Page 1 of 1

Trains GUI search needle in a haystack

Posted: Sat Apr 10, 2021 5:36 pm
by Amarula
TL;DR
Trying to find a needle (one train waiting at the head of the queue) in a haystack (50+ trains all waiting to get to the front of the queue)

What ?
My suggestion is to sort the search results in the Trains GUI by any differences in the trains matching the criteria, particularly such as state (Waiting at versus Heading to).

The new Trains GUI is amazing, and the search function is great.
In my use case, I have a storage area organized as a queue for available trains. There are always a few, but sometimes such as when I am doing massive deconstruction to redo a large area of my base, there are dozens or hundreds. When I need a train, I grab the next one from the front of the queue.
Currently all trains meeting the search criteria are included in the search results in random order. When there are only a few, it is easy to grab the one from the front of the line. When there are dozens, I either hunt through pages of trains trying to find the one that is Waiting rather than the dozens that are Heading to the queue station, or I click on the first one, go to map view, and then select the train at the head of the queue.
Screenshot from 2021-04-10 13-33-13.png
Screenshot from 2021-04-10 13-33-13.png (500.51 KiB) Viewed 514 times
Why ?
Sorting the search results by any differences such as Waiting at versus Heading to would make the GUI even better to use when trying to find the needle in the haystack...

Re: Trains GUI search needle in a haystack

Posted: Sat Apr 10, 2021 6:02 pm
by ptx0
totally agreed.

i had to create a mod to announce train arrivals because figuring out the busiest routes on my network was almost impossible with the trains overview UI.

Re: Trains GUI search needle in a haystack

Posted: Sat Apr 10, 2021 6:23 pm
by NotRexButCaesar
I think sorting by distance (low to high) would be best and most simple.

Re: Trains GUI search needle in a haystack

Posted: Sat Apr 10, 2021 11:23 pm
by ssilk
What I also miss is a more streamlined switch between the windows.

Click on a train, open map view, switching back: in the train overview again.

Re: Trains GUI search needle in a haystack

Posted: Sun Apr 11, 2021 1:45 am
by ptx0
also sometimes it says "standing at >>>station<<<" instead of "next destination full".

the new trains UI is nice but has some UX problems.

Re: Trains GUI search needle in a haystack

Posted: Sun Apr 11, 2021 2:14 pm
by Amarula
A related problem, again after doing massive deconstruction: I have a station where I park trains full of odds and ends. When I send a train to park there, I mark what is in the load using the Item Count condition. When I want to take a train, it would be great if the list was sorted by the condition, again so I don't have to hunt for the needle in the haystack: all the trains with Advanced Circuits would be sorted together in the list, and I can scroll past all of them to get to the Basic Circuits I am looking for...

Re: Trains GUI search needle in a haystack

Posted: Tue Apr 13, 2021 6:49 am
by ssilk
@Amarula: That’s surely not, how that is thought. :) why not loading the trains automatically to bring the stuff automatically to the stations, where you need them?

That reminds me to this:

Image

Factorio is about automation, not doing things by hand! This wish will not be implemented. :)
Perhaps you should look out for some mods to help you out with your workflow. There are wonderful mods, perhaps something that might fit.


@ptx0: if you think that’s an error make that a bug report.

Train stop window should show trains that are actually going there

Posted: Wed May 12, 2021 7:42 am
by AdamK
What:

Train stop window should show not only all the trains that have it in its schedule, but somehow highlit the ones that are actually going to this station (preferabloy show them first)

Why:

In the setup with many trains going to many stations of the same name, it is hard to find which exact traing is going exactly where and debug a problem it there is one.

Re: Train stop window should show trains that are actually going there

Posted: Wed May 12, 2021 12:05 pm
by Amarula

Re: Train stop window should show trains that are actually going there

Posted: Thu May 13, 2021 4:07 am
by ssilk
merging with older topic