Page 1 of 1

[0.16.51] Sprite shifting itself after second boot without shift present in proto

Posted: Sat Nov 24, 2018 2:24 pm
by Staplergun
No shift defined in prototype. As expected, game launches without the shift.
-Install mod
-Open any map world
-Place down some pipes
-"Select" the pipes.
Image

Reboot once...once...and it suddenly shifts itself to the center of the grid space. Permanently. (Until updating the mod, where it does it again...until reboot.)

I use a corpse type entity and util.table.deepcopy.


Bilka has taken a look at this and wanted me to put up a bug report. Stated he cannot repro in 0.17, but can repro in 0.16.

Re: [0.16.51] Sprite shifting itself after second boot without shift present in proto

Posted: Tue Nov 27, 2018 3:20 am
by TruePikachu
This wouldn't be related to cached atlases, right?

Re: [0.16.51] Sprite shifting itself after second boot without shift present in proto

Posted: Tue Nov 27, 2018 6:05 am
by Bilka
TruePikachu wrote:
Tue Nov 27, 2018 3:20 am
This wouldn't be related to cached atlases, right?
I'd assume no, since even loading map, closing map, loading map fixes it, which doesn't touch the atlas since you don't close/reopen the game.

Re: [0.16.51] Sprite shifting itself after second boot without shift present in proto

Posted: Tue Nov 27, 2018 9:31 pm
by Staplergun
Mine didn't actually correct itself until I restarted the game.
Then again....I didn't actually close the game back to menu, I just hit load.

Re: [0.16.51] Sprite shifting itself after second boot without shift present in proto

Posted: Wed Nov 28, 2018 5:19 am
by TruePikachu
Well, aside from the atlases, there shouldn't be any sort of mod-based data related to this that could persist under the circumstances stated by OP, aside from saved data (which only becomes relevant once the map is loaded) and stuff that was in memory from a previously-loaded game (which is cleared when the application proper is restarted).

If the issue comes up the first time a map is loaded with the mod, and if the map is saved+reloaded the issue doesn't come up again until the mod gets updated, and it doesn't come up with fresh maps, I'd wager it's something related to migrations.

Re: [0.16.51] Sprite shifting itself after second boot without shift present in proto

Posted: Wed Nov 28, 2018 5:26 am
by Bilka
You are misreading our posts. There is no saving involved. The issue is seriously as "magical" as we are describing it. That is why I had him report something that I can't reproduce in the newest version.

Edit: Well, I wanted to make a video and now I cant reproduce the issue even in 0.16...

Re: [0.16.51] Sprite shifting itself after second boot without shift present in proto

Posted: Wed Nov 28, 2018 5:34 am
by TruePikachu
I'm interested enough now to examine what's going on behind the scenes. Have a copy of the mod in question handy to attach to the thread as well?

Re: [0.16.51] Sprite shifting itself after second boot without shift present in proto

Posted: Wed Nov 28, 2018 5:54 am
by steinio
0.17 delayed again.

I can imagine how the full staff gather around one PC in the office and try to investigate this one Bug.

Re: [0.16.51] Sprite shifting itself after second boot without shift present in proto

Posted: Wed Nov 28, 2018 12:16 pm
by Staplergun
TruePikachu wrote:
Wed Nov 28, 2018 5:34 am
I'm interested enough now to examine what's going on behind the scenes. Have a copy of the mod in question handy to attach to the thread as well?
Picker pipe tools