Rocket Launch by Circuit Condition

Post your ideas and suggestions how to improve the game.
Post Reply
Setha
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2015 1:28 am
Contact:

Rocket Launch by Circuit Condition

Post by Setha »

The automatic rocket launch is a nice addition, but after watching it's behaviour it seems that the rocket will always launch when ready.
It ignores the output for the rocket sciences, therefore if there are already 2k of Science present the rocket will launch for nothing which kind of kills the whole idea of automation...

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 11429
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Rocket Launch by Circuit Condition

Post by ssilk »

Seem, that you don't understand "automation" in the right sense. ;)
Of course it makes sense to automat that kind of lookup, before you add the satellite (automatically) to the rocket (and launch it automated).
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

sparr
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1234
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2014 5:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Rocket Launch by Circuit Condition

Post by sparr »

To be fair, every other entity that produces a resource will stop running and consuming inputs if its output slot is full. It would improve consistency for the rocket to not launch automatically at all if the science slot is full. I might even propose that this is a bug.

jonatkins
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 155
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2015 7:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Rocket Launch by Circuit Condition

Post by jonatkins »

As I understand it, it's working as designed.

You can stop a launch by circuit network as things stand in 0.15 - by controlling the inserter that places the satellite. Keep the satellite out - rocket won't launch.

sparr
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1234
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2014 5:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Rocket Launch by Circuit Condition

Post by sparr »

Forget about the rocket.

The silo is an assembler. It turns 100 rocket parts and 1 satellite into 1000 space science.

Normal assemblers refuse to run (consume inputs) if the output slot is full, even if there's a full set of input items available. The silo should, too, for consistency.

Roxor128
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 143
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2016 9:48 am
Contact:

Re: Rocket Launch by Circuit Condition

Post by Roxor128 »

sparr wrote:Forget about the rocket.

The silo is an assembler. It turns 100 rocket parts and 1 satellite into 1000 space science.

Normal assemblers refuse to run (consume inputs) if the output slot is full, even if there's a full set of input items available. The silo should, too, for consistency.
Fair point, but as an alternative, how about putting Space Science production in some other building? Like a satellite uplink station. Keep the silo just for launches and handle the science elsewhere. There's precedent in mods for this, too. Beyond has a landing pad which can receive titanium ore from an asteroid mining drill launched in the rocket, though there's unfortunately no landing animation to go with it. Among the things the titanium ore can be used to make include a Science Pack 4, though it hasn't been updated for v0.15 yet.

mattj256
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 203
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2016 7:25 am
Contact:

Re: Rocket Launch by Circuit Condition

Post by mattj256 »

sparr wrote:Forget about the rocket.

The silo is an assembler. It turns 100 rocket parts and 1 satellite into 1000 space science.

Normal assemblers refuse to run (consume inputs) if the output slot is full, even if there's a full set of input items available. The silo should, too, for consistency.
+1

ribsngibs
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2016 5:42 am
Contact:

Re: Rocket Launch by Circuit Condition

Post by ribsngibs »

Reviving this ancient suggestion:

I'm trying to automate spidertron construction (as in, make an N spidertron per minute factory. Why? Why not??), which necessitates automating fish production, which means automating rocket launches with space science packs in it.

Currently, with the "Auto-launch with cargo" option selected, the rocket will launch when the first space science pack is inserted (with a stack inserter I can get 12 space science packs in, which means 12 fish per launch). As far as I can tell there is no way to delay the launch until 100 space science packs are inserted: 1) the rocket silo cannot be connected to the circuit network, and 2) once the rocket is prepared, cutting power to the rocket silo will not prevent the rocket from launching once cargo is added (e.g. turning off the rocket silo via power switch before inserting science packs will still result in a rocket launch after the first science pack is added). 3) Having multiple stack inserters all adding science packs on exactly same tick still only results in 1 stack inserter delivering its packs before the rocket launches.

So, basically I can only get 12% of the fish per rocket launch than I originally calculated.

It would be nice if I could use the circuit network to wait for 100 science packs to be inserted before launching the rocket.

