Mining over multiple infinite resource entities - bug?

We are aware of them, but they have low priority. We have more important things to do. They go here in order not to take space in the main bug thread list.
Post Reply
User avatar
H8UL
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon May 15, 2017 4:02 pm
Contact:

Mining over multiple infinite resource entities - bug?

Post by H8UL » Fri Nov 30, 2018 12:52 pm

So I have a query from a user with my mod, in which they point out the tool tip for an infinite resource seems wrong:
  • The resource takes 10 seconds to mine, so a single tile of the resource would report as 0.1/s to mine
  • When the miner entity covers multiple such tiles the tool tip shows a higher rate, e.g. 0.5/s.
  • However, the overall mining still operates at 0.1/s as best as I can tell.
I think it must be the tool tip that is wrong; as far as I know mining picks one tile randomly and mines it for a while, rather than mining all tiles simultaneously. Which is why on overlapping ores you'll get a lot of one resource before it switches to another.

I can't think of any way in which my mod would be "responsible" for the tool tip value. So maybe it's a bug in Factorio? Or maybe I misunderstood something because I'd be surprised in this wasn't noticed with Angel's infinite ores before now.

User's report: https://github.com/h8ul-modder/factorio ... /issues/15
Shameless mod plugging: Ribbon Maze

User avatar
eradicator
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2604
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 9:03 am
Contact:

Re: Mining over multiple infinite resource entities - bug?

Post by eradicator » Sat Dec 01, 2018 10:55 am

@Moderation: Move to bug reports?

Anything in the entity-info-panel on the right is entirely up to the engine, nothing you can do about it (except bug reports).
As far as i know angels has the infinite tiles randomly sprayed into normal ores, so it might simply be very uncommon to have a standard miner than can reach several of them at once?
Author of: Hand Crank Generator, Screenshot Hotkey 2.0
Mod support languages: 日本語, Deutsch, English

orzelek
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3304
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 10:20 am
Contact:

Re: Mining over multiple infinite resource entities - bug?

Post by orzelek » Sat Dec 01, 2018 12:29 pm

You can easily get a miner on top of fully infinite ore patch.
And I think even devs acknowledged that with infinite ores display of yield on miners is silly and has nothing to do with how it actually works.
It works with oil rigs since they only mine 1 resource node. And normal miner also mines only 1 node but calculation doesn't take that into account on infinite patches.

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 8196
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: Mining over multiple infinite resource entities - bug?

Post by Rseding91 » Mon Jan 07, 2019 1:36 am

I don't know if I consider this worth changing. If anything I would just remove the per-second display when showing > 1 infinite resource since it's pretty much meaningless.

For now I'm going to move this to minor issues.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

Post Reply

Return to “Minor issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest