a way to get a players screen resolution

CmdrKeen
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter

a way to get a players screen resolution

Post by CmdrKeen »

I'd like to get implemented a way to pull information on a players screen size to make it possible to adjust a large dialog to the players screen without the player having to input the resolution themselves.

It'd also require an event to handle resolution changes in order to resize the dialog.

Bilka
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff

Re: a way to get a players screen resolution

Post by Bilka »

To save some dev time: Not gonna happen. This isn't deterministic.
I'm an admin over at https://wiki.factorio.com. Feel free to contact me if there's anything wrong (or right) with it.

eradicator
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter

Post by eradicator »

Yep. Very unlikely to ever happen. If you absolutely need this you can make per-player mod options for it. Or just use a "scroll-pane". (I can relate to the problem though *sigh*)
Author of: Belt Planner, Hand Crank Generator, Screenshot Maker, /sudo and more.
Mod support languages: 日本語, Deutsch, English
My code in the post above is dedicated to the public domain under CC0.

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff

Post by Rseding91 »

As other have said: that's not currently possible. However since it sounds like it could be quite useful for mod developers I may look into adding support for it.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

eradicator
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter

Post by eradicator »

Rseding91 wrote:As other have said: that's not currently possible. However since it sounds like it could be quite useful for mod developers I may look into adding support for it.