Allow the "Q" picker over the "Crafting" items to select a ghost

Post your ideas and suggestions how to improve the game.
Post Reply
doktorstick
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 140
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2016 10:22 pm
Contact:

Allow the "Q" picker over the "Crafting" items to select a ghost

Post by doktorstick »

Howdy. Often I don't have items and want to place ghosts to be placed by robots in the network. My current choices are:

1) Craft the item and then place ghosts;
2) Scroll around radar range and find the items, CTRL-C and place them;
3) Add them to my "Logistics", wait for the items to be delivered, place them, and then delete them from "Logistics"; or
4) LEFT-CLICK empty hotbar and assign the items, click on them to create the ghosts, place them and MIDDLE-CLICK to remove.

I'm suggesting a much simpler approach--allow selecting an item as a ghost from the "Crafting" menu, preferably by using the "Q" key.
Last edited by doktorstick on Thu Aug 01, 2019 12:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Hacked Splitters - the mod prophesied to bring balance to the belts

User avatar
Jon8RFC
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 487
Joined: Tue May 10, 2016 3:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Allow the "Q" picker over the "Crafting" items to select a ghost

Post by Jon8RFC »

Yep, this would be a great QOL improvement.
Image

FuryoftheStars
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 389
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2017 2:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Allow the "Q" picker over the "Crafting" items to select a ghost

Post by FuryoftheStars »

You can actually set an item on the hotbar even if you don't have it (click an empty slot or middle-click to clear a filled one). Then, in the settings somewhere, is an option that I believe is off by default that will let you use those items from the hotbar to place ghosts even if you don't have one.

doktorstick
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 140
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2016 10:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Allow the "Q" picker over the "Crafting" items to select a ghost

Post by doktorstick »

FuryoftheStars wrote:
Wed Jul 31, 2019 1:52 pm
You can actually set an item on the hotbar even if you don't have it (click an empty slot or middle-click to clear a filled one). Then, in the settings somewhere, is an option that I believe is off by default that will let you use those items from the hotbar to place ghosts even if you don't have one.
Yes, that's my #4... :roll:
Hacked Splitters - the mod prophesied to bring balance to the belts

wobbycarly
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 96
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2019 4:00 am
Contact:

Re: Allow the "Q" picker over the "Crafting" items to select a ghost

Post by wobbycarly »

This setting already exists in 0.17
Factorio settings.png
Factorio settings.png (324.95 KiB) Viewed 354 times

User avatar
BlueTemplar
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2126
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2018 2:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Allow the "Q" picker over the "Crafting" items to select a ghost

Post by BlueTemplar »

Nope, that's #4 again...

doktorstick
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 140
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2016 10:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Allow the "Q" picker over the "Crafting" items to select a ghost

Post by doktorstick »

wobbycarly wrote:
Thu Aug 01, 2019 11:04 am
This setting already exists in 0.17
As BlueTemplar said, that setting allows #4 to work. It does not allow you to select an item from the "Crafting" menu as a ghost.
Hacked Splitters - the mod prophesied to bring balance to the belts

User avatar
Oktokolo
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 855
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2017 5:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Allow the "Q" picker over the "Crafting" items to select a ghost

Post by Oktokolo »

+1 for enabling direct selection of entity ghost from crafting menu/grid.

ichVII
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2017 10:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Allow the "Q" picker over the "Crafting" items to select a ghost

Post by ichVII »

Oktokolo wrote:
Thu Aug 01, 2019 12:22 pm
+1 for enabling direct selection of entity ghost from crafting menu/grid.
+1. I agree 100%

User avatar
<NO_NAME>
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 270
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2016 9:52 am
Contact:

Re: Allow the "Q" picker over the "Crafting" items to select a ghost

Post by <NO_NAME> »

I support this notion!
I am a translator. And what did you do for Factorio?
Check out my mod "Realistic Ores" and my other mods!

conn11
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 259
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2016 5:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Allow the "Q" picker over the "Crafting" items to select a ghost

Post by conn11 »

Nice QoL suggestions, although I use the hotbars regularly, I often want to pick a more seldomly used item without setting to many practically useless filters. The crafting menu gets useless anyways sometime in midgame, so why don’t keep some functionality.
The option should be to toggleable by the above mentioned enable ghost picking

Post Reply

Return to “Ideas and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users