[0.17] Reorganize Research Queue

Post your ideas and suggestions how to improve the game.
iLubFactorio
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2018 8:27 am
Contact:

[0.17.1] Please improve the new Research Queue

Post by iLubFactorio »

Hi Factorio Devs

can you please make the new research queue draggable, so players can reorder it? Sometimes things come up (especially with mods like Bob's or Angel's) where you want to reorder or priorize some research, but not lose the whole queue for that.

Thanks in advance

User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 7198
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.17.1] Please improve the new Research Queue

Post by bobingabout »

I must admit, this is a feature that I'd find useful

One of the things I kept doing during my testing was...
cancel current research
add toolbelt research 4
add even more toolbelt research
add current research back on the end.

if I could just queue up all the new stuff, like toolbelt in this case, then drag the existing one to the end instead of having to cancel and re-add it, that would be brilliant.
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.
I also have a Patreon.

Tarradax
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2016 1:44 pm
Contact:

[0.17] Reorganize Research Queue

Post by Tarradax »

Fairly straightforward suggestion/feature request here: With the research queue enabled from the start of the game, I'd like to have an option to reorganize things I have queued up. Either by drag-drop or by having arrows to the side of each research queued to move it left/right.

User avatar
JaJe
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2019 6:48 pm
Contact:

[0.17.x] Change Research queue order

Post by JaJe »

Hello!
As pic below I think we need a drag&drop option to change the order of queue research list in case I change my mind instead of delete the list and redo from begin.

Thank you.

Image

durzolr
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2018 8:45 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.17.x] Change Research queue order

Post by durzolr »

I was coming on here to post this exact thing. I have a queue set up, but either I forgot something in my O.o.O. or a new pressing matter (like aliens) have changed my priorities. being able to queue up the new thing you need and drop it in its proper place in line (probably the front) would be wondervoll.

ikarikeiji
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2015 6:28 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.17] Reorganize Research Queue

Post by ikarikeiji »

+1 for drag and drop, I tried to do this already.

Not so keen on having arrow buttons on every item, that would look cluttered imo.

User avatar
CDarklock
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 341
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2017 2:17 am
Contact:

Re: [0.17] Reorganize Research Queue

Post by CDarklock »

So much this.

Yenz
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2017 9:16 am
Contact:

Re: [0.17] Reorganize Research Queue

Post by Yenz »

I also wanted to suggest this :)
Of course you should not be able to arrange the queue in a way that should not work (e.g. moving a prerequisite after a following tech).

Yenz
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2017 9:16 am
Contact:

Re: [0.17.x] Change Research queue order

Post by Yenz »

duplicate of 65453

Koub
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 5570
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:54 am
Contact:

Re: [0.17] Reorganize Research Queue

Post by Koub »

[Koub] Merged both similar suggestions.
Koub - Please consider English is not my native language.

RexTheCapt
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2016 3:57 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.17] Reorganize Research Queue

Post by RexTheCapt »

The queue needs to be able to be rearranged!

Koub
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 5570
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:54 am
Contact:

Re: [0.17] Reorganize Research Queue

Post by Koub »

[Koub] Merged into older topic with same suggestion.
Koub - Please consider English is not my native language.

User avatar
nemostein
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 8:39 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.17] Reorganize Research Queue

Post by nemostein »

Agreed... This is in my wish list for the new tech tree window.
"I'd say the main bottleneck is sleep." - AndrewIRL

User avatar
SeigneurAo
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2016 11:13 am
Contact:

Re: [0.17] Reorganize Research Queue

Post by SeigneurAo »

Drag & drop in research queue, exactly what I came here to post, so it's a big +1 !

User avatar
Optera
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2637
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2016 6:41 am
Contact:

Re: [0.17] Reorganize Research Queue

Post by Optera »

The new research gui really feels like the queue should be longer, at least 10 researches, and allow reordering by dragging.

ikarikeiji
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2015 6:28 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.17] Reorganize Research Queue

Post by ikarikeiji »

There's really no reason it shouldn't allow as many researches queued up as you want, if it had a horizontal scrollbar.

IronCartographer
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 387
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2016 2:07 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.17] Reorganize Research Queue

Post by IronCartographer »

+1

That is all.

Zool
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2015 6:55 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.17] Reorganize Research Queue

Post by Zool »

+1337

glee8e
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 7:26 am
Contact:

Re: [0.17] Reorganize Research Queue

Post by glee8e »

+1
I see you guys already implemented drag and drop in rail guis, so I guess you have already got the fundations up running? Time to apply that to research queue too!

User avatar
planetmaker
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 179
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2019 9:30 am
Contact:

Research queue: allow re-order

Post by planetmaker »

When the research queue is enabled, it happens - especially in multiplayer - that the queued techs are re-prioritized, thus re-ordered.

It would be a nice GUI improvement if I could re-order the already queued techs by simple drag & drop in the research window
Attachments
Bildschirmfoto von 2019-08-11 08-40-09.png
Bildschirmfoto von 2019-08-11 08-40-09.png (780.04 KiB) Viewed 1020 times

Post Reply

Return to “Ideas and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users