Take blocked slots into account when reporting chest usage

Post your ideas and suggestions how to improve the game.

Moderator: ickputzdirwech

Post Reply
Amarula
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 384
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2018 1:29 pm
Contact:

Take blocked slots into account when reporting chest usage

Post by Amarula »

TL;DR
When reporting how many slots are used out of the number available in the item tooltip, take blocked slots into account, instead of reporting based solely on chest size.

What ?
Item tooltips show chest availability, very handy especially when you are checking items from a distance:
Reported chest usage.png
Reported chest usage.png (424.36 KiB) Viewed 441 times
However, this can be misleading, if some (or all) of the container is blocked:
Available chest usage.png
Available chest usage.png (16.58 KiB) Viewed 441 times
Have the tool tip show that 4 out 4 slots are already used, or possibly 4 of 4 out of chest size 48.
Apply to all containers that support blocking, specifically and especially including train cargo wagons.
Why ?
Less misleading: the current report suggests that 48-4=44 slots could still be filled, when in fact the chest is already "full."
More accurate information, better decisions.
Luck is not a robust control.

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 12171
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Take blocked slots into account when reporting chest usage

Post by ssilk »

There is some similar/counter suggestion:
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=76878
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

bitsunited
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2021 7:24 am
Contact:

Show chest limit in tooltip

Post by bitsunited »

TL;DR
The tooltip for any kind of chest should show if there is a limit defined for the chest.

What ?
Currently a chest tooltip shows its contents in the form "Storage: <used stacks>/<chest capacity in stacks>". An iron chest could show "Storage: 10/32" for example. To verify if a limit is set for that chest a player has to click on the chest. That click is not necessary. The tooltip area has enough space to add an additional value for the number of stacks not blocked by a limit. If the limit is set to allow 20 stacks the following options come to my mind:

Storage: 10/20/32
Storage: 10/32 (20)
Storage: 10/20 (32)
Storage: 10/32 Limit: 20
Storage: 10/20 Capacity: 32
Storage: 10(+12)/32
Storage: 10/20 (+12)

There are numerous other ways to display the information if a chest has a limit defined and how many stacks are (not) blocked. The way it is displayed is not of importance for me as long as the value appears in any form.

Why ?
This would improve the gameplay because currently I have to click on a lot of chests to check if I set the limit correctly. It costs me sometimes quite some time. To see if a chest has a lack or abundance of items compared to a defined limit and if a limit is set in the first place helps me manage and blance my factory. To have the value in the tooltip would be a very notable improvement that should be quite easy to implement.

User avatar
bormand
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 200
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2020 9:59 am
Contact:

Re: Show chest limit in tooltip

Post by bormand »

+1

Just current/limit should be fine, imho. Original capacity is not very interesting for a limited chest and would just clutter interface.

Examples:

10/20 - you have 10 stacks and container is limited to 20
21/20 - you have 21 stack and container is limited to 20 (one stack was added manually or just left over from previous config)

Kyralessa
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 340
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2016 5:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Show chest limit in tooltip

Post by Kyralessa »

Maybe normal text 10/48 to show original capacity, and 10/20 with colored or bold text on the denominator to indicate that the capacity has been limited.

Amarula
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 384
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2018 1:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Show chest limit in tooltip

Post by Amarula »

+1

I like the idea of showing the use of restricted slots:
bormand wrote:
Fri Feb 05, 2021 8:54 am
21/20 - you have 21 stack and container is limited to 20 (one stack was added manually or just left over from previous config)
However, I would show the use of restricted slots separately.
For example:
5/20 - chest is limited to 20 stacks, 5 are used, no restricted slots are used.
1/[4]/20 - chest is limited to 20 stacks, 1 of those is used, 4 of the restricted slots are also used.
Luck is not a robust control.

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 12171
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Show chest limit in tooltip

Post by ssilk »

Other suggestions:

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=76878 Make visible mark on boxes if the volume limit is set

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=85453 Take blocked slots into account when reporting chest usage
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

User avatar
ickputzdirwech
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 626
Joined: Sun May 07, 2017 10:16 am
Contact:

Re: Take blocked slots into account when reporting chest usage

Post by ickputzdirwech »

[ick] Merged with second thread linked by @ssilk
Mods: Shortcuts for 1.1, ick's Sea Block, ick's vanilla tweaks
Tools: Atom language pack
Text quickly seems cold and unfriendly. Be careful how you write and interpret what others have written.
- A reminder for me and all who read what I write

User avatar
NotRexButCaesar
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1010
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2020 12:47 am
Contact:

Re: Take blocked slots into account when reporting chest usage

Post by NotRexButCaesar »

+1
III: Think about what you intend to accomplish with an action before execution.
Have you ever heard the gospel? Most have not.

TheoMarque
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2018 6:06 pm
Contact:

Info when limiting chest inventory

Post by TheoMarque »

TL;DR
Add tooltip info when selecting available slots in chest showing numer of available slots from all slots in chest.

What ?
Small tooltip when hovering and info in tooltip when hover mouse on closed chest, showing number of available slots, not only maximum slots in chest.
Why ?
In vanilla game with small chest on one screen is nothing useful. But when we use modded chests with dozens of slots is hard to recognize how many slots are available after limit. Small info under cursor will be very useful.

User avatar
ickputzdirwech
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 626
Joined: Sun May 07, 2017 10:16 am
Contact:

Re: Take blocked slots into account when reporting chest usage

Post by ickputzdirwech »

[ick] Merged with existing suggestion.
Mods: Shortcuts for 1.1, ick's Sea Block, ick's vanilla tweaks
Tools: Atom language pack
Text quickly seems cold and unfriendly. Be careful how you write and interpret what others have written.
- A reminder for me and all who read what I write

Post Reply

Return to “Ideas and Suggestions”