Allow belts in BPs to redirect/upgrade/downgrade existing belts

Post your ideas and suggestions how to improve the game.

Moderator: ickputzdirwech

Post Reply
JackGruff
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 131
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2013 4:44 pm
Contact:

Allow belts in BPs to redirect/upgrade/downgrade existing belts

Post by JackGruff »

TL;DR
When you place a ghost belt on top of a real one, a redirect/upgrade/downgrade order will be placed for the real belt if it is in a different direction and/or a different tier. This does not work for blueprints.
What ?
When belts in a BP are placed on top of real belts, the logic is the same for manually placed ghosts.
Why ?
This makes the placement of ghost entities more consistent.

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 12158
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Allow belts in BPs to redirect/upgrade/downgrade existing belts

Post by ssilk »

Why only belts? No inserters? Assemblies? Groundplates?
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

Kyralessa
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 337
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2016 5:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Allow belts in BPs to redirect/upgrade/downgrade existing belts

Post by Kyralessa »

But then if you want the existing belts left alone, how would you do it?

Whereas if you want to get rid of the existing belts, you can also deconstruct them first.

SoShootMe
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 157
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2020 4:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Allow belts in BPs to redirect/upgrade/downgrade existing belts

Post by SoShootMe »

Kyralessa wrote:
Thu Jul 22, 2021 6:55 am
But then if you want the existing belts left alone, how would you do it?
One answer is for it to be optional behaviour, with a modifier key combination when placing a blueprint to activate it... similar has been suggested (many times) before; see 59554.
Kyralessa wrote:
Thu Jul 22, 2021 6:55 am
Whereas if you want to get rid of the existing belts, you can also deconstruct them first.
Deconstruction means the belts will be stopped, removed (along with any items on them) and replaced instead of upgraded/rotated in place. This is presumably the reason for the behaviour with manually placed ghosts, which is not just for belts but I think all items that can be "fast-replaced".

Post Reply

Return to “Ideas and Suggestions”