Page 1 of 1

There are no trains

Posted: Sat Sep 15, 2018 1:28 pm
by Amarula
Every time you place a train stop, the menu for the new stop says "There are no trains". This was driving me crazy as I had lots of trains! I eventually figured out this means "No trains are currently assigned to stop here." Even "this stop has no trains" would be better.

And my morning chuckle when I searched to see if this has already been reported:
Screenshot from 2018-09-15 09-26-49.png
Screenshot from 2018-09-15 09-26-49.png (19.52 KiB) Viewed 630 times
[Edit: I told my husband about the search; he said it is obvious that the search would not report any results, because "There are no trains!!!"]

Re: There are no trains

Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 5:04 pm
by CJ5Boss
That's kinda funny, never really noticed that before.

Re: There are no trains

Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 6:01 pm
by steinio
All your trains belong to us.

Re: There are no trains

Posted: Fri Jan 11, 2019 9:55 am
by bobingabout
There is no spoon.



but yeah, a better message could be used. With 0.17 around the corner, this is probably an ideal time for that to happen too.

Re: There are no trains

Posted: Fri Jan 11, 2019 10:20 am
by Oktokolo
The real bug is that the forum search ignored the most important word of your query.
I always wondered why forum search in general has to suck that hard. The problem is not specific to Factorio or gaming forums. You can go to any forum on the internets and their search function will just suck hard. Forum search seems to always get that extra shot in the head...

Re: There are no trains

Posted: Fri Jan 11, 2019 10:35 am
by Loewchen
Oktokolo wrote:
Fri Jan 11, 2019 10:20 am
The real bug is that the forum search ignored the most important word of your query.
I always wondered why forum search in general has to suck that hard. The problem is not specific to Factorio or gaming forums. You can go to any forum on the internets and their search function will just suck hard. Forum search seems to always get that extra shot in the head...
The search only worked like this for two days, now every word larger than two characters is indexed. Searching is usually bad because it takes a huge amount of computation to fulfil only a single users request.

Re: There are no trains

Posted: Fri Jan 11, 2019 10:52 am
by Zavian
Getting back on topic,
Amarula wrote:
Sat Sep 15, 2018 1:28 pm
Every time you place a train stop, the menu for the new stop says "There are no trains". This was driving me crazy as I had lots of trains! I eventually figured out this means "No trains are currently assigned to stop here." Even "this stop has no trains" would be better.
+1 to fixing the wording.
My suggestion "there are no trains assigned to stop here."

Re: There are no trains

Posted: Fri Jan 11, 2019 11:00 am
by Bilka
Right now it is "this stop has no trains", I wanted to keep it short.

Re: There are no trains

Posted: Fri Jan 11, 2019 3:47 pm
by Amarula
Bilka wrote:
Fri Jan 11, 2019 11:00 am
Right now it is "this stop has no trains", I wanted to keep it short.
Thank you Bilka! As Yoda would say: trains there are no, but totally awesome you are ;-)

Re: There are no trains

Posted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 9:47 am
by bobingabout
Amarula wrote:
Fri Jan 11, 2019 3:47 pm
Bilka wrote:
Fri Jan 11, 2019 11:00 am
Right now it is "this stop has no trains", I wanted to keep it short.
Thank you Bilka! As Yoda would say: trains there are no, but totally awesome you are ;-)
Yoda's sentence structure might seem odd to use English speakers, but consider that other languages have different sentence structures, and it doesn't feel that odd. You can just assume that whatever his native language is uses a structure different to ours.