Separate hotkey for putting item in trash slots.

Post your ideas and suggestions how to improve the game.
Post Reply
Quizer
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 2:21 pm
Contact:

Separate hotkey for putting item in trash slots.

Post by Quizer »

Some items will go to logistic trash slots when shift-clicked (mostly wood and ores), others won't, mostly because the game tries to send them to the hotbar instead. The unpredictability of this can cause a lot of frustration. There needs to be an easy keypress-click combination that will send any item to a logistic trash slot, and it should not overlap with anything else. Shift-click has quite a few different things to handle already and does not need more, methinks.

User avatar
Ranakastrasz
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2049
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 3:05 am
Contact:

Re: Separate hotkey for putting item in trash slots.

Post by Ranakastrasz »

I support this. Mainly because I already suggested it.

Admittedly my initial suggestion was to alter shift hotkey to send to trash, but interference makes that a bad idea as was explained. After refining to suggest a new hotkey, nothing else was said.

--
Alternate idea. Holding an item, and holding shift when dropping it into the trash slot would quick-transfer all items of that type into trash. Or one stack at a time, similar to dropping into a chest.

Or trash can be changed to work like logistic slots, marking items that the robots take away if you have more than x of them.
My Mods:
Modular Armor Revamp - V16
Large Chests - V16
Agent Orange - V16
Flare - V16
Easy Refineries - V16

Vin
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 106
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 2:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Separate hotkey for putting item in trash slots.

Post by Vin »

Kovarex has already replied to this on several occasions. The most recent I can remember is here.

User avatar
Ranakastrasz
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2049
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 3:05 am
Contact:

Re: Separate hotkey for putting item in trash slots.

Post by Ranakastrasz »

Yep. Same rejection as I got. Which is why I suggested the alternatives.
My Mods:
Modular Armor Revamp - V16
Large Chests - V16
Agent Orange - V16
Flare - V16
Easy Refineries - V16

Quizer
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 2:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Separate hotkey for putting item in trash slots.

Post by Quizer »

It's such a silly business, this halfway implementation. I've posted in the other thread; maybe if enough people chime in on this, something will be done. There needs to be a way to send items to trash slots that works no matter what. Excluding the obvious and far too laborious one of click-drag-dropping the stacks one by one, of course. Hovering over the stack and pressing a key seems like the best way to do it to me.

User avatar
TuckJohn
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 335
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 4:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Separate hotkey for putting item in trash slots.

Post by TuckJohn »

Yes. This needs to be added
~1200+ hours clocked in factorio. Avid KSP and Factorio player

eigyr
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2015 3:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Separate hotkey for putting item in trash slots.

Post by eigyr »

yes, this. its sooo annoying when my inventory is filled with say yellow transport belts i want to get rid of but i have to drag and drop each stack individually. please fix this

Post Reply

Return to “Ideas and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot]