wanted: keyboard shortcut to toggle train manual/automatic

Post your ideas and suggestions how to improve the game.

Moderator: ickputzdirwech

vanatteveldt
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 941
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2015 11:44 am
Contact:

wanted: keyboard shortcut to toggle train manual/automatic

Post by vanatteveldt »

I use trains a lot to get around my base. I often have a special 'passenger' train. I have a number of goto stations in the schedule so I can easily tell it to go (or come) to a specific station, but I also often ride it manually, e.g. to inspect a section of wall or to go to a new outpost.

It would be very helpful if there were a shortcut key to toggle a train between manual and automatic mode, or alternatively to switch a train to manual mode if you press forward/backward (instead of ignoring the keypress because the train is in automatic mode).

Slayn25
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 124
Joined: Sun May 15, 2016 5:59 pm
Contact:

Re: wanted: keyboard shortcut to toggle train manual/automatic

Post by Slayn25 »

+1

Recommend Tab or Q by default.

User avatar
steinio
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2601
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2016 4:19 pm
Contact:

Re: wanted: keyboard shortcut to toggle train manual/automatic

Post by steinio »

Tab is for switching weapons, Q has already 25 functions in this game.

Honk (viewtopic.php?f=92&t=21623) uses key J for that.

Greetings, steinio.
Image
Transport Belt Repair Man

View unread Posts

Slayn25
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 124
Joined: Sun May 15, 2016 5:59 pm
Contact:

Re: wanted: keyboard shortcut to toggle train manual/automatic

Post by Slayn25 »

steinio wrote:Tab is for switching weapons, Q has already 25 functions in this game.

Honk (viewtopic.php?f=92&t=21623) uses key J for that.

Greetings, steinio.
Tab would work for both because you aren't using weapons while in a train.

User avatar
steinio
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2601
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2016 4:19 pm
Contact:

Re: wanted: keyboard shortcut to toggle train manual/automatic

Post by steinio »

Slayn25 wrote:
steinio wrote:Tab is for switching weapons, Q has already 25 functions in this game.

Honk (viewtopic.php?f=92&t=21623) uses key J for that.

Greetings, steinio.
Tab would work for both because you aren't using weapons while in a train.
I must admit that you're right.
Image
Transport Belt Repair Man

View unread Posts

BenSeidel
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 581
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2016 1:44 am
Contact:

Re: wanted: keyboard shortcut to toggle train manual/automatic

Post by BenSeidel »

It would be useful if the functionality was available when you weren't in a train as well. turning trains (or some trains) on and off en masse is a long and tedious job. If you could press a button while hovering over them in either the world map, train menu, train stop menu or in the player view it would be awesome.

basementjack
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2016 11:31 pm
Contact:

Keyboard hotkey to toggle Auto/manual engine control

Post by basementjack »

Can you please add a hotkey we can hit from the keyboard to switch the train from Auto to Manual mode?

While most trains are 'hands off' I frequently take a "work train" somewhere.

On the "work train" I frequently toggle from Manual to auto or auto to manual.

Since we already use the keyboard to walk to the train and hit enter on they keyboard to enter the engine, it would be nice to be able to hit control/command-t to toggle it into manual mode and drive off with it.

Thanks!

- Jack

boksiora
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2016 7:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Keyboard hotkey to toggle Auto/manual engine control

Post by boksiora »

Is it any ?

Am0rphus
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2019 11:25 pm
Contact:

Hotkey for toggling auto/manual movement on trains

Post by Am0rphus »

Hello,

I feel that the above would be a great feature because you can quickly click on a train with the hotkey held and disable or enable it's movements. It get's tiresome having to click on the train and then having to tick the small slider up top. If we had a hotkey to toggle that then we wouldn't have to do that.

Koub
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 6727
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:54 am
Contact:

Re: Keyboard hotkey to toggle Auto/manual engine control

Post by Koub »

[Koub] Merged with older suggestion.
Koub - Please consider English is not my native language.

sowieso
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat May 06, 2017 3:21 am
Contact:

Re: wanted: keyboard shortcut to toggle train manual/automatic

Post by sowieso »

Is this integrated by now? I can't find it inside the settings.
This would be damn useful and should definitely be put on the to-polish-list for 1.0 ;)

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 12681
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: wanted: keyboard shortcut to toggle train manual/automatic

Post by ssilk »

See viewtopic.php?f=6&t=81442
There are also some mod-suggestions in that thread to do that.
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

User avatar
SackCFix
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun May 31, 2020 8:17 am
Contact:

Toggling Train-Mode without Train-Menu

Post by SackCFix »

TL;DR
Add a possibility to allow the Player to set a Hotkey to toggle Train Mode.
What ?
Add an Indicator next to Train-Icon when the Player is inside a Train and let the Player set that custom Hotkey to toggle between these Modes.
Train_Mode_2.jpg
Train_Mode_2.jpg (19.98 KiB) Viewed 2981 times
Train_Mode.jpg
Train_Mode.jpg (19.34 KiB) Viewed 2981 times
Why ?
Standing next to Rails in your Factory, hopping on a Train passing by with maximum Speed and then immediately gain Controll over that Train (no need to Open the GUI!) to do some high-class-engineer-driving! ...then hop-off and forget that the Train is still in manual ;)

Yes, this has been suggested before:
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=46308
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=81442

Yes, there are Mods (see linked Topics) for this but i think this should (in Honor for the Trains) be in the Basegame.

So is there a chance that this will be implemented "Someday"? Any Ideas on that?


Thank you for your precious Factorio-Time and sorry for these poor pics :D

Koub
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 6727
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:54 am
Contact:

Re: wanted: keyboard shortcut to toggle train manual/automatic

Post by Koub »

[Koub] Merged into older topic with same suggestion.
Koub - Please consider English is not my native language.

Skev
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2016 8:42 am
Contact:

Re: wanted: keyboard shortcut to toggle train manual/automatic

Post by Skev »

Slayn25 wrote:
Thu May 04, 2017 8:55 pm
steinio wrote:Tab is for switching weapons, Q has already 25 functions in this game.

Honk (viewtopic.php?f=92&t=21623) uses key J for that.

Greetings, steinio.
Tab would work for both because you aren't using weapons while in a train.
It's common to switch this setting while not IN the train.

azesmbog
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 190
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2019 12:05 pm
Contact:

Re: wanted: keyboard shortcut to toggle train manual/automatic

Post by azesmbog »

I very, very often use switching the train from auto to manual mode, so I would also use a hot key. I join the proposal.

tamanous
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 135
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2016 8:35 am
Contact:

Re: wanted: keyboard shortcut to toggle train manual/automatic

Post by tamanous »

+1

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 12681
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: wanted: keyboard shortcut to toggle train manual/automatic

Post by ssilk »

I copy from the linked article.

A mod that I can really recommend, because it feels quite natural in usage:
https://mods.factorio.com/mod/auto_manual_mode
Jump on train in automatic mode, move cursor: train auto mode stops.
Could be implemented 1:1 into Factorio. My opinion.

Also quite useful
https://mods.factorio.com/mod/TrainModeToggle
My opinion for vanilla: when in train or on a train window press ”j” to switch mode.

The implementation is relatively simple, we just need to take care to mods, that already use the j-key for something else. Gameplay values is high.

I repeat that link above, which is a very similar topic:
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=81442
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

evg-zhabotinsky
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2020 3:53 pm
Contact:

Re: wanted: keyboard shortcut to toggle train manual/automatic

Post by evg-zhabotinsky »

I think that F or C can be used for that hotkey. Both of them are close to V and G that are also used for trains. You normally don't shoot when inside a train, so C should be fine. F is now used to flip blueprints, but so is G, I don't think it is a problem.

User avatar
BrainlessTeddy
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun May 19, 2019 7:50 pm
Contact:

How about a shortcut for switching the train driving mode from manual to automatic.

Post by BrainlessTeddy »

It's not a big issue but also not that difficult to implement. Just don't have a vanilla assignment to not fuck up someones costum controls I guess.

The reason why I'd like that. Because it would make placing and turning large numbers of trains on (switching to automatic) much easier. Also you wouldn't need to open the train menu when riding one.
Please consider english is not my native language.

Post Reply

Return to “Ideas and Suggestions”