I'll edit it but won't be doing special separate release only for this.TwentyEighty wrote: ↑Wed Mar 27, 2019 4:52 pmYes, exactly. The number of salt mines I'm able to find is more of a problem than the amount of salt in the mines, since each mine only gives 10 salt per second.orzelek wrote: ↑Tue Mar 26, 2019 11:16 pmI'm sorry but I think I need a bit more information - they are actually pretty similar in definition.
Main difference would be the size aka count of them per spawn. Is that what you mean?
Salt rock is actually much more rich but there is only one - so dropping richness by factor of lets say 4 and making them spawn in small clusters would help?
Py Raw Ores came out
Re: Py Raw Ores came out
-
- Fast Inserter
- Posts: 170
- Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2019 3:11 pm
- Contact:
Re: Py Raw Ores came out
Great thank you
-
- Long Handed Inserter
- Posts: 72
- Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2016 1:50 pm
- Contact:
Re: Py Raw Ores came out
There's a bit of a problem with PyMods starting resources. If both Py Ore and Py Petroleum Handling is used, then chromium ore should have (smaller than normal) starting patch. Could you please change the "ore-chromium" entry in pyrawores.lua to something like this:
I've tested this, and it works correctly.
Code: Select all
config["ore-chromium"] = {
type="resource-ore",
allotment=80,
spawns_per_region={min=1, max=1},
richness=25000,
size={min=20, max=30},
min_amount=250,
starting={richness=4000, size=15, probability=0}
}
if game.active_mods["pypetroleumhandling"] then
config["ore-chromium"].starting.probability=1
end
Re: Py Raw Ores came out
This would make it have completely no starting patch. Should it be just smaller or not at all?ShadowGlass wrote: ↑Thu Oct 03, 2019 6:54 pmThere's a bit of a problem with PyMods starting resources. If both Py Ore and Py Petroleum Handling is used, then chromium ore should have (smaller than normal) starting patch. Could you please change the "ore-chromium" entry in pyrawores.lua to something like this:
I've tested this, and it works correctly.Code: Select all
config["ore-chromium"] = { type="resource-ore", allotment=80, spawns_per_region={min=1, max=1}, richness=25000, size={min=20, max=30}, min_amount=250, starting={richness=4000, size=15, probability=0} } if game.active_mods["pypetroleumhandling"] then config["ore-chromium"].starting.probability=1 end
I'd need to check how those mods set up the ores but they do it in pretty complex ways.
-
- Long Handed Inserter
- Posts: 72
- Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2016 1:50 pm
- Contact:
Re: Py Raw Ores came out
Currently it has no starting patch (it is probability=0 in the current version). The main change is the if at the end that changes the probability to 1, if the other mod is also active. I did change the starting richness/size to be lower, but since the probability is already 0, that shouldn't affect the default case.orzelek wrote: ↑Thu Oct 03, 2019 9:19 pmThis would make it have completely no starting patch. Should it be just smaller or not at all?ShadowGlass wrote: ↑Thu Oct 03, 2019 6:54 pmThere's a bit of a problem with PyMods starting resources. If both Py Ore and Py Petroleum Handling is used, then chromium ore should have (smaller than normal) starting patch. Could you please change the "ore-chromium" entry in pyrawores.lua to something like this:
I've tested this, and it works correctly.Code: Select all
config["ore-chromium"] = { type="resource-ore", allotment=80, spawns_per_region={min=1, max=1}, richness=25000, size={min=20, max=30}, min_amount=250, starting={richness=4000, size=15, probability=0} } if game.active_mods["pypetroleumhandling"] then config["ore-chromium"].starting.probability=1 end
I'd need to check how those mods set up the ores but they do it in pretty complex ways.
- ChurchOrganist
- Filter Inserter
- Posts: 256
- Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 12:45 pm
- Contact:
Re: Py Raw Ores came out
I have been streaming a Pyanodon map on Twitch for the last 3 Saturdays using all the currently available Pyanodon mods, and RSO to regulate the ore distribution which seems to be broken in vanilla. In this morning's stream I ran into a problem - Green science requires rubber and the machine which makes it requires chromium to craft it.
