Bot network automatically upgrade everything

Suggestions that were added to the game.

Moderator: ickputzdirwech

Post Reply
Sarxis
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2018 2:21 pm
Contact:

Bot network automatically upgrade everything

Post by Sarxis »

I'd like to see an option to command construction bots to automatically upgrade your base to higher level components once they are available to your logistics network.

(Please tell me this is not the case already so I am not embarrassed!)

Jap2.0
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2333
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2017 12:02 am
Contact:

Re: Bot network automatically upgrade everything

Post by Jap2.0 »

There are 10 types of people: those who get this joke and those who don't.

TheDagmaar
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2016 11:54 am
Contact:

Re: Bot network automatically upgrade everything

Post by TheDagmaar »

I use yellow inseters, coz they use less power. I use tier2 assemblers coz some products don't need higher productivity.
Its a no from me.

/thread
TheDagmaar Mining Corp.

EpicPartyGuy
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 7:18 pm
Contact:

Re: Bot network automatically upgrade everything

Post by EpicPartyGuy »

I echo the desire for a means of auto-upgrading things. I wouldn't say it auto-upgrades EVERYTHING ALL THE TIME, because that doesn't fit everyone's play styles.

Someone else already suggested an upgrade planner with logic conditions and specific upgrades to do. For example, "When the logistics network has >50 Assembler 3's, upgrade an Assembler 1 or 2 with an Assembler 3." Could easily apply that to belts, splitters, etc. If you don't want inserters auto-upgrades, don't put that logic in.

dimm
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2017 12:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Bot network automatically upgrade everything

Post by dimm »

Mod for automatic upgrade vanilla stuff
https://mods.factorio.com/mod/BeltUpgrader

Caine
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 213
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2017 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Bot network automatically upgrade everything

Post by Caine »

Upgrading a belt or assembler completely destroys the finely tuned throughput calculations of a sub-factory module. So if implemented in any form, this should not be fully automatic.

PacifyerGrey
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1046
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2016 10:02 am
Contact:

Re: Bot network automatically upgrade everything

Post by PacifyerGrey »

While we do need functionality of Upgrade Planner the process should not be unattended as there are way too many applications of using lower tier items while you have access to higher tiers. Belt weaving is an excellent example.

voddan
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 122
Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2017 9:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Bot network automatically upgrade everything

Post by voddan »

I think auto-upgrading via bots should be paired with infinite research.

Right now we have a bit ridiculous system where we do a level-up research and all turrets start shooting faster. This completely skips the hassle to go to each separate item (e.i. turret) and upgrade it. I think this system takes all fun and planning from upgrades.

Instead we could have "upgrade packages" that would level up items without changing them. So once you have researched a new upgrade, you have to produce "upgrade packages", load bots with them and send the bots to upgrade your base. Of course the bots interface should allow to detail what items and where are to be upgraded.

Post Reply

Return to “Implemented Suggestions”