Rail: Have a way to know which train is coming to selected station

Post your ideas and suggestions how to improve the game.

Moderator: ickputzdirwech

Post Reply
Mokmo
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2016 6:44 pm
Contact:

Rail: Have a way to know which train is coming to selected station

Post by Mokmo »

TL;DR:
Which of these 25 trains are coming to this station ? I wish I could tell...

So with the arrival of train limiters, I was able to make my whole mining system work a bit better. For Copper, I have 21 trains over 35 stops. If I see a mining outpost saying 1/1, there's no way to know which train's coming to it.

Suggestion: Trains that have a spot reserved at a specific stop should be shown at the top, with a highlight, of the "trains with this stop" section.

Trific
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 122
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2020 7:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Rail: Have a way to know which train is coming to selected station

Post by Trific »

One of the issues I see with this is that trains are not locked to that stop. They can (and frequently do) repath to another (closer) station on the way, which would likely cause user confusion.

Mokmo
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2016 6:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Rail: Have a way to know which train is coming to selected station

Post by Mokmo »

Trific wrote:
Thu Apr 22, 2021 4:03 am
One of the issues I see with this is that trains are not locked to that stop. They can (and frequently do) repath to another (closer) station on the way, which would likely cause user confusion.
If it changes let it change.

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 12244
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Rail: Have a way to know which train is coming to selected station

Post by ssilk »

The good question here is as always: why?

IMHO there is no reason to know that.
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

Eldaris
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2021 7:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Rail: Have a way to know which train is coming to selected station

Post by Eldaris »

To debug the train system as a default reason, or maybe you just want to see the train go to your new mining outpost and enjoy following it on the way as it navigates your network. But there's two more I can think of.

Because you really need a train there this moment because of a crisis (say you need munition in a station under attack), and you want to know right now which train is on the way if any, and how far away it is.

Or you changed something. Say you changed the layout of inserters and stuff and you want the train coming over to go back home or wait at some location, without you having to babysit the station to prevent it from arriving. (Which can't really be done by removing tracks because that messes everything up. Trains will get stuck mid route with the "no path" message and mess up the entire logistic system. -- in which case you want to know which train was on route to unstuck it)

In a perhaps somewhat less common case, there can be issues with copying blueprints with station data and artillery/munition trains rushing over which you're ready for. Sometimes because the setting was wrongly copied, sometimes because the logic wire with the train station disable condition wasn't connected yet (causing the station to be enabled by default)

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 12244
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Rail: Have a way to know which train is coming to selected station

Post by ssilk »

So I try to repeat:
You right-click on a train stop. You see the list of trains, that have this stop in their schedule

New: the trains, that have this stop as the next target on their schedule are shown in an extra field at the top of the list.

Right till here?

If yes I have more questions :) :

Let’s say I take my typical iron smelter, which has over 100 trains on 30 stations. How do I see then, which train is next, when there are 10 or more targeting this station? In which order is it sorted?

How is it with the remaining trains? How are they sorted? Distance to this stop? Or alphabetical?
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

Post Reply

Return to “Ideas and Suggestions”