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 11429
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Rocket Launch by Circuit Condition

Post by ssilk »

This is simple: you can add 10 inserters around the rocket launch, each picks up science packs from a chest. Don’t forget to switch their max. stack size to 10 each, and control them all with a circuit. When launch signal is send, all 10 inserters move at once, put each 10 science pack in and so your rocket will have 100 science packs.
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

conn11
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 350
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2016 5:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Rocket Launch by Circuit Condition

Post by conn11 »

Firstly previously done test confirm your results. Having a delay between cargo insertion and launch would also do the trick. Povided enough inserters are in place. On the other hand not having full fish efficency might be an intended behaiviour.

conn11
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 350
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2016 5:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Rocket Launch by Circuit Condition

Post by conn11 »

ssilk wrote:
Sun Oct 18, 2020 2:17 pm
This is simple: you can add 10 inserters around the rocket launch, each picks up science packs from a chest. Don’t forget to switch their max. stack size to 10 each, and control them all with a circuit. When launch signal is send, all 10 inserters move at once, put each 10 science pack in and so your rocket will have 100 science packs.
Nope, it has been tested and wasn't achievable.
Try out this bp for yourself:


MassiveDynamic
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 162
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2018 10:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Rocket Launch by Circuit Condition

Post by MassiveDynamic »

I thought I knew how to play this game and I have read this entire thread 3 times and I still don’t understand what you guys are talking about.

Are you saying that you can send space science into space by placing it in the cargo slot and get fish as a result?

I know I can insert a satellite and get science packs, or insert a dish and get a thank you message, but sending science to space to get fish?

I thought the way to automate fishing is to deconstruct a lake with bots.

Can someone please explain what I am obviously ignorant to?

User avatar
ickputzdirwech
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 282
Joined: Sun May 07, 2017 10:16 am
Contact:

Re: Rocket Launch by Circuit Condition

Post by ickputzdirwech »

MassiveDynamic wrote:
Sun Oct 18, 2020 3:35 pm
Are you saying that you can send space science into space by placing it in the cargo slot and get fish as a result?
This is exactly what happens. It will give you one fish per space science pack, but only a maximum of one stack which is 100. The problem is that you can only semi automate this if you want to use it efficiently. Because the rocket will launch as soon as anything is inside and you can only insert 12 space science packs max with a stack inserter at a time. Using multiple inserters doesn't work. So you have to switch the rocket to manual launch.
MassiveDynamic wrote:
Sun Oct 18, 2020 3:35 pm
I thought the way to automate fishing is to deconstruct a lake with bots.
That's also only semi automatic since you still have to marc them for deconstruction yourself. Also fish don't respawn afaik. But since nobody (even on very large servers) would really need that much fish anyway the only real reason for the OPs suggestion to be implemented is that it would be pretty cool - a very good reason imo :D
Mods: Shortcuts for 1.0, ick's vanilla tweaks
Text quickly seems cold and unfriendly. Be careful how you write and interpret what others have written.
- A reminder for me and all who read what I write.

MassiveDynamic
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 162
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2018 10:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Rocket Launch by Circuit Condition

Post by MassiveDynamic »

Hmmm. Learned something new today. Thanks.

User avatar
AmericanPatriot
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 269
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2020 12:47 am
Contact:

Re: Rocket Launch by Circuit Condition

Post by AmericanPatriot »

Roxor128 wrote:
Tue May 02, 2017 8:36 am

Fair point, but as an alternative, how about putting Space Science production in some other building? Like a satellite uplink station. Keep the silo just for launches and handle the science elsewhere. There's precedent in mods for this, too. Beyond has a landing pad which can receive titanium ore from an asteroid mining drill launched in the rocket, though there's unfortunately no landing animation to go with it. Among the things the titanium ore can be used to make include a Science Pack 4, though it hasn't been updated for v0.15 yet.
I think of the satellite as doing the science and then transmitting the science back to Nauvis.
Sarcasm and insults are neither helpful nor appreciated; unless, of course, you are insulting a communist.
:D

ribsngibs
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2016 5:42 am
Contact:

Re: Rocket Launch by Circuit Condition

Post by ribsngibs »

ssilk wrote:
Sun Oct 18, 2020 2:17 pm
This is simple: you can add 10 inserters around the rocket launch, each picks up science packs from a chest. Don’t forget to switch their max. stack size to 10 each, and control them all with a circuit. When launch signal is send, all 10 inserters move at once, put each 10 science pack in and so your rocket will have 100 science packs.
This doesn't work - it's one of the things I tried (as I wrote in my post: "3) Having multiple stack inserters all adding science packs on exactly same tick still only results in 1 stack inserter delivering its packs before the rocket launches.")

