"Stacks" circuit mode for chests

Post your ideas and suggestions how to improve the game.

Moderator: ickputzdirwech

Post Reply
User avatar
leadraven
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 354
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2019 7:23 pm
Contact:

"Stacks" circuit mode for chests

Post by leadraven »

TL;DR
Chest circuit mode that sends stacks amount instead of items amount.
What ?
Currently chests have only one circuit mode : send full content info.
I suggest alternative mode : send content info per-stack instead of per-item.
Why ?
I'm designing circuit setup based on storage fullness regardless of stored items type, so I could blueprint it without customization.
Constant combinator with all potential stack sizes isn't a great solution.

User avatar
darkfrei
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2883
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 11:11 pm
Contact:

Re: "Stacks" circuit mode for chests

Post by darkfrei »

leadraven wrote:
Sat Feb 29, 2020 9:22 pm
TL;DR
Chest circuit mode that sends stacks amount instead of items amount.
What ?
Currently chests have only one circuit mode : send full content info.
I suggest alternative mode : send content info per-stack instead of per-item.
Why ?
I'm designing circuit setup based on storage fullness regardless of stored items type, so I could blueprint it without customization.
Constant combinator with all potential stack sizes isn't a great solution.
Is empty slots amount not enough?
https://mods.factorio.com/mod/EmptySlotsReader

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 12266
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: "Stacks" circuit mode for chests

Post by ssilk »

Or https://mods.factorio.com/mod/StackSizeCombinator

It’s for 0.17, but I think that should be upgradeable “by hand” (normally need to upgrade the version number in info.json). Not tested, so you can blame me. ;)
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

User avatar
leadraven
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 354
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2019 7:23 pm
Contact:

Re: "Stacks" circuit mode for chests

Post by leadraven »

ssilk wrote:
Sun Mar 01, 2020 6:36 am
Or https://mods.factorio.com/mod/StackSizeCombinator

It’s for 0.17, but I think that should be upgradeable “by hand” (normally need to upgrade the version number in info.json). Not tested, so you can blame me. ;)
This one is better, thx.
But suggestion is still relevant.

Post Reply

Return to “Ideas and Suggestions”