Train Station dots should show whether the station is enabled

Suggestions that were added to the game.

Moderator: ickputzdirwech

Post Reply
keyboardhack
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 478
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2014 11:43 pm
Contact:

Train Station dots should show whether the station is enabled

Post by keyboardhack »

When a station is disabled the stations name changes color to red as seens in the image below.
with names.PNG
with names.PNG (1.23 MiB) Viewed 1323 times



I usually play without station names as they clutter the screen.
Unfortunately that also means i can't see if a station is disabled or not.
without names.PNG
without names.PNG (609.62 KiB) Viewed 1323 times



I propose that the little train station dot on the map changes color just like the station name does. In this example it would look like this.
without names and dot changed color.png
without names and dot changed color.png (609.34 KiB) Viewed 1323 times



Now i can see whether the station is enabled without looking at the name.
Waste of bytes : P

wobbycarly
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 187
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2019 4:00 am
Contact:

Re: Train Station dots should show whether the station is enabled

Post by wobbycarly »

Nice QOL suggestion. +1

Sad_Brother
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 199
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 4:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Train Station dots should show whether the station is enabled

Post by Sad_Brother »

Agree. +1

PyroFire
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 356
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2016 8:18 am
Contact:

Re: Train Station dots should show whether the station is enabled

Post by PyroFire »

+1

mmmPI
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 631
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2016 6:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Train Station dots should show whether the station is enabled

Post by mmmPI »

The white dot turning red, on top of the name when station is disabled, would be a nice touch indeed.

Squelch
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 346
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2016 5:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Train Station dots should show whether the station is enabled

Post by Squelch »

Great suggestion.

The station dot may be too easily confused with a red signal (when show signals on map is enabled) Perhaps a red outline/border to the white circle (or inverse) would be more distinguishable?

Jorn86
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun May 01, 2016 7:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Train Station dots should show whether the station is enabled

Post by Jorn86 »

This would be nice. I already name my stations "[item=iron-plate]P" for pickup, now I could omit the P :D

asheiduk
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2020 9:46 am
Contact:

Re: Train Station dots should show whether the station is enabled

Post by asheiduk »

+1

This is indeed one of the most annoying little things in the game I encounter regularly.

Another unmentioned aspect: When zooming out of the map then station names are hidden automatically above(below?) a certain zoom level. So in "overview mode" there actually NO indication whether a station is active or not.

So any change this gets pushed?

User avatar
boskid
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 1529
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2017 6:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Train Station dots should show whether the station is enabled

Post by boskid »

If you want to experiment, those icons can be changed using utility sprites: train_stop_in_map_view, train_stop_disabled_in_map_view and train_stop_full_in_map_view (there are also utility constants: chart_train_stop_text_color, chart_train_stop_disabled_text_color and chart_train_stop_full_text_color)

User avatar
NotRexButCaesar
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1010
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2020 12:47 am
Contact:

Re: Train Station dots should show whether the station is enabled

Post by NotRexButCaesar »

+1
III: Think about what you intend to accomplish with an action before execution.
Have you ever heard the gospel? Most have not.

User avatar
boskid
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 1529
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2017 6:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Train Station dots should show whether the station is enabled

Post by boskid »

1.1.7:
79681.png
79681.png (26.19 KiB) Viewed 715 times

mmmPI
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 631
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2016 6:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Train Station dots should show whether the station is enabled

Post by mmmPI »

Great ! :)

Post Reply

Return to “Implemented Suggestions”