Page 6 of 23

Re: [0.12.x] RSO Discussion thread

Posted: Fri Aug 07, 2015 7:00 am
by orzelek
The thing is - that very small patch with lots of resources is in a way showing how rng can behave :)

From what I can see due to lots of play styles people are searching for different things - thats why config file is so full of various options already.
I'm still planning to add separate richness modifier for starting area - for some people who like to get their starting area as scarce as possible.

I think that 1.3.0 should be a bit better in the distance relation - previous ones had quite low distance influence. It's still exponential so playing around with factors in config file needs to be done carefully - you can easily get it out of hand.

Re: [0.12.x] RSO Discussion thread

Posted: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:41 pm
by cpy
I haven't disabled enemy expansion, but they are still not expanding. Any idea why?

Re: [0.12.x] RSO Discussion thread

Posted: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:53 pm
by yeganer
activate show_enemy_expansion_candidate_chunks in the debug menu (F4) if you see no circles, then the enemy has nothing to expand to whoich means, he won't expans.

Re: [0.12.x] RSO Discussion thread

Posted: Fri Aug 07, 2015 4:42 pm
by cpy
There are lot of green circles, 4 hours and nothing.

Re: [0.12.x] RSO Discussion thread

Posted: Fri Aug 07, 2015 4:48 pm
by yeganer
what is the output of

Code: Select all

/c game.player.print(serpent.block(game.map_settings.enemy_expansion.enabled))
If it's false then you should be able to set it to true with

Code: Select all

/c game.map_settings.enemy_expansion.enabled = true

Re: [0.12.x] RSO Discussion thread

Posted: Fri Aug 07, 2015 5:44 pm
by cpy
It was true. Needle in the haystack problem, i blame all other mods.

Re: [0.12.x] RSO Discussion thread

Posted: Fri Aug 07, 2015 6:46 pm
by yeganer
Are there biters running around near enemy spawners?

Re: [0.12.x] RSO Discussion thread

Posted: Fri Aug 07, 2015 7:34 pm
by cpy
They are running round and that's it.

Re: [0.12.x] RSO Discussion thread

Posted: Sat Aug 08, 2015 12:17 pm
by yeganer
you can spawn enemy bases at a specifig coordinate with

Code: Select all

\c game.player.surface.build_enemy_base({x = 0, y=0}, <number of biters>)
replace the 0's with the coordinates and then set a number of biters and it "should" work. The more biters, the bigger the base.

try setting the game.speed to something between 10 and 100 and observe the biters.

for easy observing:

Code: Select all

/c game.player.character = nil

Re: [0.12.x] RSO Discussion thread

Posted: Sat Aug 08, 2015 3:08 pm
by jorgenRe
yeganer wrote: for easy observing:

Code: Select all

/c game.player.character = nil
You ummm might wanna tell them to save before doing so XD!
But i think seeing as the character is still there im sure you can do something like:

Code: Select all

/c game.player.character = game.player.selected 
when one is done flying. Il go test that myself too ;)!
edit yea it works remember that second command ;)!
I wonder if i can turn myself into a wagon(or any entity for that matter ^_^!)
edit 2:
Nevermind i cannot become a wagon :cry:

Re: [0.12.x] RSO Discussion thread

Posted: Sat Aug 08, 2015 3:13 pm
by yeganer
Only CharacterEntity can be controlled by the player. But one could spawn several character entities and then switch between them with a mod. That's an interesting idea.

Re: [0.12.x] RSO Discussion thread

Posted: Sat Aug 08, 2015 3:30 pm
by jorgenRe
yeganer wrote:Only CharacterEntity can be controlled by the player. But one could spawn several character entities and then switch between them with a mod. That's an interesting idea.
Its called cloning, and yea it could be interesting might actually defeat the purpose of saving just before an attack ;)!

Re: [0.12.x] RSO Discussion thread

Posted: Sat Aug 08, 2015 3:32 pm
by yeganer
Depending on what a character entity can do without being controlled by a player this could be very interesting.

Imagine being able to switch between several characters. So you are in base and crafting some stuff by hand. then attack at base Iron 11. Switch to character there. repair. switch back xD

Re: [0.12.x] RSO Discussion thread

Posted: Sun Aug 09, 2015 6:53 am
by Blu3wolf
If we would like a new resource to be handled by RSO, is there a way to do so via some API call or somesuch?

Or does it require that RSO be patched to handle the new resource?

Re: [0.12.x] RSO Discussion thread

Posted: Sun Aug 09, 2015 7:09 am
by yeganer
Currently it requires a patch but I'm currently developing a version that can handle that.

Re: [0.12.x] RSO Discussion thread

Posted: Sun Aug 09, 2015 7:51 am
by Blu3wolf
Is this the version on Github then? If its the one I think it is, I already posted an issue there asking what version it was :)

Re: [0.12.x] RSO Discussion thread

Posted: Sun Aug 09, 2015 8:39 am
by yeganer
The version on github is the new version which isn't ready for the public yet. So just download the version form the forums and make your modification.

Re: [0.12.x] RSO Discussion thread

Posted: Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:13 pm
by wahming
Getting some weird map gens. With the latest builds of Factorio and RSO, I'm getting starting ore concentrations of 1-3k per square. That's way higher than the default non-mod spawn of 400-700. Any idea what might be causing this? I'm not touching the map gen settings.

Re: [0.12.x] RSO Discussion thread

Posted: Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:15 pm
by orzelek
It might be my last changes to re-balance the ore on further areas affecting starting area more then I planned.
Or if resource field is quite small - then it would have more ore per resource node.

Re: [0.12.x] RSO Discussion thread

Posted: Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:21 pm
by wahming
orzelek wrote:Or if resource field is quite small - then it would have more ore per resource node.
No, I'm getting enough ore in my starting patch to reach all the way to end game - which is when I realised RSO was messed up.