Page 1 of 1

use powers of 2 for logistics

Posted: Thu Mar 27, 2014 6:21 pm
by LoSboccacc
so, all stack in games go by power of 2 (from 32 to 128)

it would make sense for the logistic system to use the same steps

so 1, 2, 4, 8, 16, 32 etc.

or at least have a stop for 64 and 128, if you like to have the decades 10 20 30 40 50

Re: use powers of 2 for logistics

Posted: Thu Mar 27, 2014 6:39 pm
by ssilk
https://forums.factorio.com/forum/vie ... ?f=6&t=980

https://forums.factorio.com/forum/vie ... f=6&t=1206

https://forums.factorio.com/forum/vie ... size#p6906

Or in other words: the problem is known, very different suggestions, but a solution is currently not in focus. :)
(My current opinion is, that the displayed/selectable sizes should depend on the number of that currently selected, chosen or otherwise related item for one stack)

Re: use powers of 2 for logistics

Posted: Thu Mar 27, 2014 10:00 pm
by kovarex
Actually what we are planning to use powers of 10 for stack sizes everywhere instead.
Powers of 2 are useful in minecraft, where you have to divide the stacks to build the crafting area, but Factorio works differently and stack sizes of power of 2 are almost pointless.

Re: use powers of 2 for logistics

Posted: Sun Mar 30, 2014 3:59 pm
by slay_mithos
Well, the main point of power of 2over power of 10 stack size is to optimize the data on the hard drive.
Power of 10 is better for the end user, because it's easier to see stacks of 100 than 128.

Re: use powers of 2 for logistics

Posted: Mon Mar 31, 2014 11:26 am
by Cilya
None of them does have any use in a gameplay point of view. To limit the size of the inventory is only useful to force the player to use transportation means. But, the game is currently limiting the number of stacks, not exactly the number of items. The difference is that it only is annoying for the player : he can transport very large amount of items, but he still needs to remove very small stacks to get this space.

Re: use powers of 2 for logistics

Posted: Mon Apr 28, 2014 1:10 pm
by naryl
With powers of two there are stack sizes of 32, 64, 128 and 256 items in a purely exponential scale. They're close enough so you can find a nice stack size for any item. With powers of ten you get either 1, 10, 100 and 1000 which is too far apart or have to introduce a multiplier and make the scale non-uniform (as done in the logistics system).
But the real current issue is that different facilities have different stack size scales. Inventory gets powers of two while logistics gets powers of ten with multiplier which does nothing but waste inventory slots.

Re: use powers of 2 for logistics

Posted: Mon Apr 28, 2014 2:32 pm
by ssilk
See some posts above: Kovarex announced to change that.

Re: use powers of 2 for logistics

Posted: Mon Apr 28, 2014 2:41 pm
by Drury
naryl wrote:With powers of two there are stack sizes of 32, 64, 128 and 256 items in a purely exponential scale. They're close enough so you can find a nice stack size for any item. With powers of ten you get either 1, 10, 100 and 1000 which is too far apart or have to introduce a multiplier and make the scale non-uniform (as done in the logistics system).
But the real current issue is that different facilities have different stack size scales. Inventory gets powers of two while logistics gets powers of ten with multiplier which does nothing but waste inventory slots.
You have a point, powers of 2 are better than powers of 10 due to them not being so far apart, it's only the inconsistency with logistics that kills it.

I'd rather keep powers of 2.

Re: use powers of 2 for logistics

Posted: Mon Apr 28, 2014 3:13 pm
by ssilk
Power of 10 dosn't mean in my eyes, that it is 1, 10, 100, 1000, more like 1, 2, 5, 10, 20, 50, etc.

Re: use powers of 2 for logistics

Posted: Mon Apr 28, 2014 3:30 pm
by DrNoid
ssilk wrote:Power of 10 dosn't mean in my eyes, that it is 1, 10, 100, 1000, more like 1, 2, 5, 10, 20, 50, etc.
Those would be powers of money, since most coin/banknote systems use that ;)

:o There's even a wikipedia entry on number systems like that http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Preferred_number

But personally, I'd prefer to just type in the number. Much better than messing with a slider.

Re: use powers of 2 for logistics

Posted: Mon Apr 28, 2014 5:12 pm
by ssilk
Cool, never known. :) But I know the numbers and ever wondered...

So stack sizes would be with the rounded R5-series:

Code: Select all

1      2      3      4      6      10      16      25      40      63    100     160     250     400 ....
(the first 5 are rounded!)
Or for the E6:

Code: Select all

1      2             3       5       7      10      15      22      33      47      68      100     150     220 ....
Useful? I think in the first moment a bit irritating. But I think I could get used to, why not?

And for further discussion, please don't mix the stack sizes with the sliders, to select the number of items. Ideally they are the same, but for the sliders I want to have more (R10 or R20 or so)

Re: use powers of 2 for logistics

Posted: Mon Apr 28, 2014 5:25 pm
by slay_mithos
Let's just stick to Fibonacci numbers^^

Re: use powers of 2 for logistics

Posted: Mon Apr 28, 2014 5:45 pm
by ssilk
Hehe. Already suggested: https://forums.factorio.com/forum/vie ... cci#p22230 :P


I think all the suggestions above are not so useful. The target was to make the stack-sizes easier, not more complex!!

I found these number very useful, which we know from photography and I suited it to Factorio:

Code: Select all

1     2       4      8      15    30      60     125    250     500    1000 
I really like the numbers here. They feel good. :)

And again: These are stack-sizes :!: The number of items, which a stack can hold. Nothing else.



And for the sliders or other stuff:

Code: Select all

1     2     3      4      5     6      8     10     15      20      30     45     60   100     125    250     500    1000     1250    2500    5000    10000    12500    25000     50000    100000  ....
And I really don't like the slider at all... in my eyes it makes sense to select first the context (I'm the player and want to fill ONE stack of this item or is it for a very big storage and I want to fill up some chests?).

Then the exact value in this context, because - I repeat me, but I think it's important - it depends on the context. It's different if the player selects one item or one stack.

But that's a complete different thread.

Re: use powers of 2 for logistics

Posted: Tue Apr 29, 2014 7:58 am
by just_dont
We should even have sliders in circuits. There should be an input field to put any number into it (I'm already highly irritated by the lack of "0" on current sliders). Okay, perhaps WITH a slider, so that a lazy person could also make numbers without using keyboard.

Re: use powers of 2 for logistics

Posted: Tue Apr 29, 2014 6:34 pm
by Lee_newsum
and as big as number as you can.

Re: use powers of 2 for logistics

Posted: Tue Apr 29, 2014 8:46 pm
by ssilk
just_dont wrote:We should even have sliders in circuits. There should be an input field to put any number into it (I'm already highly irritated by the lack of "0" on current sliders). Okay, perhaps WITH a slider, so that a lazy person could also make numbers without using keyboard.
As said, this is a completely different problem. Or better "they". For example the problem, that the equal-sign is useless with bots/inserter stack size bonus.