option to change vehicle speed so it shows in miles per hour

Post your ideas and suggestions how to improve the game.

option to change vehicle speed so it shows in miles per hour

Postby TRUEpicness » Fri Aug 11, 2017 12:51 pm

i dont know if this has been suggested before but here you go

this could be for people who prefer seeing Mp/h instead of km/h
for example if your vehicle is going at ~96 km/h it would show up as 60 mph
i just thought this would be a good idea to implement to make the game more flexible
TRUEpicness
Inserter
Inserter
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2017 8:21 pm

Re: option to change vehicle speed so it shows in miles per hour

Postby impetus maximus » Fri Aug 11, 2017 1:55 pm

even though we are a minority in the world of measurement, sign me up. +1
never mind.

whatever.jpg
whatever.jpg (63.53 KiB) Viewed 327 times
Last edited by impetus maximus on Fri Aug 11, 2017 8:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
impetus maximus
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
 
Posts: 787
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2016 10:07 pm

Re: option to change vehicle speed so it shows in miles per hour

Postby Koub » Fri Aug 11, 2017 4:36 pm

*Must resist not to troll about still using imperial system in 2017, must resist* :mrgreen:
Koub - Please consider English is not my native language.
Koub
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 2704
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:54 am
Location: France

Re: option to change vehicle speed so it shows in miles per hour

Postby Jap2.0 » Fri Aug 11, 2017 5:20 pm

Koub wrote:*Must resist not to troll about still using imperial system in 2017, must resist* :mrgreen:


Hey, it's not my fault I was raised using a system that multiplies things by 2, 3, 4, 12, 16, 1760, 5280, 43560, and other weird stuff instead of powers of ten.

And we did try to change, but you can't blame me for us failing because that was before I was born (I think).

So, you see, we simply use it to make everyone want to launch missiles at us improve everyone's memory.
There are 10 types of people: those who get this joke and those who don't.
Jap2.0
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
 
Posts: 446
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2017 12:02 am

Re: option to change vehicle speed so it shows in miles per hour

Postby mp0011 » Fri Aug 11, 2017 5:49 pm

Allow Imperial Units!
Then, after every rocket lunch, popup QTE question: "How many teaspoons of hydrogen you need to mix with 1 cubic foot of oxygen to make propper 2:1 fuel mixture". Then blow ship if answeat is incorrect ;)
mp0011
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 1:17 am

Re: option to change vehicle speed so it shows in miles per hour

Postby Xtrafresh » Fri Aug 11, 2017 7:08 pm

Jap2.0 wrote:
Hey, it's not my fault I was raised using a system that multiplies things by 2, 3, 4, 12, 16, 1760, 5280, 43560, and other weird stuff instead of powers of ten.

You are Liberian? :mrgreen:
Xtrafresh
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 4:57 pm

Re: option to change vehicle speed so it shows in miles per hour

Postby manuco » Fri Aug 11, 2017 7:14 pm

You should just change the label km/h into m/h :-D (or mph if yout want some kind of localization)
manuco
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Aug 05, 2017 9:43 am

Re: option to change vehicle speed so it shows in miles per hour

Postby Rseding91 » Fri Aug 11, 2017 8:12 pm

But why? The speed/time is arbitrary - you can't change it, you can't use it, it's display-only data.

It could be "Cars/318 days" for all it matters :P
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on IRC.
My Github page with my mods: https://github.com/Rseding91?tab=repositories
Find my mods on the mod portal: https://mods.factorio.com/mods/Rseding91
Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
 
Posts: 6027
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am

Re: option to change vehicle speed so it shows in miles per hour

Postby Bilka » Fri Aug 11, 2017 8:19 pm

Rseding91 wrote:But why? The speed/time is arbitrary - you can't change it, you can't use it, it's display-only data.

It could be "Cars/318 days" for all it matters :P


Are we doing that discussion again? :lol:
Bilka
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
 
Posts: 278
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2016 9:20 am

Re: option to change vehicle speed so it shows in miles per hour

Postby Supercheese » Fri Aug 11, 2017 9:45 pm

Bah, I prefer Furlongs per Fortnight myself! ;)
Supercheese
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
 
Posts: 745
Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2015 7:40 am
Location: Idaho, USA

Re: option to change vehicle speed so it shows in miles per hour

Postby TRUEpicness » Sat Aug 12, 2017 10:01 pm

Is is possible to delete your own topics because from what I see this suggestion is stupid Also I use the metric system because I'm British but for just speed I prefer mp/h
TRUEpicness
Inserter
Inserter
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2017 8:21 pm

Re: option to change vehicle speed so it shows in miles per hour

Postby Jap2.0 » Sat Aug 19, 2017 4:21 pm

Xtrafresh wrote:
Jap2.0 wrote:
Hey, it's not my fault I was raised using a system that multiplies things by 2, 3, 4, 12, 16, 1760, 5280, 43560, and other weird stuff instead of powers of ten.

You are Liberian? :mrgreen:


Nope, American.
There are 10 types of people: those who get this joke and those who don't.
Jap2.0
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
 
Posts: 446
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2017 12:02 am


Return to Ideas and Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests