change request location / 'a request for this item already exists' / Quick rearranging of the logistics config

Post your ideas and suggestions how to improve the game.

Moderator: ickputzdirwech

Post Reply
-DeadlyKitten
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 2019 3:26 am
Contact:

change request location / 'a request for this item already exists' / Quick rearranging of the logistics config

Post by -DeadlyKitten »

TL;DR
One sentence to describe your idea with a bit different words than in the subject

when you click on a request slot when there is already a request slot move the request location instead of giving an error
What ?
when in the invintory looking at the logistic menu, click on an empty box and request something already requested in another slot. an error will open with 'this item is in another slot'. my suggestion is to instead open the item request menu with the current configuration (lower/upper limits set as they currently are) and if the user presses enter/ clicks the green check to apply the change then put the item request in the new slot and empty the old slot.
Why ?
I think it will increases the value of Factorio as a game because it will
a) allow for much easier rearrangement of the request slots,
b) remove the need to tediously search dozens or (in modded games) hundreds of items to find the item whose request you want to remove.
Last edited by ssilk on Thu Jun 03, 2021 9:45 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Changed title to fit subject better


User avatar
NotRexButCaesar
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1046
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2020 12:47 am
Contact:

Re: change request location instead of 'a request for this item already exists'

Post by NotRexButCaesar »

+1 searching for the request is quite annoying.
: Alea jacta est. Determine what you intend to accomplish with an action before execution.
Have you ever heard the gospel? Most have not.

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 12273
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: change request location instead of 'a request for this item already exists'

Post by ssilk »

Counter suggestion would be to highlight the doublette. That would be also less invasive.

I’m sure that has been already suggested, but could not find it.
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

Sad_Brother
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 199
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 4:54 pm
Contact:

Re: change request location instead of 'a request for this item already exists'

Post by Sad_Brother »

But this suggestion allow to change location easily.

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 12273
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: change request location instead of 'a request for this item already exists'

Post by ssilk »

We don’t need to invent the wheel new. :) If I want to move things, I want to drag and drop it.
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

-DeadlyKitten
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 2019 3:26 am
Contact:

Re: change request location instead of 'a request for this item already exists'

Post by -DeadlyKitten »

a combo of both features would def be nice

dugen
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jun 08, 2019 1:53 am
Contact:

Allow quick rearranging of the logistics configuration

Post by dugen »

TL;DR
When you try to assign an already configured request into an empty space, instead of "Request for this item already exists" populate a panel with the current request configuration, and if they save it, move the request to there.

What ?
Sometimes I want to rearrange the layout of the logistics requests to group things logically. This could be made much easier with this simple change.
Image
Image.
Why ?
Because it's better.

User avatar
ickputzdirwech
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 641
Joined: Sun May 07, 2017 10:16 am
Contact:

Re: change request location instead of 'a request for this item already exists'

Post by ickputzdirwech »

[ick] Merged with older topic about the same idea.
Mods: Shortcuts for 1.1, ick's Sea Block, ick's vanilla tweaks
Tools: Atom language pack
Text quickly seems cold and unfriendly. Be careful how you write and interpret what others have written.
- A reminder for me and all who read what I write

Post Reply

Return to “Ideas and Suggestions”