Auto research queue

Post your ideas and suggestions how to improve the game.
Zavian
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1381
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2017 2:57 am
Contact:

Re: Automatic science dependency research / Allow "researching" unavailable technologies

Post by Zavian » Fri Jan 25, 2019 1:47 am

osndok wrote:
Mon Jan 21, 2019 3:26 pm
n7m6e7 wrote:
Mon Jan 21, 2019 12:51 pm
What happens when you have 2 or more dependencies available at once? Does it choose randomly, or the cheapest?
I think it would be great if micro-managing research could gain you something (esp. for speed running), but that everyone else (esp. noobs) didn't have to.
"Noobs" are actually the very people who need to have the research screen open after every research, so they can see what that technology has unlocked. Not looking at the research screen is why adding an auto-research to rocket silo (especially if it is available by default) is a bad for new players. (Adding a research goal mechanic to help people pick research work towards some longer term goal as mentioned in viewtopic.php?f=38&t=61897&p=395601#p395531 should be less of an issue for new players).

User avatar
nemostein
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 8:39 pm
Contact:

[0.17] Auto queue required research

Post by nemostein » Tue Mar 05, 2019 3:30 am

TL;DR
Queuing a research should queue all required research instead of giving a error message.
What ?
Consider that, in a new world, you want to rush the Fast Inserter technology.
You open the Tech Tree, click in the Fast Inserter icon and click Start Research.
Instead of showing a tooltip stating that "Some prerequisite technologies are not researched ...", the game should add Automation, Eletronics and Fast Inserter to the queue.
Why ?
Currently is troublesome to queue all desired research to achieve a specific technology.
When the player queue one research, the whole list of technologies is reordered to display, in orange, all the newly available "queueable" technologies, forcing the player to look twice to find the next technology.
Furthermore, some techs have a complex chain of requirements, making even harder to remember all required techs (e.g.: Automation 2 requires Logistics Science Pack, Steel Processing and Electronics that, in turn, requires Automation).
"I'd say the main bottleneck is sleep." - AndrewIRL

Koub
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4603
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:54 am
Contact:

Re: Auto research queue

Post by Koub » Tue Mar 05, 2019 5:54 pm

[Koub] Merged into older (still valid despite it's 3 years old) topic with same suggestion.
Koub - Please consider English is not my native language.

Haybale
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2017 7:38 pm
Contact:

Research

Post by Haybale » Mon Mar 11, 2019 12:54 am

When having to do multiple researches wich are not unlocked yet, right click in the Technology Tree to add them to the queue when possible

SuicideJunkie
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 70
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2017 10:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Research

Post by SuicideJunkie » Mon Mar 11, 2019 4:50 am

Haybale wrote:
Mon Mar 11, 2019 12:54 am
When having to do multiple researches wich are not unlocked yet, right click in the Technology Tree to add them to the queue when possible
IE: Queue up the dependencies when you click to start research on an unavailable tech area?
That would be great.

Haybale
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2017 7:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Research

Post by Haybale » Mon Mar 11, 2019 11:59 am

Yea was kinda tired when thinking about this, but thats what i ment

User avatar
y.petremann
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 393
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2014 4:24 pm
Contact:

Add dependency in reseach queue

Post by y.petremann » Fri Mar 15, 2019 9:28 pm

TL;DR
Being able to see research that can fit the research tree with their dependencies and quickly adding them with their dependencies.
Now
Actually with the research queue available, when we append a research, any research that could be researched after is displayed in orange and can be appended in the research queue.
Proposition
Instead of that I propose that:
For each unresearched research, we calculate how many unresearched dependencies not in research queue are needed to research this one (we can abord the calculation as soon as this is higher than the availlable research queue size), if( number dependencies > availlable research queue size) then we mark it in orange.

Then if we append a orange research, we append every unresearched dependencies not in research queue before it.
Why
Actually when we append a known research (like logistic 2), we need to prepend manually every dependencies, which is not very practical...

Koub
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4603
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:54 am
Contact:

Re: Auto research queue

Post by Koub » Thu Mar 21, 2019 7:16 am

[Koub] Merged topics about queuing a research and its prerequisites into older one
Koub - Please consider English is not my native language.

Post Reply

Return to “Ideas and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users