Trains: Chain signals should factor in the length of the train

Post your ideas and suggestions how to improve the game.
mrvn
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3734
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:10 am
Contact:

Re: Trains: Chain signals should factor in the length of the train

Post by mrvn » Thu Sep 12, 2019 5:37 pm

Please stay on topic. If you want something else make a new suggestion or add to the existing ones for other signal types.

JimBarracus
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 228
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 9:14 am
Contact:

Re: Trains: Chain signals should factor in the length of the train

Post by JimBarracus » Fri Sep 13, 2019 5:11 am

mrvn wrote:
Thu Sep 12, 2019 11:51 am
It's not about fixing design mistakes.
It is. Its not that hard to rework at least the part of the track which this larger train would usually take.
Anyway its extra bad design, when a train has to wait on the first block after a junction.
mrvn wrote:
Thu Sep 12, 2019 11:51 am
The suggestion is about having the train network just become inefficient for trains larger than it was build for rather than grid lock. You don't want to have to rebuild your whole factory because later in the game you need longer trains for only some goods like ores or plates. It's about keeping the train network expandable.
I think thats what the game is about. You can scale your design to a certain size but then it becomes inefficient.
Maybe it would be a better idea to use two trains in the first place.

Adding no-brainer elements doesnt make the game better. It just benefits lazyness to rework or build a suited rail system for your needs.

User avatar
planetmaker
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2019 9:30 am
Contact:

Re: Trains: Chain signals should factor in the length of the train

Post by planetmaker » Fri Sep 13, 2019 8:18 am

JimBarracus wrote:
Fri Sep 13, 2019 5:11 am
I think thats what the game is about. You can scale your design to a certain size but then it becomes inefficient.
Maybe it would be a better idea to use two trains in the first place.

Adding no-brainer elements doesnt make the game better. It just benefits lazyness to rework or build a suited rail system for your needs.
Well said!

(And I don't understand why I cannot build my (initial) rail system such that it can be expanded to fit my future needs, too - without complete deconstruction.)

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 10555
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Trains: Chain signals should factor in the length of the train

Post by ssilk » Fri Sep 13, 2019 11:29 pm

Then I would say: Try to understand why it is not.

Hint: Any system - a railway, a telephone system, a webserver, whatever - can only be scaled up to a certain point. If you reach that point you need a new system.
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

User avatar
planetmaker
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2019 9:30 am
Contact:

Re: Trains: Chain signals should factor in the length of the train

Post by planetmaker » Sat Sep 14, 2019 5:44 am

ssilk wrote:
Fri Sep 13, 2019 11:29 pm
Then I would say: Try to understand why it is not.

Hint: Any system - a railway, a telephone system, a webserver, whatever - can only be scaled up to a certain point. If you reach that point you need a new system.
Thanks, that's exactly the point I tried to make. But I notice that I phrased my reply such that my intent is conveyed badly.

mrvn
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3734
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:10 am
Contact:

Re: Trains: Chain signals should factor in the length of the train

Post by mrvn » Sat Sep 14, 2019 6:49 am

ssilk wrote:
Fri Sep 13, 2019 11:29 pm
Then I would say: Try to understand why it is not.

Hint: Any system - a railway, a telephone system, a webserver, whatever - can only be scaled up to a certain point. If you reach that point you need a new system.
I know why it's not.

Point is that as is it is impossible to build a system that's efficient for both long and short trains.

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 10555
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Trains: Chain signals should factor in the length of the train

Post by ssilk » Mon Sep 16, 2019 5:09 pm

mrvn wrote:
Sat Sep 14, 2019 6:49 am
I know why it's not.

Point is that as is it is impossible to build a system that's efficient for both long and short trains.
:)

I would say: It's really easy to drive a small train on a system that's made for long trains. But it's hard (and sometimes impossible) to drive many long trains on a system designed for short trains.
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

mrvn
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3734
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:10 am
Contact:

Re: Trains: Chain signals should factor in the length of the train

Post by mrvn » Thu Sep 19, 2019 10:38 am

ssilk wrote:
Mon Sep 16, 2019 5:09 pm
mrvn wrote:
Sat Sep 14, 2019 6:49 am
I know why it's not.

Point is that as is it is impossible to build a system that's efficient for both long and short trains.
:)

I would say: It's really easy to drive a small train on a system that's made for long trains. But it's hard (and sometimes impossible) to drive many long trains on a system designed for short trains.
Sure, the small train just behaves like a long train with some invisible and weightless train cars. And having a LC train behave like LLLLLLLCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCC is really inefficient.

Post Reply

Return to “Ideas and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users