better UX for temporary train stations

Post your ideas and suggestions how to improve the game.
Post Reply
quinor
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 394
Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2013 3:07 pm
Contact:

better UX for temporary train stations

Post by quinor »

A very simple one.
TL;DR
Allow to make temporary train stop from the main map (hotkey "m")

What ?
In .17 one can open train's gui and on the map ctrl-click on a piece of rail to make the train go to a temporary stop. It would be nice to have the same option from the "main" map. It would work only if the player is currently riding a train and would be equivalent to doing the same action in the train's gui.
Why ?
Player often looks up the map under the handy hotkey "m". It's annoying to open *another* map (and one without a hotkey too) to "fast-travel" while in a personal train.



EDIT:
Updated to the template.

cid0rz
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 85
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 5:52 pm
Contact:

Re: better UX for temporary train stations

Post by cid0rz »

yes plz

TheUnknown007
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun May 03, 2015 9:17 pm
Contact:

Re: better UX for temporary train stations

Post by TheUnknown007 »

I'd really like this, it would greatly improve on my current workflow:
1. Enter train.
2. Open map with M (I need a map to choose my destination, so I press M to open the map)
3. Navigate to destination on map
4. ctrl + click
5. [Nothing happens]
6. Realise I need to do this in train GUI
7. Press M / Q to close map
8. Click train to open GUI.
9. Navigate to destination on map in train GUI
10. ctrl + click

I seriously doubt that I have done this right the first time even once, the "press M to open map" is really strong.
Now that I am thinking about it, ctrl + click while in a spidertron would also be nice.

Post Reply

Return to “Ideas and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ranakastrasz, ssilk