Page 1 of 1

[Request] "Prototype/Unit" .light

Posted: Wed Feb 22, 2017 11:24 pm
by Betep3akata
The will-o'-the-wisps mod touches upon the topic of flying and glowing enemies. An ugly and performance heavy workaround is used to implement the glow of units: creating explosions on the onTick events.

Is it possible to add the optional feature of glow into the prototype of units?

P.S.: This feature could also become useful in the base game. For creating of the exposed by the radiation biters, for example.
(https://mods.factorio.com/mods/Betep3ak ... -the-wisps)

Re: [Request] "Prototype/Unit" .light

Posted: Wed Feb 22, 2017 11:57 pm
by darkfrei
+1

Some entities have light, activity_led_light, indicator_light, muzzle_light, recharging_light, or by player:

Code: Select all

data.raw.player.player.light.1.minimum_darkness = 0.3
data.raw.player.player.light.1.intensity = 0.4
data.raw.player.player.light.1.size = 25
data.raw.player.player.light.2.type = oriented
data.raw.player.player.light.2.minimum_darkness = 0.3
data.raw.player.player.light.2.picture.filename = __core__/graphics/light-cone.png
data.raw.player.player.light.2.picture.priority = medium
data.raw.player.player.light.2.picture.scale = 2
data.raw.player.player.light.2.picture.width = 200
data.raw.player.player.light.2.picture.height = 200
data.raw.player.player.light.2.shift.1 = 0
data.raw.player.player.light.2.shift.2 = -13
data.raw.player.player.light.2.size = 2
data.raw.player.player.light.2.intensity = 0.6
But here is no way to make some Laser Mining Drill, that looks pretty good in the night.

Re: [Request] "Prototype/Unit" .light

Posted: Thu Feb 23, 2017 7:31 am
by Mooncat
+2

I wanted to request this too but ended up spending my time on finding workarounds. Now I have a "fire" entity so it can emit some smoke entities periodically. But still requires script to teleport it.

Maybe also add "light" to combat robots? :mrgreen:

Re: [Request] "Prototype/Unit" .light

Posted: Thu Feb 23, 2017 2:40 pm
by Betep3akata
I tried to use other entities with light but the problem is to change the position of light source smoothly.

Re: [Request] "Prototype/Unit" .light

Posted: Wed Jan 16, 2019 1:25 pm
by Klonan
This is possible now with the script rendering