Multiplayer Griefers seem to be increasing

Arrange meetings with other people to play MP, announce your servers.
Tony3D
Inserter
Inserter

Multiplayer Griefers seem to be increasing

Post by Tony3D »

I have been enjoying the game for slightly over two months myself. Noticing a very sharp increase in people logging in and destroying bases that have had a play time over 4-5 hours. I would now say 75%, or more, of the game maps that I participate are being destroyed by this type of player. The damage is usually enough for the other players to abandon the game. Very rarely minor changes to belt configurations or reversing inserters - its much worse - actually either ripping out infrastructure usually using construction robots or helping themselves to the grenades etc.

I hope that demonstration players are not able to create a multiplayer account name. I would be surprised if someone that actually purchased this game would do the damage but most of them are experienced and know what to target.

A game setting to prevent someone from using construction robots to destroy large areas possibly for the first 30 minutes of their personal login (i.e. not the game elapsed time) would slow them down a lot. Maybe set on by default but a game administrator could override (often at that time there is nobody with administrator permissions on and when they return the game has been damaged or is empty.

The method using armory would be a lot harder to police. Maybe if in the first 30 minutes of game play if the damage is done to infrastructure but with logic to test that there are no biters close to the point of attack.

That leaves the ones that go for power, storage or other infrastructure and just start ripping it up until they are kicked from game. Understanding how they think I personally would not mind if the time is slightly increased every time that you rip up any infrastructure for the first 10-15 minutes of personal login.