wanted: keyboard shortcut to toggle train manual/automatic

Post your ideas and suggestions how to improve the game.
Post Reply
vanatteveldt
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 919
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2015 11:44 am
Contact:

wanted: keyboard shortcut to toggle train manual/automatic

Post by vanatteveldt » Thu May 04, 2017 9:33 am

I use trains a lot to get around my base. I often have a special 'passenger' train. I have a number of goto stations in the schedule so I can easily tell it to go (or come) to a specific station, but I also often ride it manually, e.g. to inspect a section of wall or to go to a new outpost.

It would be very helpful if there were a shortcut key to toggle a train between manual and automatic mode, or alternatively to switch a train to manual mode if you press forward/backward (instead of ignoring the keypress because the train is in automatic mode).

Slayn25
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 123
Joined: Sun May 15, 2016 5:59 pm
Contact:

Re: wanted: keyboard shortcut to toggle train manual/automatic

Post by Slayn25 » Thu May 04, 2017 7:16 pm

+1

Recommend Tab or Q by default.

User avatar
steinio
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2236
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2016 4:19 pm
Contact:

Re: wanted: keyboard shortcut to toggle train manual/automatic

Post by steinio » Thu May 04, 2017 7:20 pm

Tab is for switching weapons, Q has already 25 functions in this game.

Honk (viewtopic.php?f=92&t=21623) uses key J for that.

Greetings, steinio.
Image
Transport Belt Repair Man
My little mods: Link | My favourite mods: Bob's Mods | Angel's Mods | Yuoki Railway Core | EvoGUI | Logistic Train Network
Factorio Cheat Sheet by Denis Zholob

View unread Posts

Slayn25
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 123
Joined: Sun May 15, 2016 5:59 pm
Contact:

Re: wanted: keyboard shortcut to toggle train manual/automatic

Post by Slayn25 » Thu May 04, 2017 8:55 pm

steinio wrote:Tab is for switching weapons, Q has already 25 functions in this game.

Honk (viewtopic.php?f=92&t=21623) uses key J for that.

Greetings, steinio.
Tab would work for both because you aren't using weapons while in a train.

User avatar
steinio
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2236
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2016 4:19 pm
Contact:

Re: wanted: keyboard shortcut to toggle train manual/automatic

Post by steinio » Thu May 04, 2017 8:57 pm

Slayn25 wrote:
steinio wrote:Tab is for switching weapons, Q has already 25 functions in this game.

Honk (viewtopic.php?f=92&t=21623) uses key J for that.

Greetings, steinio.
Tab would work for both because you aren't using weapons while in a train.
I must admit that you're right.
Image
Transport Belt Repair Man
My little mods: Link | My favourite mods: Bob's Mods | Angel's Mods | Yuoki Railway Core | EvoGUI | Logistic Train Network
Factorio Cheat Sheet by Denis Zholob

View unread Posts

BenSeidel
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 545
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2016 1:44 am
Contact:

Re: wanted: keyboard shortcut to toggle train manual/automatic

Post by BenSeidel » Fri May 05, 2017 3:13 am

It would be useful if the functionality was available when you weren't in a train as well. turning trains (or some trains) on and off en masse is a long and tedious job. If you could press a button while hovering over them in either the world map, train menu, train stop menu or in the player view it would be awesome.

basementjack
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2016 11:31 pm
Contact:

Keyboard hotkey to toggle Auto/manual engine control

Post by basementjack » Sat May 19, 2018 9:54 pm

Can you please add a hotkey we can hit from the keyboard to switch the train from Auto to Manual mode?

While most trains are 'hands off' I frequently take a "work train" somewhere.

On the "work train" I frequently toggle from Manual to auto or auto to manual.

Since we already use the keyboard to walk to the train and hit enter on they keyboard to enter the engine, it would be nice to be able to hit control/command-t to toggle it into manual mode and drive off with it.

Thanks!

- Jack

boksiora
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 96
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2016 7:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Keyboard hotkey to toggle Auto/manual engine control

Post by boksiora » Sun Aug 05, 2018 4:12 pm

Is it any ?

Am0rphus
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2019 11:25 pm
Contact:

Hotkey for toggling auto/manual movement on trains

Post by Am0rphus » Mon Aug 12, 2019 8:56 pm

Hello,

I feel that the above would be a great feature because you can quickly click on a train with the hotkey held and disable or enable it's movements. It get's tiresome having to click on the train and then having to tick the small slider up top. If we had a hotkey to toggle that then we wouldn't have to do that.

Koub
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4969
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:54 am
Contact:

Re: Keyboard hotkey to toggle Auto/manual engine control

Post by Koub » Mon Aug 12, 2019 9:57 pm

[Koub] Merged with older suggestion.
Koub - Please consider English is not my native language.

Post Reply

Return to “Ideas and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users