Page 1 of 1

Allow speaker instrument to be set based on circuit signal

Posted: Mon May 15, 2017 7:13 pm
by lindenk
TL;DR
Allow a speaker's instrument to be set based on a given circuit signal.

What ?
Hello!

Currently, we can set the note to be played on a speaker by a circuit signal but not the instrument. This suggestion is to also allow the instrument to be set in a similar way.

As far as specifics go, having it work by first checking a box on the speaker entity to enable 'Instrument controlled by signal', then selecting the signal to use for the instrument. Similar to how notes work, have the value of the signal be the instrument number in the instrument dropdown.
Why ?
I want to create a radio blueprint that can play a song from a network without annoying everyone on the server :D

Re: Allow speaker instrument to be set based on circuit signal

Posted: Wed May 17, 2017 4:37 pm
by ssilk
What does prevent you to build some speakers with different instruments and split the signals to that speakers by combinators?

Re: Allow speaker instrument to be set based on circuit signal

Posted: Thu Jun 01, 2017 9:05 pm
by lindenk
Nothing, but it would make it virtually impossible to multiplex a bunch of songs if they can't specify their instruments.

Say I have 3 sets of combinators that output notes on signals 0->4 with note values for each speaker. If I could set the instruments with each song, I could also have signals, say 5->9, define the instrument of each speaker respectively. This way, I could just filter out all but the currently playing song based on another condition and send that over a distance to speakers around the base.

Code: Select all

 ----------    --------- 
|   Song1  |  |  Song2  |
 ----------    --------- 
signals |   signals | 
   0->9 |      0->9 |
        <song select>
              o
              o  o  o  o  o  o  o  o  o  o  o  o  o ...
              o                       o
   ------------------       ------------------
  |  Poll + speakers |     |  Poll + speakers |
   ------------------       ------------------
Thinking about it, a volume control might also be useful...

Re: Allow speaker instrument to be set based on circuit signal

Posted: Fri Jun 02, 2017 6:19 am
by Roxor128
Oh, this is a subset of a thread I started just recently: viewtopic.php?f=6&t=49110

Mine is a little more general in that it asks for both volume and instruments to be able to be set via circuit signals.

Lots and lots of pieces use volume changes, which makes finding candidates for conversion a tad difficult.

Re: Allow speaker instrument to be set based on circuit signal

Posted: Wed Jun 21, 2017 10:08 pm
by ssilk
Well, when compared now, this idea (new signal type) seems to be better/simpler.