Option to disable auto-repair by pers. roboport robots.

Post your ideas and suggestions how to improve the game.
User avatar
Tev
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 144
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 7:42 pm

Re: Disable personal bots while moving

Post by Tev » Tue May 23, 2017 8:23 am

Hell no to the OP
ssilk wrote:Besides that: I want to know at every moment how many bots of my PR are outside and about where they are.
Hell yeah!

deer_buster
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2016 3:35 am

Re: Disable personal bots while moving

Post by deer_buster » Tue May 23, 2017 12:06 pm

A hotkey would be nice, or some kind of way to designate what they are and aren't allowed to do...

Slayn25
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 122
Joined: Sun May 15, 2016 5:59 pm

Re: Disable personal bots while moving

Post by Slayn25 » Tue May 23, 2017 8:26 pm

I'm all for toggles for everything bot related. Construction/Logistics/Trash, Personal/Base.

Phasma Felis
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2015 1:02 am

Re: Option to disable auto-repair by pers. roboport robots.

Post by Phasma Felis » Fri Jun 30, 2017 8:35 pm

ssilk wrote:Are you too lazy to type in "personal roboport" in the search bar of the mod plattform? 8-)

https://mods.factorio.com/mods/Articula ... entHotkeys
https://mods.factorio.com/mods/mknejp/p ... ort-switch

I think both are useful.
Neither one of those fixes the problem, at least for me. Personal Roboport Switch only disables personal construction/deconstruction within range of stationary roboports; it doesn't affect repair robots at all.

Equipment Hotkeys is nice, but it doesn't stop personal drones from trying to repair things while the player is inside a vehicle. It *does* stop repairs when on foot, and it stops construction/deconstruction always. I've looked at the code and there's no special case that I can see; it looks like the game's code for launching repair drones inside a vehicle bypasses whatever mechanism the mod uses.

Phasma Felis
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2015 1:02 am

Re: Option to disable auto-repair by pers. roboport robots.

Post by Phasma Felis » Fri Jun 30, 2017 9:12 pm

I took another look at Equipment Hotkeys and figured out the problem. The mod disables roboports by setting construction_radius = 0, but an occupied vehicle's distance from the driver is 0, so the bots are allowed to work on it. Setting robot_limit = 0 fixes it--disabled ports aren't allowed to launch robots at all. Just add this line to the mod's data-final-fixes.lua file, before "data:extend(equipment)":

processEquipment("roboport-equipment", {["robot_limit"] = 0})

Aeternus
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 801
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2017 2:10 am

Suggestion: Personal roboport toggle

Post by Aeternus » Sun Mar 11, 2018 10:21 pm

I'd like to suggest a function to be added to toggle the personal roboport(s) on or off. Sometimes when you are travelling and come in range of some construction, your personal robots will decide to start helping that even when you're not planning to stick around. This can cause bots to become lost - far away from the character, especially if you're moving by train.

When moving on foot this can be worked around by taking the armor off, but you don't have that option when you are in a vehicle.

User avatar
<NO_NAME>
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 172
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2016 9:52 am

Re: Suggestion: Personal roboport toggle

Post by <NO_NAME> » Sun Mar 11, 2018 11:57 pm

Yeah, escaping robots are really irritating.
I am a translator. And what you did for Factorio?
Check out my mod "Realistic Ores" and my other mods!

User avatar
MeduSalem
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1290
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2014 8:13 pm

Re: Suggestion: Personal roboport toggle

Post by MeduSalem » Mon Mar 12, 2018 4:59 am

+1

But not because of escaping bots, but because I find it annoying altogether that personal construction bots are priorized over the network construction bots. The personal bots always try to join the construction / deconstruction fun... always taking away items from my inventory I don't want them to, or dump items into my inventory on deconstruction filling it up to the point I cannot put the item I am holding in the hand back into the inventory. Urgh.

Atlas
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2018 8:09 pm

Re: Suggestion: Personal roboport toggle

Post by Atlas » Mon Mar 12, 2018 5:36 am

Yes! Yes! Yes!
And as a bonus, an option to toggle exoskeletons too.