Currently chromium is not available in the starting area - consequently, although I have found a patch of chromium on the map, it is miles away and unbeltable without landfill - which, of course, requires green science to make. I was only able to get to it to examine it via the new walkable water tiles.
Chromium, therefore, needs to be available in the starting area now.
Any chance of a fix soon??
PS The vanilla distribution of some of Pyanodon's ores is very strange - setting frequency to minimum (17%) results in huge patches of the ore forming - don't know whether this will have any bearing on RSO's ore generation algorithm.
Currently chromium is not available in the starting area - consequently, although I have found a patch of chromium on the map, it is miles away and unbeltable without landfill - which, of course, requires green science to make. I was only able to get to it to examine it via the new walkable water tiles.
Chromium, therefore, needs to be available in the starting area now.
Any chance of a fix soon??
PS The vanilla distribution of some of Pyanodon's ores is very strange - setting frequency to minimum (17%) results in huge patches of the ore forming - don't know whether this will have any bearing on RSO's ore generation algorithm.
Want to know where the biters chewing your power plant have come from??
Wondering where your next iron is going to come from??
You need Long Range Radar
Wondering where your next iron is going to come from??
You need Long Range Radar
Re: Py Raw Ores came out
Is chromium in starting area without RSO?ChurchOrganist wrote: ↑Sat Nov 23, 2019 1:41 pmI have been streaming a Pyanodon map on Twitch for the last 3 Saturdays using all the currently available Pyanodon mods, and RSO to regulate the ore distribution which seems to be broken in vanilla. In this morning's stream I ran into a problem - Green science requires rubber and the machine which makes it requires chromium to craft it.
Currently chromium is not available in the starting area - consequently, although I have found a patch of chromium on the map, it is miles away and unbeltable without landfill - which, of course, requires green science to make. I was only able to get to it to examine it via the new walkable water tiles.
Chromium, therefore, needs to be available in the starting area now.
Any chance of a fix soon??
PS The vanilla distribution of some of Pyanodon's ores is very strange - setting frequency to minimum (17%) results in huge patches of the ore forming - don't know whether this will have any bearing on RSO's ore generation algorithm.
There is a chance you are unlucky with spawns outside starting area and it's far out due to that.
I did not create the Py Ores config personally - it was provided by someone here on the forums. If it has an error and Chromium should be in starting area then it's pretty easy to fix.
It won't automatically spawn it for you in existing game even if it's changed in config. Starting area is spawned only once.
- ChurchOrganist
- Filter Inserter
- Posts: 256
- Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 12:45 pm
- Contact:
Re: Py Raw Ores came out
Just done some testing and out of 5 vanilla restarts Chromium appears in the visible area at the start of the game 4 out of 5 times although not in the bright square immediately round the player.
The amounts vary from minuscule (17k) to reasonable 144k
This was done using unchanged terrain or resource settings apart from turning off biters.
It is the recipe changes in Pyanodon Petroleum handling which are causing this problem.
May I suggest that you change line 28 of the pyrawores config file to read:
That will give a small patch with which to get you through to green science.
If you're not using Pyanodon Petroleum Handling then you don't need Chromium in the starting area, but it is probably best to include it by default, as if it is not there and inaccesible you can't get through to Green Science.
The amounts vary from minuscule (17k) to reasonable 144k
This was done using unchanged terrain or resource settings apart from turning off biters.
It is the recipe changes in Pyanodon Petroleum handling which are causing this problem.
May I suggest that you change line 28 of the pyrawores config file to read:
Code: Select all
starting={richness=8000, size=20, probability=1}
If you're not using Pyanodon Petroleum Handling then you don't need Chromium in the starting area, but it is probably best to include it by default, as if it is not there and inaccesible you can't get through to Green Science.
Want to know where the biters chewing your power plant have come from??
Wondering where your next iron is going to come from??
You need Long Range Radar
Wondering where your next iron is going to come from??
You need Long Range Radar
- ChurchOrganist
- Filter Inserter
- Posts: 256
- Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 12:45 pm
- Contact:
Re: Py Raw Ores came out
Just done a bit more digging.
This is an extract from the chromium definition file from the latest version of Pyanodon Raw Ores......
