Page 1 of 1

Output R/G settings for buildings

Posted: Thu Oct 24, 2024 1:23 am
by fiftystars
For example:
currently in assembler you can set "output ingredients" and "output contents" and as a result you get sum of both. and you cant say which one is an ingredient and which one is just sitting inside. I suggest R/G setting for building outputs will solve this. You will be able to connect G which is ingredient and set recipes for corresponding assemblers and then connect R to filters etc to stop overproducing ingredients and produce exact proportions. This is vital with new quality mechanics when you need to count every single piece of resource.
Currently the only way to solve it - place second assembler as a template. It will never produce anything. It just outputs ingredients count. Such a waste.
This is a very simple example(its messy - now im testing it). If there is enough resources in a crate for rare Steam engine then it switches a recipe and recipes for ingredients to rare, otherwise uncommon. Steam engine consists of a gears and pipes(both are simple - 1 metal plate). For advanced ingredients you will need templates as well.
So i think it would be useful to be able to split similar signals. Also i guess it will affect performance for big smart factories. The more signals on a channel you have the more math you do using "EACH" or you add combinators to filter values. Both ways lead to excessive calculations.
10-24-2024, 04-03-54.png
10-24-2024, 04-03-54.png (2.01 MiB) Viewed 603 times

Read ingredients & read inventory from assembler to different wires

Posted: Fri Oct 25, 2024 9:21 am
by TaelBE
Right now, reading both ingredients and inventory from an assembler automatically mixes everything together, making it fairly useless. I would therefor like it if we could select per output if it would be put on the Red or Green wire.

For consistency, it probably would be nice to have it on all outputs for everything that connects to a circuit.

Re: Read ingredients & read inventory from assembler to different wires

Posted: Fri Oct 25, 2024 12:32 pm
by clarity
Similarly, it would be nice if you could choose whether recipe is read from green or red or both.

Re: Read ingredients & read inventory from assembler to different wires

Posted: Fri Oct 25, 2024 5:34 pm
by xzanthar
I was also going to suggest this.

I was also going to expand it to all machines that connect to the circuit network, having been spoiled now by the arithmetic and decider combinators being able to choose which wire to read from, it would be nice to have the ability to specify which wire to write to on those machines that have multiple options for sending signals.

most important is the assemblers having so many conditions available now, it would be better to have a choice to which wire they send or read signals from

Allow specifying channel in assembly machine's circuit connections

Posted: Fri Oct 25, 2024 6:38 pm
by Diggs00
I was making an auto-crafter, but I ended up needing two assemblers because I needed to read both the contents and ingredients.
If I could select which circuit channel to send them to, I could do this without having a separate assembly for reading ingredients.
How the assembler circuit UI looks today
How the assembler circuit UI looks today
10-25-2024, 20-36-09.png (198.41 KiB) Viewed 560 times

Re: Read ingredients & read inventory from assembler to different wires

Posted: Fri Oct 25, 2024 8:01 pm
by KeithFromCanada
It is a bad oversight for a fantastic game. Here is a simple bot mall blueprint. The DC wouldn't be needed if each option in the assembler had red AND green checkboxes beside it. This would also make wiring it up a lot simpler.
10-25-2024, 13-01-08.png
10-25-2024, 13-01-08.png (347.66 KiB) Viewed 573 times

Re: Output R/G settings for buildings

Posted: Sat Oct 26, 2024 9:07 am
by Koub
[Koub] Merged 4 threads with what I understand are variations about giving better circuitry tools to read and differentiate at the same time the inputs and the outputs of an assembling machine (or any machine that can craft).

Re: Output R/G settings for buildings

Posted: Fri Nov 01, 2024 4:24 pm
by BaggyK
Another possible solution would be to add an 'ingredients of' option to the decider combinator.

Re: Output R/G settings for buildings

Posted: Fri Nov 01, 2024 5:50 pm
by Epb7304
BaggyK wrote: Fri Nov 01, 2024 4:24 pm Another possible solution would be to add an 'ingredients of' option to the decider combinator.
I think you meant selector combinator. either way it should go to selector combiantor

Re: Output R/G settings for buildings

Posted: Fri Nov 01, 2024 5:55 pm
by feng
I support the idea to be able to set "red" or "green" wire on all circuit objects for reading and writing. just like on the decider combinators.

Re: Output R/G settings for buildings

Posted: Mon Nov 04, 2024 4:34 am
by Vulteran
I would also like to be able to do this. Another simple example is the asteroid collector. Right now you can't set filters based on the contents of the collector... because reading contents AND setting filters doesn't work.

If I could read the contents on red wire, output only contents below a threshold to green from a decider, then set filters on the green channel it would work very nicely. Right now the extra room in the collectors goes somewhat to waste due to statistical probabilities demanding I prevent the collector from locking up and getting full of only one resource type when I need a different one.

Re: Output R/G settings for buildings

Posted: Tue Nov 05, 2024 10:41 am
by Koub
For completeness, a related suggestion (viewtopic.php?f=6&t=117481) requests for the ability to tell apart red and green inputs and outputs for everything that supports circuit connections. Not sure if I should have merged both, or if they are distinct enough to let them as separate threads.

Re: Output R/G settings for buildings

Posted: Tue Nov 05, 2024 6:01 pm
by Muche
From viewtopic.php?p=632506#p632506:
kovarex wrote: Mon Nov 04, 2024 3:15 pm We have an internal proposal to make it configurable almost everywhere from/to which wire you read/write. So you could output to red and read from green for example.

But this is not a trivial change, and because of all the other work we need to do, we are planning to do this for the version 2.1.