Info Print :3...

Post your ideas and suggestions how to improve the game.

Moderator: ickputzdirwech

Post Reply
User avatar
PanTobi
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 174
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2016 12:34 am
Contact:

Info Print :3...

Post by PanTobi »

TL;DR
option to select all buildings like with Blueprints to see all info about selected buildings:
- Energy Consumption ( only selected buildings )
- Production/s ( only selected buildings )
- Pollution/s ( only selected buildings )

What ?
i think TL:DR is enough but ok...
new Blueprint ( maybe Yellow Color ? :3... or Pink xDD ! )
That will show You more info of selected buildings, like i said -> Energy / Production / Pollution
Why ?
To see how efficient is Your factory?...
You can ofc. press "P" to open Production Tab and see production... but thats for WHOLE factory...
what if i want to see only Area im working on RN?... well... no option for that...

There is option to see Energy consumption of Area you want to see... just DC them from Power see how much power You use
and then connect factory back and subtract them :x...

so for example if Factory use 750 MW when everything is connected
if You disconnect Factory you want to see Energy Consumption and then check power, lets say it will be 700 MW
then Part of Your factory You want to test is using around 50 MW... yee Around... :x...

But we can't see Pollution by Disconnectiong part of our Factory...
we can see Production if we DC and wait 5/10 sec... but... its rly ugly way :(...

So InfoPrint that show you detailed info about selected area is important :3...

User avatar
jodokus31
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1094
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2017 4:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Info Print :3...

Post by jodokus31 »

This could help?
https://mods.factorio.com/mod/MaxRateCalculator

However, I don't know if I understood everything
If You find typos, my mobile is an uncontrollable beast

User avatar
PanTobi
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 174
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2016 12:34 am
Contact:

Re: Info Print :3...

Post by PanTobi »

jodokus31 wrote:
Sun Apr 04, 2021 2:36 pm
This could help?
https://mods.factorio.com/mod/MaxRateCalculator

However, I don't know if I understood everything
I already have Factory Planner... much better mod...
but i don't care about POSSIBLE production or other things...

i want to know how much my buildings are producing right now...

just like in Production Window when You press "P"
but only for selected area...


Factory Planner already show you how many ASMs u need with how many beacons, mods etc.
also you can see Electricity and how many belts / wagons / items(/minute or /sec) you need etc.

but i want to see how much they produce in game... while running...

like for example i have BP that according to math should produce 95 Red Circuits every second
Blue belt is 45 items / second so two blue belts are 90 Red Circuits / second... so... according to math
Two blue belts should be completly full... but they are not... so it would be cool to see which block is "failing" not producing enought

i can:
1) walk all around and try to find what is not enought and why production is slow
2) Select area that produce one product and see if its enought for blueprint i have...


i split my factory into many many many small factories connected with trains...
every factory produce 1 product... most of the time one product... some factories produce multiple products...

and almost always they works from RAW ( by "Raw" i mean Circuits ( GC / RC / BC ) and Ores - only few Factories uses Plates instead of ore )

so i can't like look at Production Window because i will see production from WHOLE Factory...
and walking and TRYING to find WHAT is missing and WHAT should i fix... in HUGE setups is annoying AF...


//Edit:
Just read that part:
PanTobi wrote:
Sun Apr 04, 2021 2:11 pm
we can see Production if we DC and wait 5/10 sec... but... its rly ugly way :(...
as u can see i'm talking about WORKING Factory...
not about Auto Calculators to see possible production...

//Edit2:
Here... Factory Planner or something like that...
but its not what i need for that Task...
Image

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 11973
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Info Print :3...

Post by ssilk »

PanTobi wrote:
Sun Apr 04, 2021 4:49 pm
i want to know how much my buildings are producing right now...

just like in Production Window when You press "P"
but only for selected area...
Not so easy. Because that means you need to scan the selected devices every tick.

For a small area: no problem. But the effort to scan hundreds of devices can easily affect UPS very hard.
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

User avatar
jodokus31
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1094
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2017 4:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Info Print :3...

Post by jodokus31 »

Maybe, this is better?
https://mods.factorio.com/mod/assemblyanalyst

This is still not what you want, but as ssilk said, its difficult.
But, at least you see, how well your machines are utilized and you can decide at a glance, if it's according to the plan
If You find typos, my mobile is an uncontrollable beast

Post Reply

Return to “Ideas and Suggestions”