User avatar
<NO_NAME>
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 172
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2016 9:52 am

Re: Suggestion: Personal roboport toggle

Post by <NO_NAME> » Mon Mar 12, 2018 1:44 pm

MeduSalem wrote:+1

But not because of escaping bots, but because I find it annoying altogether that personal construction bots are priorized over the network construction bots. The personal bots always try to join the construction / deconstruction fun... always taking away items from my inventory I don't want them to, or dump items into my inventory on deconstruction filling it up to the point I cannot put the item I am holding in the hand back into the inventory. Urgh.
That too.

Actually, in another thread, I posted solution that covers even more cases. (https://forums.factorio.com/viewtopic.p ... 92#p343277)
I am a translator. And what you did for Factorio?
Check out my mod "Realistic Ores" and my other mods!

Ghoulish
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 279
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2015 8:40 am

Re: Suggestion: Personal roboport toggle

Post by Ghoulish » Mon Mar 12, 2018 6:01 pm

There's a few mods which cater to this, but it really is a feature that should be in vanilla!

n7m6e7
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:39 pm

Re: Suggestion: Personal roboport toggle

Post by n7m6e7 » Tue Mar 13, 2018 12:26 pm

+1

Especially in multiplayer, people will set up massive projects just outside of the base, or along train tracks, so i either lose all my stuff, or lose a handful of bots as i pass by.
There are no absolutes. I live knowing I could always be wrong, but with confidence that I could also be right.

gsezz
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2018 8:23 pm

Re: Suggestion: Personal roboport toggle

Post by gsezz » Tue Mar 13, 2018 12:53 pm

There's a few mods which cater to this, but it really is a feature that should be in vanilla!
exactly. The mods are a solution for now, but they don't work very well. Especially when switching gear around.
+1

Impatient
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 203
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2016 2:51 am

Re: Suggestion: Personal roboport toggle

Post by Impatient » Tue Mar 13, 2018 2:15 pm

+1
Another reason for me is, placing blueprints, and not losing the last item i am holding because my personal robots start to fill in the bp. This though has been suggested and discussed before.

Aeternus
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 801
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2017 2:10 am

Re: Suggestion: Personal roboport toggle

Post by Aeternus » Tue Mar 13, 2018 2:19 pm

Suggested way to implement it: On toggle, reduce the roboport area for the player object to 0x0. On the next tick, that should recall any and all bots and prevent them from popping out again until the area is toggled back to the normal size.

Koltrast
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2016 9:40 pm

Re: Suggestion: Personal roboport toggle

Post by Koltrast » Tue Mar 13, 2018 2:32 pm

+1

ethernal
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2018 7:07 am

Re: Suggestion: Personal roboport toggle

Post by ethernal » Wed Mar 28, 2018 7:44 am

+1

Zool
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2015 6:55 pm

Re: Suggestion: Personal roboport toggle

Post by Zool » Wed Mar 28, 2018 7:57 am

+1

User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 5823
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm

Re: Suggestion: Personal roboport toggle

Post by bobingabout » Wed Mar 28, 2018 8:03 am

I find myself opening my armor and ripping it out quite often, which is easy enough, but putting it back in is a pain because you have to find it in your over-filled inventory.

a toggle would be lovely
+1
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.

PacifyerGrey
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 957
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2016 10:02 am

Re: Suggestion: Personal roboport toggle

Post by PacifyerGrey » Wed Mar 28, 2018 6:33 pm

+1 ofcourse

This was discussed multiple times. The idea could be extended to toggle different types of modules in the grid, not only roboports. You sometimes might want to toggle night vision, personal defences, exoskeletons etc.

Found some related suggestions. Sadly could not find general one where we discussed toggling different modules. I do remember even having lightning mark on modules as a button toggling them as some idea.

Controls - Toggle Personal Roboport On/Off
Personal roboport
Bot slots for personal roboports

Post Reply

Return to “Ideas and Suggestions”