So it's obviously supposed to be a starting area resource.
HTH
This is an extract from the chromium definition file from the latest version of Pyanodon Raw Ores......
Code: Select all
starting_area = true,
collision_box = {{-0.1, -0.1}, {0.1, 0.1}},
selection_box = {{-0.5, -0.5}, {0.5, 0.5}},
autoplace = {
control = "ore-chromium",
sharpness = 15/16,
richness_multiplier = 1500,
richness_multiplier_distance_bonus = 20,
richness_base = 10,
coverage = 0.0003,
peaks = {
{
noise_layer = "ore-chromium",
noise_octaves_difference = -0.85,
noise_persistence = 0.4
}
}
},
HTH
Want to know where the biters chewing your power plant have come from??
Wondering where your next iron is going to come from??
You need Long Range Radar
Wondering where your next iron is going to come from??
You need Long Range Radar
Re: Py Raw Ores came out
This is how autoplace looks when it has starting area spawn:
I'm not sure what that variable starting_area = true that you found does.
It might be something that Py code is processing further to add the starting_area_* definitions to autoplace.
Asked the question on Py forums we'll see. If it's needed for green science then it could go both ways - Py might want people to go exploring early.
Code: Select all
{
order = order,
control = name,
sharpness = 15/16,
richness_multiplier = 1500,
richness_multiplier_distance_bonus = 20,
richness_base = 10,
coverage = coverage,
peaks =
{
{
noise_layer = name,
noise_octaves_difference = -0.85,
noise_persistence = 0.4
}
},
starting_area_size = 5500 * coverage,
starting_area_amount = 1600
}
end
It might be something that Py code is processing further to add the starting_area_* definitions to autoplace.
Asked the question on Py forums we'll see. If it's needed for green science then it could go both ways - Py might want people to go exploring early.
- ChurchOrganist
- Filter Inserter
- Posts: 256
- Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 12:45 pm
- Contact:
Re: Py Raw Ores came out
If we have to go exploring then we would need cars/rails to be available in red science
Want to know where the biters chewing your power plant have come from??
Wondering where your next iron is going to come from??
You need Long Range Radar
Wondering where your next iron is going to come from??
You need Long Range Radar
-
- Smart Inserter
- Posts: 1462
- Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2014 11:39 am
- Contact:
Re: Py Raw Ores came out
its not processed anymore or anything. it probably just doesnt do anything as the autoplace has changed several times and most of pymods are not updated to the current format for autoplace codeorzelek wrote: ↑Sun Nov 24, 2019 11:27 amThis is how autoplace looks when it has starting area spawn:I'm not sure what that variable starting_area = true that you found does.Code: Select all
{ order = order, control = name, sharpness = 15/16, richness_multiplier = 1500, richness_multiplier_distance_bonus = 20, richness_base = 10, coverage = coverage, peaks = { { noise_layer = name, noise_octaves_difference = -0.85, noise_persistence = 0.4 } }, starting_area_size = 5500 * coverage, starting_area_amount = 1600 } end
It might be something that Py code is processing further to add the starting_area_* definitions to autoplace.
Asked the question on Py forums we'll see. If it's needed for green science then it could go both ways - Py might want people to go exploring early.
- ChurchOrganist
- Filter Inserter
- Posts: 256
- Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 12:45 pm
- Contact:
Re: Py Raw Ores came out
Any progress on putting chrome in the starting area ??
Want to know where the biters chewing your power plant have come from??
Wondering where your next iron is going to come from??
You need Long Range Radar
Wondering where your next iron is going to come from??
You need Long Range Radar
Re: Py Raw Ores came out
RSO Changelogs wrote: Version: 5.0.24
Date: 2019.11.19
Changes:
- updated tiberium support to handle latest update by Oktabyte
- added small chromium patch to starting area in PyOres
- ChurchOrganist
- Filter Inserter
- Posts: 256
- Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 12:45 pm
- Contact:
Re: Py Raw Ores came out
Thanks - guess I missed the update
Want to know where the biters chewing your power plant have come from??
Wondering where your next iron is going to come from??
You need Long Range Radar
Wondering where your next iron is going to come from??
You need Long Range Radar