Page 1 of 1
Website bug: trippy flickery menus
Posted: Mon Nov 04, 2019 5:35 am
by osndok
Steps to reproduce:
1. navigate to
https://www.factorio.com/
2. hover over the left side of the "Game > Starter Page" sub menu option
3. in one quick motion, move left (out of the submenu) and back right (to re-enter it)
4. enjoy the show
Seen on Firefox v69.0.1
Re: Website bug: trippy flickery menus
Posted: Mon Nov 04, 2019 10:09 am
by Klonan
Maybe this will be fixed with a website update
Until then, moving to won't fix
Re: Website bug: trippy flickery menus
Posted: Thu Nov 07, 2019 10:43 am
by Jon8RFC
One approach, which doesn't drastically alter the look from how it is now, is to change in factorio.min.js:
Code: Select all
$(".custom-dropdown").hover(function() {
$(this).children("ul").stop(true, true).slideDown(300)
}, function() {
$(this).children("ul").stop(true, true).slideUp(300)
});
to this:
Code: Select all
$(".custom-dropdown").hover(function() {
$(this).children("ul").stop(true, true).slideDown(300)
}, function() {
$(this).children("ul").stop(true, true).slideUp(0)
});
Yeah, you lose the smooth collapsing, but it's not that big of a deal. The smooth expanding is what makes it look nice, and that's retained.
It actually feels a bit more responsive with it collapsing at 0.
I don't think hounding stackoverflow for paragraphs of javascript to monitor where the cursor is and how to handle which menu was last selected (I can make a double-glitch with both menus by going in a circle), is at all worth it.
If anything were to change, I'd just change the slideUp to zero and call it a day. Just wanted to throw that out there!