not able to place train stop in an inclined track

Post your ideas and suggestions how to improve the game.

Moderator: ickputzdirwech

Post Reply
varundevan
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 152
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2020 4:41 am
Contact:

not able to place train stop in an inclined track

Post by varundevan »

hi,

It is not possible to place a train stop if the track is inclined, say at 45 deg angle.(even though if the track is straight).
The track has to be either horizontal or vertical (either 180 or 90 degrees) for us to place the train stop.
Is there a particular reason.

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 12084
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: not able to place train stop in an inclined track

Post by ssilk »

Yes, many reasons. Simplest: on a diagonal track the wagons won’t fit to the tiles, because the train is 1/sqrt(2) shorter.
Take it as part of the puzzle.
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

varundevan
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 152
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2020 4:41 am
Contact:

Re: not able to place train stop in an inclined track

Post by varundevan »

ssilk wrote:
Thu Jan 30, 2020 4:49 pm
Yes, many reasons. Simplest: on a diagonal track the wagons won’t fit to the tiles, because the train is 1/sqrt(2) shorter.
Take it as part of the puzzle.
i believe you are mentioning about a pythagoras, but i do not understand how the problem presents itself. You can manually drive a train and stop in a diagonal track, we can have a signal there.
BUT ,
if you want to unload and load things , every item of the game has to be able to rotate .. at least the logistics ones. That seems to a little extra work ..
even the belts and pipes are able to be laid out only in horizontal or vertical direction, at my first glance when i tried to lay down pipe diagonally , i could not , it took form of steps (like a staircase).

Most people are fine with the way it is now , i believe.
But, having an option to place things diagonally would create possibilities for optimization. Just my personal opinion.

Olacken
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2019 1:37 pm
Contact:

Re: not able to place train stop in an inclined track

Post by Olacken »

I do believe you wan't the game to be redone from scratch.
If you don't understand why I say that you should ask yourself why is the track the one and only thing that you can put down diagonally

Also as why pythagoras is an answer is because then the size of wagon doesn't match with the size of a tile(diagonally)

varundevan
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 152
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2020 4:41 am
Contact:

Re: not able to place train stop in an inclined track

Post by varundevan »

hmm ... ok ..
Thanks for the explanation

Post Reply

Return to “Ideas and Suggestions”