Page 1 of 1

Train Station: Option to require stop

Posted: Thu Mar 23, 2017 4:55 pm
by SilverB1rd
TD;DR;

Add checkbox to train station interface to require that train stops at the station in order to use the station for pathing.

Why:
To give the player exact control of how train's path finding interacts with stations. This increases the players choices for creating optimal rail networks.

Details:
Add one checkbox to the train station interface that controls if trains are allowed to path through the station, if they are not stopping at that station.
Default Value: Unchecked: maintains the current .14 behavior.

Example:
Current Behavior: Train will take the lower track, through the Bypass stop, when traveling between the left and right station.

Desired Behavior: When the Requires Stop checkbox is enabled at the Bypass station, the train will use the upper track when traveling between the left and right station.

Image

Could Use Work:
A better descriptive name for the checkbox, trying to keep it simple enough a novice would be able to understand what the checkbox controls.

Re: Train Station: Option to require stop

Posted: Thu Mar 23, 2017 4:59 pm
by Klonan
There is already some pathfinding penalty for pathing through stations now in 0.15, so this issue should hopefully be solved

Re: Train Station: Option to require stop

Posted: Thu Mar 23, 2017 5:04 pm
by SilverB1rd
Klonan wrote:There is already some pathfinding penalty for pathing through stations now in 0.15, so this issue should hopefully be solved
That is basically how I would see this option working. although having the checkbox gives better control to the player, since an arbitrary penalty may not be enough to achieve the desired outcome. The check box would essentially force maximum penalty, the expected result for a train that must pass through the station without stopping would be a no path.

The mental workload for "most likely wont use" vs "will never use" increases with complexity of the system.

Re: Train Station: Option to require stop

Posted: Thu Mar 23, 2017 6:08 pm
by SilverB1rd
Another possible name for the option would be "Disable Passthrough"

I've seen this idea mentioned a few times but I wanted to create suggestion specifically for this one item.

Re: Train Station: Option to require stop

Posted: Thu Mar 23, 2017 6:27 pm
by SilverB1rd
add missing "why" section.

Re: Train Station: Option to require stop

Posted: Sat Mar 25, 2017 5:15 am
by mattj256
It's already possible to use chain signals to make sure that a train doesn't enter a section of track unless it can also exit.
Can you give an example of when the train takes the wrong path?

Re: Train Station: Option to require stop

Posted: Thu Apr 06, 2017 7:15 pm
by SilverB1rd
mattj256 wrote:Can you give an example of when the train takes the wrong path?
The image in the OP shows a scenario where the trail will chose the path through the bypass station, because it is shorter, rather then the upper route which would be considered more desirable especially in more complex layouts.

Currently, depot layouts which require bi-directional trains are the only way to guaranty trains will not try to shortcut through the depot.

Re: Train Station: Option to require stop

Posted: Fri Apr 07, 2017 11:20 am
by ssilk
Added to viewtopic.php?f=80&t=21899 Control Train Pathfinder (Passthru stations, Add Penalty)