One stack inserter will deliver its packs - the other stack inserters will not and stay stuck with their arms extended.

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 11429
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Rocket Launch by Circuit Condition

Post by ssilk »

Hm. Sorry. It sounded too simple when I was writing It. A reason to do more experimentation. :)
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

User avatar
KoblerMan
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 136
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2016 12:59 am
Contact:

Re: Rocket Launch by Circuit Condition

Post by KoblerMan »

jonatkins wrote:
Mon May 01, 2017 9:33 pm
As I understand it, it's working as designed.

You can stop a launch by circuit network as things stand in 0.15 - by controlling the inserter that places the satellite. Keep the satellite out - rocket won't launch.
Sure, but this is sub-optimal. Nuclear reactor setups that prevent wasting fuel rely on this mechanic, and even then it's imperfect because you can't shut the reactor off, you can only starve it of fuel. So it prevents fine-tuning. I'm just glad someone modded this functionality in to nuclear reactors.

I feel the same logic applies to the rocket silo, maybe to a lesser extent, but then again as mentioned here:
ribsngibs wrote:
Sun Oct 18, 2020 11:21 am
[...]

Currently, with the "Auto-launch with cargo" option selected, the rocket will launch when the first space science pack is inserted (with a stack inserter I can get 12 space science packs in, which means 12 fish per launch). As far as I can tell there is no way to delay the launch until 100 space science packs are inserted: 1) the rocket silo cannot be connected to the circuit network, and 2) once the rocket is prepared, cutting power to the rocket silo will not prevent the rocket from launching once cargo is added (e.g. turning off the rocket silo via power switch before inserting science packs will still result in a rocket launch after the first science pack is added). 3) Having multiple stack inserters all adding science packs on exactly same tick still only results in 1 stack inserter delivering its packs before the rocket launches.

So, basically I can only get 12% of the fish per rocket launch than I originally calculated.

It would be nice if I could use the circuit network to wait for 100 science packs to be inserted before launching the rocket.
Conclusion: I agree with OP's suggestion. I really don't see why not, and maybe we can get the same thing for nuclear reactors in the base game while we're at it? :D
ImageImage
System Specs
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64 Bit
CPU: AMD Ryzen 5 3600X (@~3.8 gHz)
GPU: Nvidia RTX 2080
RAM: 32GB DDR4 (2400)
DRIVES: 2x 1TB NVMe SSD, 1x 6TB HDD

User avatar
AmericanPatriot
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 269
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2020 12:47 am
Contact:

Re: Rocket Launch by Circuit Condition

Post by AmericanPatriot »

ribsngibs wrote:
Sun Oct 18, 2020 11:21 am
Having multiple stack inserters all adding science packs on exactly same tick still only results in 1 stack inserter delivering its packs before the rocket launches
Sounds like a bug to me.
Sarcasm and insults are neither helpful nor appreciated; unless, of course, you are insulting a communist.
:D

User avatar
ickputzdirwech
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 282
Joined: Sun May 07, 2017 10:16 am
Contact:

Re: Rocket Launch by Circuit Condition

Post by ickputzdirwech »

AmericanPatriot wrote:
Tue Oct 27, 2020 5:15 pm
Sounds like a bug to me.
Good luck reporting that ;)
Mods: Shortcuts for 1.0, ick's vanilla tweaks
Text quickly seems cold and unfriendly. Be careful how you write and interpret what others have written.
- A reminder for me and all who read what I write.

Post Reply

Return to “Ideas and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users