Add a progress bar for "Check for updates" under mods

Post your ideas and suggestions how to improve the game.

Moderator: ickputzdirwech

Post Reply
Peter34
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1097
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 12:44 pm
Contact:

Add a progress bar for "Check for updates" under mods

Post by Peter34 »

As it is now, I click the button, and then Factorio freezes. For a number of seconds. An unknown number of seconds. Might be 3. Might be 30. Or 50. I get no information about the progress of this process. When it's finished, I get no formal notification whatsoever. I have to manually notice that the "Update mods" button has become enabled.

Suggestions:
1. Add some kind of percentage progress readout, or a progress bar, or even a small "old skool"-type log of the process of the Factorio program contacting the mod portal's server to ask if any of the installed mods are updated.
2. If any updates are found, say that out loud, on the screen. Instead of just enabling a button that was previously disabled.

Peter34
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1097
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 12:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Add a progress bar for "Check for updates" under mods

Post by Peter34 »

Heck, taie it one step further, and also add a button to automate the entire process: "Click here to check for mods. If any are found, your program will automatically update and then re-start."

I can then click that button, and go AFK, come back 5 minutes later, ready to play.

QGamer
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 207
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2017 9:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Add a progress bar for "Check for updates" under mods

Post by QGamer »

Yes! Please!

At the very least, when the checking is all done, print the word "Finished!" onscreen. We need some type of user feedback.

The first time I pressed the button, I wasn't sure if the game had stopped working, or what had gone wrong...

Peter34
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1097
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 12:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Add a progress bar for "Check for updates" under mods

Post by Peter34 »

No one else likes my suggestion?

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 11928
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: Add a progress bar for "Check for updates" under mods

Post by Rseding91 »

The way "check for updates" works the game is at 0% and then immediately jumps to 100% so a progress bar wouldn't help at all.

All of the time is spent waiting for the server to respond - not doing any local processing/downloading information.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

torne
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 322
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2017 11:54 am
Contact:

Re: Add a progress bar for "Check for updates" under mods

Post by torne »

It would still be helpful if the UI indicated that an operation was in progress though - just a dialog saying "Checking..." or something would be enough :)

Peter34
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1097
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 12:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Add a progress bar for "Check for updates" under mods

Post by Peter34 »

torne wrote:It would still be helpful if the UI indicated that an operation was in progress though - just a dialog saying "Checking..." or something would be enough :)
Also that it more clearly indicates when the operation is finished.

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 11928
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: Add a progress bar for "Check for updates" under mods

Post by Rseding91 »

The real fix is to make the server not garbage :P (which should hopefully be happening soon... ish)
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

QGamer
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 207
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2017 9:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Add a progress bar for "Check for updates" under mods

Post by QGamer »

Hmmm. Still, there needs to be some feedback. If there are updates, you could tell us how many: "3 updates available."

Or if there are no updates: "You're already up to date!"

Peter34
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1097
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 12:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Add a progress bar for "Check for updates" under mods

Post by Peter34 »

QGamer wrote:Hmmm. Still, there needs to be some feedback. If there are updates, you could tell us how many: "3 updates available."

Or if there are no updates: "You're already up to date!"
Yes. Anything. As opposed to the nothing we have now.

Post Reply

Return to “Ideas and Suggestions”