Page 1 of 1

Factorio communicate with server app.

Posted: Mon Sep 19, 2016 8:44 am
by pjincz
Hi everyone,

I am trying to make a factorio manager system.
This system will peek some information from factorio and inject some information into factorio.
(for example, I will show online player on web. And user can set welcome message on web.)
But since 0.14, /silent-command will disable achievement system.
Is there anyway to work around this?

Thanks

Re: Factorio communicate with server app.

Posted: Mon Sep 19, 2016 10:01 am
by aubergine18
posted in wrong forum?

Re: Factorio communicate with server app.

Posted: Mon Sep 19, 2016 10:50 am
by pjincz
aubergine18 wrote:posted in wrong forum?
Sorry,

I saw other modding implements also post here?
Where is a better forum to post?

Jin

Re: Factorio communicate with server app.

Posted: Mon Sep 19, 2016 11:53 am
by ssilk
The right board for such stuff is Tools. viewforum.php?f=69
Choose the right subforum, as you like.
and inject some information into factorio.
And before you invest some time into this: It is a general failure, if a mod would be enabled to do stuff like that you explained. Cause the game looses the determinism if that would be allowed. So until there is no official interface I'm sure, the devs will "fix" any stuff, that enables to exchange information between the game and the hosting system, cause it will kill the determinism.
Anything like that must be event-driven and every information needs to be shared between the clients.

PS: And please avoid posts like "I like to make ..., which does ... and ....". Instead: "Hi, I've made ..., currently it does ...". Or "Hi, I'm currently doing ... and I have exactly this problem ..."

Much better for everyone. :)

Re: Factorio communicate with server app.

Posted: Mon Sep 19, 2016 12:30 pm
by pjincz
ssilk wrote:The right board for such stuff is Tools. viewforum.php?f=69
Choose the right subforum, as you like.
and inject some information into factorio.
And before you invest some time into this: It is a general failure, if a mod would be enabled to do stuff like that you explained. Cause the game looses the determinism if that would be allowed. So until there is no official interface I'm sure, the devs will "fix" any stuff, that enables to exchange information between the game and the hosting system, cause it will kill the determinism.
Anything like that must be event-driven and every information needs to be shared between the clients.

PS: And please avoid posts like "I like to make ..., which does ... and ....". Instead: "Hi, I've made ..., currently it does ...". Or "Hi, I'm currently doing ... and I have exactly this problem ..."

Much better for everyone. :)
:D
Exactly, I am making a system to do this. :)

I think there's a way to solve determinism.
For example, event system.

Re: Factorio communicate with server app.

Posted: Mon Sep 19, 2016 12:50 pm
by ssilk
Sorry, I won't prevent you from doing "stuff". I just wanted you prevent you from doing things that needs to be thrown away afterwards. :)

Re: Factorio communicate with server app.

Posted: Mon Sep 19, 2016 2:21 pm
by pjincz
ssilk wrote:Sorry, I won't prevent you from doing "stuff". I just wanted you prevent you from doing things that needs to be thrown away afterwards. :)
:D Thank you for your notice.
I think I'm creating a cool project.

I my opinion, server sending something to factorio is very very similar to user sending something to factorio.
Because, since 0.14, there is a character named <server>. You can consider that there's another player named <server>. ^_^
But recently, /command and /silent-command are limited. That makes a trouble to me. :(

Re: Factorio communicate with server app.

Posted: Mon Sep 19, 2016 2:30 pm
by ssilk
Ah. Now I understand, why you posted it in suggestions. That is indeed a good point. Moved from Implemented to the right board.

I think the right way to have such a feature implemented is an interface, that allows to add own console commands.
By default they should have the mod-name, so you can make a command like /myMod subcommand (just an idea)...

I wonder, that I found no suggestion around that, but I'm more or less sure that will come, cause easy to implement.

Re: Factorio communicate with server app.

Posted: Mon Sep 19, 2016 2:58 pm
by pjincz
ssilk wrote:Ah. Now I understand, why you posted it in suggestions. That is indeed a good point. Moved from Implemented to the right board.

I think the right way to have such a feature implemented is an interface, that allows to add own console commands.
By default they should have the mod-name, so you can make a command like /myMod subcommand (just an idea)...

I wonder, that I found no suggestion around that, but I'm more or less sure that will come, cause easy to implement.
Great message~
Thank you

BTW:
Currently, I use scenario script to implement and dispatch server script to players.
I hope scenario script will also support custom command.
:)