Paste function should rotate belts

Post your ideas and suggestions how to improve the game.

Moderator: ickputzdirwech

Post Reply
Frezeedrone
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2020 10:08 pm
Contact:

Paste function should rotate belts

Post by Frezeedrone »

TL;DR
When copy and pasting a line of belts on top of another one, the direction of the belts should change.

What ?
When copy and pasting a line of belts on top of another one, the direction of the belts should change, similar to what ghosts do in version 1.1.
Why ?
I always saw the paste function as a way of placing a lot of ghosts. In 1.1, manually placed belt ghosts change the direction of existing belts but it doesn't work if you are pasting them. It seems inconsistent.

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 12717
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Paste function should rotate belts

Post by ssilk »

Should be IMHO an option “rotate existing entities into the same direction while pasting “, that can be choosen before pasting blueprint and clipboard (!), like the many other options you already have.
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

User avatar
valneq
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1138
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2019 7:43 am
Contact:

Re: Paste function should rotate belts

Post by valneq »

If we had this, we could paste a 4x4 balancer on top of 4 belts on the bus, right?

IronCartographer
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 431
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2016 2:07 pm
Contact:

Re: Paste function should rotate belts

Post by IronCartographer »

valneq wrote:
Fri Nov 27, 2020 6:13 pm
If we had this, we could paste a 4x4 balancer on top of 4 belts on the bus, right?
That is a different request, more akin to this: viewtopic.php?f=6&t=59554

User avatar
valneq
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1138
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2019 7:43 am
Contact:

Re: Paste function should rotate belts

Post by valneq »

IronCartographer wrote:
Fri Nov 27, 2020 7:54 pm
valneq wrote:
Fri Nov 27, 2020 6:13 pm
If we had this, we could paste a 4x4 balancer on top of 4 belts on the bus, right?
That is a different request, more akin to this: viewtopic.php?f=6&t=59554
… I don't think so. We have quick-replace between splitters, undergrounds & belts as long as they are in the same direction. But the only reason why you cannot paste a 4x4 balancer onto 4 parallel belts is because some of the belts need to be rotated – which is what this suggestion is about.

IronCartographer
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 431
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2016 2:07 pm
Contact:

Re: Paste function should rotate belts

Post by IronCartographer »

valneq wrote:
Fri Nov 27, 2020 8:05 pm
… I don't think so. We have quick-replace between splitters, undergrounds & belts as long as they are in the same direction. But the only reason why you cannot paste a 4x4 balancer onto 4 parallel belts is because some of the belts need to be rotated – which is what this suggestion is about.
Individual entities can be adjusted with shift-click in 1.1, yes. But not as part of a blueprint, copy-paste or otherwise.

I misinterpreted OP saying "paste" and was thinking of the quick-paste rather than the blueprint paste, but they were talking about a copy->blueprint->paste.
Frezeedrone wrote:
Wed Nov 25, 2020 10:20 pm
pasting a line of belts on top of another one
Given that, yes, we're asking for the same thing in different ways. See the other thread! :)

Post Reply

Return to “Ideas and Suggestions”