[1.1.71] Hangs at startup

Post your bugs and problems so we can fix them.
Post Reply
Aniwolf
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2022 1:27 pm
Contact:

[1.1.71] Hangs at startup

Post by Aniwolf »

After the in-game update to 1.1.71 and restart the game hangs with the word mod the progress bar at 0% and 'Loading mods...'. Progress bar does not move if I wait a minute.

Switching to the linux console with alt-tab, the only thing I can do is ctrl-c twice.

I've tried renaming the mods/ directory to hide-mods/. and it still hangs in the same place.
I've tried the following options:
./factorio --audio-driver default
./factorio --audio-driver sdl
./factorio --audio-driver allegro

./factorio --disable-audio

--
Jules
Attachments
factorio-current.log
(1.8 KiB) Downloaded 17 times

User avatar
jodokus31
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1465
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2017 4:13 pm
Contact:

Re: [1.1.71] Hangs at startup

Post by jodokus31 »

Code: Select all

 0.201 [Audio] Backend:SDL(default); Driver:alsa, Device:Default device, Depth:16, Channels:2, Frequency:44100
Not sure if its a problem, but I have "pulseaudio" at that position

Code: Select all

Backend:SDL(default); Driver:pulseaudio,...

Donion
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2021 9:18 am
Contact:

Re: [1.1.71] Hangs at startup

Post by Donion »

Did it behave differently with the different audio drivers you tried or with disabled audio?

Donion
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2021 9:18 am
Contact:

Re: [1.1.71] Hangs at startup

Post by Donion »

jodokus31 wrote:
Sat Nov 05, 2022 2:08 pm

Code: Select all

 0.201 [Audio] Backend:SDL(default); Driver:alsa, Device:Default device, Depth:16, Channels:2, Frequency:44100
Not sure if its a problem, but I have "pulseaudio" at that position

Code: Select all

Backend:SDL(default); Driver:pulseaudio,...
Using the ALSA driver is not a problem necessarily. The PulseAudio is preferred though. The ALSA would be used either if PulseAudio initialization failed for some reason or if there is a environment variable SDL_AUDIODRIVER set to ALSA.

Aniwolf
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2022 1:27 pm
Contact:

Re: [1.1.71] Hangs at startup

Post by Aniwolf »

Is there a way to verify if the update patching worked correctly?

The symptom of hanging at Loading mods... 0% is the same for any of the options that I've tried. I've pasted the final entries in the log for each option before my manual input of ctrl-c twice.

./factorio
./factorio --audio-driver default
./factorio --audio-driver sdl

Code: Select all

   0.201 Graphics options: [Graphics quality: high] [Video memory usage: all] [DXT: high-quality] [Color: 32bit]
   0.201                   [Max threads (load/render): 32/8] [Max texture size: 0] [Tex.Stream.: 0] [Rotation quality: normal] [Other: STDCWT] [B:0,C:0,S:100]
   0.215 [Audio] Backend:SDL(default); Driver:alsa, Device:Default device, Depth:16, Channels:2, Frequency:44100
./factorio --audio-driver allegro

Code: Select all

   0.201 Graphics options: [Graphics quality: high] [Video memory usage: all] [DXT: high-quality] [Color: 32bit]
   0.201                   [Max threads (load/render): 32/8] [Max texture size: 0] [Tex.Stream.: 0] [Rotation quality: normal] [Other: STDCWT] [B:0,C:0,S:100]
   0.207 PA_CONTEXT_FAILED

   0.210 [Audio] Backend:allegro; Depth:16, Channels:2, Frequency:44100; MixerQuality:linear
./factorio --disable-audio

Code: Select all

   0.206 Graphics options: [Graphics quality: high] [Video memory usage: all] [DXT: high-quality] [Color: 32bit]
   0.206                   [Max threads (load/render): 32/8] [Max texture size: 0] [Tex.Stream.: 0] [Rotation quality: normal] [Other: STDCWT] [B:0,C:0,S:100]
   0.206 Audio is disabled

FuryoftheStars
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1514
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2017 2:01 pm
Contact:

Re: [1.1.71] Hangs at startup

Post by FuryoftheStars »

Aniwolf wrote:
Sat Nov 05, 2022 6:16 pm
Is there a way to verify if the update patching worked correctly?
If you're using Steam, then you can have Steam verify the integrity of the files.

You can also (Steam and non-Steam) completely uninstall and reinstall. Mind that I think some data (the area where the save files and mods are kept) is not deleted on an uninstall, so you may have to do that manually.

Aniwolf
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2022 1:27 pm
Contact:

Re: [1.1.71] Hangs at startup

Post by Aniwolf »

No installer, I downloaded the Linux version from the main site many years ago.
On the wiki, my installation is cutely referred to as an Independent Install.
I have .tar.xz downloads for 0.16.36 and 0.17.23, so I am guessing that according to the timestamp 31 March 2019 was the last time that I needed to do an "install".

I've also found a .lock file in my factorio/ directory that has the same timestamp as the update file from 1.1.70 to 1.1.71.

User avatar
jodokus31
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1465
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2017 4:13 pm
Contact:

Re: [1.1.71] Hangs at startup

Post by jodokus31 »

You could just download the latest full .tar.xz file, extract and check, if it works
https://factorio.com/download

And direct link:
https://factorio.com/get-download/1.1.71/alpha/linux64

EDIT: IIRC the .lock file says, that factorio is running and locked to be started twice. Maybe try to delete it (or move somewhere else)

Post Reply

Return to “Bug Reports”