Add a hotkey for blueprint string import

Post your ideas and suggestions how to improve the game.
Post Reply
User avatar
Raiguard
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 268
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 8:29 pm
Contact:

Add a hotkey for blueprint string import

Post by Raiguard »

Since blueprint-related things have moved to the shortcut bar, that limits the amount of things you can have showing at once. I almost never actually use my shortcut bar, the only things I have showing are things that I want to know the toggled state of. I use hotkeys for almost everything there.

The one thing that I actually can't use hotkeys for is importing blueprint strings. I don't want this button to be showing at all times, so whenever I want to use it, I have to click the tiny button to open the shortcut bar settings, then click the tiny button to open the import dialog.

I would like to request a control to open this window, so I can do it much quicker and easier.
Don't forget, you're here forever.

User avatar
Raiguard
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 268
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 8:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Add a hotkey for blueprint string import

Post by Raiguard »

Bump?
Don't forget, you're here forever.

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 11421
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Add a hotkey for blueprint string import

Post by ssilk »

How often do you do you import strings per game, week, month, ...?
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

User avatar
Raiguard
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 268
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 8:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Add a hotkey for blueprint string import

Post by Raiguard »

Not ridiculously often, but it's really difficult to push two really tiny buttons every time I want to do it. Import string is literally the only vanilla shortcut that doesn't have a hotkey.
Don't forget, you're here forever.

User avatar
ickputzdirwech
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 280
Joined: Sun May 07, 2017 10:16 am
Contact:

Re: Add a hotkey for blueprint string import

Post by ickputzdirwech »

Blueprint book also doesn’t have a hotkey. Really annoying. Definitely a +1

Edit: I’ll add both of them to my mod when I got time this evening.
Mods: Shortcuts for 1.0, ick's vanilla tweaks
Text quickly seems cold and unfriendly. Be careful how you write and interpret what others have written.
- A reminder for me and all who read what I write.

User avatar
Raiguard
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 268
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 8:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Add a hotkey for blueprint string import

Post by Raiguard »

ickputzdirwech wrote:
Tue Oct 13, 2020 2:40 pm
Blueprint book also doesn’t have a hotkey. Really annoying. Definitely a +1

Edit: I’ll add both of them to my mod when I got time this evening.
Actually, blueprint books do have the ability to set a hotkey, it's just unset by default:
2020-10-13 11_18_35-Factorio 1.1.0.png
2020-10-13 11_18_35-Factorio 1.1.0.png (15.66 KiB) Viewed 130 times
Don't forget, you're here forever.

User avatar
ickputzdirwech
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 280
Joined: Sun May 07, 2017 10:16 am
Contact:

Re: Add a hotkey for blueprint string import

Post by ickputzdirwech »

Raiguard wrote:
Tue Oct 13, 2020 5:18 pm

Actually, blueprint books do have the ability to set a hotkey, it's just unset by default:
Damn, I always assumed there was none, since it didn’t say “(Not set)” in the tooltip. Turns out associated_control_input only shows the hotkey when it is set like “(Alt + B)”. Not very intuitive.

I also couldn’t figure out how to tell the game to open a specific gui. I never messed around with the gui before. Thought it would be easier. I tried looking at factory planner for a reference but I didn’t understand how they were doing it. I’ll keep working on it though.
Mods: Shortcuts for 1.0, ick's vanilla tweaks
Text quickly seems cold and unfriendly. Be careful how you write and interpret what others have written.
- A reminder for me and all who read what I write.

User avatar
Raiguard
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 268
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 8:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Add a hotkey for blueprint string import

Post by Raiguard »

ickputzdirwech wrote:
Wed Oct 14, 2020 9:19 am
Raiguard wrote:
Tue Oct 13, 2020 5:18 pm

Actually, blueprint books do have the ability to set a hotkey, it's just unset by default:
Damn, I always assumed there was none, since it didn’t say “(Not set)” in the tooltip. Turns out associated_control_input only shows the hotkey when it is set like “(Alt + B)”. Not very intuitive.

I also couldn’t figure out how to tell the game to open a specific gui. I never messed around with the gui before. Thought it would be easier. I tried looking at factory planner for a reference but I didn’t understand how they were doing it. I’ll keep working on it though.
Unfortunately import string doesn't have a GUI type and isn't ever marked as "opened" so we can't force it to open from the API. Factory Planner uses a custom dialog for subfactory strings. Unfortunately, if you want to make a mod to show import, you'll have to make the GUI yourself.

If this feature isn't in by the time I get to making my "blueprint tools" mod, I'll add it to that.
Don't forget, you're here forever.

User avatar
ickputzdirwech
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 280
Joined: Sun May 07, 2017 10:16 am
Contact:

Re: Add a hotkey for blueprint string import

Post by ickputzdirwech »

That‘s a shame. At least it explained my struggle. Guess I’ll just scrap that idea and wait for it to be implemented by the devs or you. Looking forward to your Mod! :)
Mods: Shortcuts for 1.0, ick's vanilla tweaks
Text quickly seems cold and unfriendly. Be careful how you write and interpret what others have written.
- A reminder for me and all who read what I write.

Post Reply

Return to “Ideas and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users