not Precision, Hwinfo, Afterburner, etc.





Edit: oh and this is what I get when I image-search for evga porecision overlay":
Image
Looks like RivaTuner to me.
Last edited by dee- on Fri Feb 13, 2015 9:32 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Kalabint
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 5:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Let's see your clever builds

Post by Kalabint » Fri Feb 13, 2015 9:32 am

Hello, yes its MSI Afterburner.

Post Reply

Return to “Show your Creations”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users