Smart Train Stops

Post your ideas and suggestions how to improve the game.
Post Reply
mrtux
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 10:04 pm
Contact:

Smart Train Stops

Post by mrtux » Fri Feb 06, 2015 12:14 pm

How about a "Smart Train Stop"? Instead of setting a timeout on the train, the train stop decides whether to give a green or red light and the train waits until the train stop says "go".


I imagine the train stop being connected to the logistics network via red/green cables similar to smart chests/inserters, having a similar dialog (no filtering, but red/green/logistics network conditions).
My concrete imagination stops there: finding the best way to control your smart station is up to the player and part of the fun! :)

Pros:
  • better control over your trains
  • more opportunities to use the red/green cables
  • suddenly the control network may become much larger, adding more depth to the whole concept
Cons:
  • adds to the complexity of trains (they don't seem to be understood very well as they are). On the other hand: this game is about understanding and optimizing complex processes – so why not a complex train technologie?
  • I don't know how trains interact with train stops. Who controls when the train gets going again? The way the train system is currently implemented has a big impact of the effort needed to implement my suggestion.
PS: I tried to do it with a mod but failed at the point where a) train stops and smart $item are different base items and b) I failed to start/stop/yield a train with LUA.
PPS: This is a follow up to https://forums.factorio.com/forum/vie ... f=6&t=4738 . Initially a direct answer in this thread I deviated from the "smart train" idea and so decided to open a new topic. Both are strongly related, but still not the same.

Thanks for reading my suggestion. :)
If only my thesis could be done in Factorio …

Hanse00
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 6:07 pm
Contact:

Re: Smart Train Stops

Post by Hanse00 » Fri Feb 06, 2015 12:17 pm

Being able to manually control signals could work as well, not only for this, but other places where you might want more control over where / how the trains go.

You could for example have an extra siding for an idle train, and using the signals, you could deploy it to your line when demand is high enough.

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 10467
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Smart Train Stops

Post by ssilk » Fri Feb 06, 2015 12:18 pm

Possibilities to control the train stop are planned for 0.12.

See also https://forums.factorio.com/forum/vie ... ?f=3&t=678
and some FFF's.
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

mrtux
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 10:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Smart Train Stops

Post by mrtux » Fri Feb 06, 2015 12:25 pm

Hanse00 wrote:Being able to manually control signals could work as well, not only for this, but other places where you might want more control over where / how the trains go.

You could for example have an extra siding for an idle train, and using the signals, you could deploy it to your line when demand is high enough.
Not with the current implementation:
  • Put a signal behind a train stop.
  • Occupy the block behing the signal → signal turns red.
  • Have the train loaded and time-out.
  • → The train drives up to the signal and loading stops.
Not exactly what I wanted.

Controllable signals are nice, too. Maybe the smart train stop could be a combination of a train stop and a controllable signal.
If only my thesis could be done in Factorio …

mrtux
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 10:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Smart Train Stops

Post by mrtux » Fri Feb 06, 2015 12:27 pm

ssilk wrote:Possibilities to control the train stop are planned for 0.12.

See also https://forums.factorio.com/forum/vie ... ?f=3&t=678
and some FFF's.
I must have overlooked the part on train stops, sorry. Looking forward to 0.12 then. :)
If only my thesis could be done in Factorio …

MF-
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1235
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 12:07 am
Contact:

Re: Smart Train Stops

Post by MF- » Sat Feb 07, 2015 3:28 pm

There is/was a mod that can do it by JLBShecky
https://forums.factorio.com/forum/vie ... 927#p49835

Unfortunately it wasn't updated to use the new "train changed state" events and relies on a timer.

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 10467
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Smart Train Stops

Post by ssilk » Sat Feb 07, 2015 3:42 pm

This morning I searched some mods:
https://forums.factorio.com/forum/vie ... =32&t=7480 SmartTrains 0.2.0 [0.11.5+] (Work in progress)
https://forums.factorio.com/forum/vie ... =32&t=8522 [MOD 0.11.x][WIP] Sensors 0.0.1 (Work in progress)
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

User avatar
cpy
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 763
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:34 am
Contact:

Re: Smart Train Stops

Post by cpy » Mon Feb 09, 2015 10:57 am

Uhh imagine logistic trains! :D

Post Reply

Return to “Ideas and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users