Factorio (Server) ARM Build

Post your ideas and suggestions how to improve the game.
Post Reply
selbie
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 8:13 pm

Factorio (Server) ARM Build

Post by selbie » Tue Aug 18, 2015 12:51 pm

Dear developers,

I enjoy playing factorio, and I actually own a CubieTruck also known as (cubieboard 3). (DualCore 1GHz, 2GB ram)
This board is running linux debian based on ARM. I use this board for a small homeserver and I would like to run a small factorio server on it.
But since there is no executable for ARM I would need to do some visualization which isn't the best option.

I know more people have asked about it, but they came with the idea to run it on the Pi which isn't that strong to multitask also the limitation of 512MB of ram (on the model B/B+) isn't enough.
I am not asking for a working GUI, just the server part is fine.

If you could honor this request you would make me and probably more players happy to use their ARM hardware for factorio.

Thank you in advance

quinor
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 372
Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2013 3:07 pm

Re: Factorio (Server) ARM Build

Post by quinor » Fri Aug 21, 2015 10:02 pm

I seriously doubt whether ARM is powerful enough to run Factorio. Still, preparing (and testing) build for a different platform is non-trivial task...

orbiter28
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 5:04 pm

Re: Factorio (Server) ARM Build

Post by orbiter28 » Thu Nov 08, 2018 5:10 pm

raspberry pi 3 have 1Gb of memory.
I think it's ok for a server, non-gui are optimized, and most game have few players.
It's a very good solution : efficient, cost saving, fanless, and it's ok for testing.

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 7949
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am

Re: Factorio (Server) ARM Build

Post by Rseding91 » Thu Nov 08, 2018 6:54 pm

We don't consider it worth our time to invest in making an ARM build. The deterministic nature of Factorio means we need to care about even basic math operations being the same across platforms and ARM being a completely different architecture is almost certain to have deterministic issues with x86 CPUs.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on IRC and Discord.

PunPun
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2016 7:08 pm

Re: Factorio (Server) ARM Build

Post by PunPun » Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:29 pm

Even if you could get it to fit in the pis limited memory(Would seriously limit the map size) and solve the determinism issues(which would most likely impact performance a lot since you would have to do anything other than basic integer math with a software solution) I don't think even the newest and fastest raspberry pi would be fast enough to get anywhere near 60ups. I would be very surprised if you got even half of that. x86/x64 does a lot more per clock sycle than the armv8-A that the pi uses. Also the pi3 has a 900mhz lpddr2 with very high latency compared to ddr3/4. For the purpose of running a factorio server the raspberry pi 3 would be comparable to a slow pentium 3 with low end ddr2 memory. Also note that because of the sequential nature of factorios simulation the pi having 4 cpu cores would not help much. I have multiple raspberry pis(including the 3+) and have done a lot of things with them and I'm quite confident that even if there was a arm build of the factorio server you would not like the experience at all.

If you want a low power&quiet server for factorio(or almost any other game that has a GUIless server) I would recommend getting a machine with an intel G5600. Its relatively cheap and has very low power consumption when compared to other processors with similar preformance for running game servers. And if you slap a big heatsink on it with a fan that only turns on when the cpu goes over 60c the fan would most of the time be off. Also it is an x64 processor so you would not need to worry about wheter there is an arm build or not for the game you are planning to host on it. It would be 2x or 3x as expensive as an rpi but you would get 20x to 50x the performance.

User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 5990
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm

Re: Factorio (Server) ARM Build

Post by bobingabout » Fri Nov 09, 2018 9:01 am

Rseding91 wrote:
Thu Nov 08, 2018 6:54 pm
is almost certain to have deterministic issues with x86 CPUs.
You don't use x86, you couldn't sync it's determinism with x64, so you dropped it.
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 7949
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am

Re: Factorio (Server) ARM Build

Post by Rseding91 » Fri Nov 09, 2018 10:15 am

bobingabout wrote:
Fri Nov 09, 2018 9:01 am
Rseding91 wrote:
Thu Nov 08, 2018 6:54 pm
is almost certain to have deterministic issues with x86 CPUs.
You don't use x86, you couldn't sync it's determinism with x64, so you dropped it.
x86 is the CPU architecture. "32 bit" is the 32 bit build and we didn't drop it just because of determinism. We dropped it because it was annoying to maintain, < 1% of the player base used 32 bit, and the base game needed > 2 GB to run comfortably.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on IRC and Discord.

PunPun
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2016 7:08 pm

Re: Factorio (Server) ARM Build

Post by PunPun » Fri Nov 09, 2018 12:38 pm

Rseding91 wrote:
Fri Nov 09, 2018 10:15 am
bobingabout wrote:
Fri Nov 09, 2018 9:01 am
Rseding91 wrote:
Thu Nov 08, 2018 6:54 pm
is almost certain to have deterministic issues with x86 CPUs.
You don't use x86, you couldn't sync it's determinism with x64, so you dropped it.
x86 is the CPU architecture. "32 bit" is the 32 bit build and we didn't drop it just because of determinism. We dropped it because it was annoying to maintain, < 1% of the player base used 32 bit, and the base game needed > 2 GB to run comfortably.
All processors that implement the x86 instruction set and are part of the x86 architecture family. The x86 instruction set was named based on the first processor that used it the intel 8086 which was a 16 bit version of the intel 8080 that was for some reason exluded from the family. The x86 family has 8 generations so far with several architectures in each generation. The first two generations were 16 bit and only the last one is 64bit. Each newer generation was supposed to be backwards compatible with all the previous ones but the cpu manufactorers sometimes removed features making them only partly backwards compatible. Tough sometimes x86 is referred to as an architecture it is infact an architecture family. If you want to name an architecture that would be amd ryzen or intel kaby lake etc. x64 is a 64bit subset of the x86 and sometimes x86 is a 32bit subset of x86 that does not include the intel 8086 after which the whole thing was named after. And sometimes I wonder if the people making computer stuff are naming things the most confusing way possible on purpose. It also doesn't help that people are using the terms whicheverway and they have all become a jumbled mess and its sometimes impossible to know what exactly someone means when they use them making both of you wrong and right at the same time and then there's two gpu designers who released two different products with the exact same name multiple times and this stuff is just plain ridiculous.

Aeternus
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 822
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2017 2:10 am

Re: Factorio (Server) ARM Build

Post by Aeternus » Fri Nov 09, 2018 3:31 pm

Then here's it simplified for those who have terminology OCD:
32 bit Windows operating systems have a 2GB addressing space for applications (by default).
Factorio needs more then 2GB to function properly. Therefor Factorio doesn't work well within a standard 32 bit environment.
Therefor Factorio is now a x64 only application.

Post Reply

Return to “Ideas and Suggestions”