Steam Dedicated Server

Arrange meetings with other people to play MP, announce your servers.
Bisa
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 449
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2015 3:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Steam Dedicated Server

Post by Bisa » Mon Jul 04, 2016 1:26 pm

NobleSkyFighter wrote:edit the "server.bat" file and set the save path to simply "YourSaveGame.zip". No need for the path there.
with 0.13 I suggest you skip the filename completely and rely on the introduced argument --start-server-load-latest instead, which will save you anything you previously had to do to figure out how to load the latest savegame (autosaves for example)
Hosting a factorio server? Take a look at this || init script ||.

FOOL
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2016 7:55 am
Contact:

Re: Steam Dedicated Server

Post by FOOL » Thu Oct 13, 2016 8:10 am

Hey guys,

I've been having trouble getting a dedicated server set up using the steps given in this post, I'm not real good with this kind of thing and have been winging it a little. My main issue seems to be that I can't get the server to initiate using an alternate config file... no idea why, but as I said I'm not 100% on what I'm doing.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

frankmig
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 12:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Steam Dedicated Server

Post by frankmig » Sat Nov 05, 2016 1:04 pm

Start Factorio normally and create a new game. Save the game, such as servermap
Exit the game
Copy C:\Users<username>\AppData\Roaming\Factorio\config
to
C:\Users<%username%>\AppData\Roaming\Factorio
with a different name of course such as config-server, so there will be in side Factorio folder a folder with config and config-server
Inside config-server folder edit config.ini
write-data=PATHsystem-write-data__
to
write-data=PATHsystem-write-data__/server
Navigate to where base game is installed
For steam:
C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Factorio
Create a folder where the server is going to run from such as a folder on the desktop called Factorio Server
Inside the folder copy contents from C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Factorio
In Factorio Server folder edit config-path.cfg
config-path=PATHsystem-write-data__/config
to
config-path=PATHsystem-write-data__/config-server
Navigate to \Factorio Server\bin\x64
Create new text document and add the following:
cd "\Factorio Server\bin\x64"
start /wait factorio.exe --start-server "servermap.zip"
save file as filename.bat
remember to save file type as all files
copy servermap.zip file to this location
this should be located at C:\Users<username>\AppData\Roaming\Factorio\saves
run .bat file this will open the command prompt with the server running you should be able to run Factorio normally from steam

Ymer
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2018 5:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Steam Dedicated Server

Post by Ymer » Tue Sep 04, 2018 12:18 pm

I still get the error msg:
could not move file "factorio-current.log" Another instance of factorio is probably already running
any ideas?

I made a config-server.ini file and changed it like this:
write-data=C:\Program Files\Factorio\server

I made a server.bat file and wrote
start /wait Factorio.exe --start-server servertest.zip C:\Program Files\Factorio\config\config-server.ini

But I still get the error mentioned above after I start the server and try to run the game!

Zavian
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1418
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2017 2:57 am
Contact:

Re: Steam Dedicated Server

Post by Zavian » Tue Sep 04, 2018 12:29 pm

As I suggested in a similar thread (viewtopic.php?f=49&t=62215)
Zavian wrote:Actually the easiest way is to just use the .zip download from https://www.factorio.com/download and make a factorio install that is separate your existing factorio installation. The .zip version will be completely self contained with it's own mod folder, save games and log files.

Ymer
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2018 5:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Steam Dedicated Server

Post by Ymer » Tue Sep 04, 2018 4:39 pm

Zavian wrote:As I suggested in a similar thread (viewtopic.php?f=49&t=62215)
Zavian wrote:Actually the easiest way is to just use the .zip download from https://www.factorio.com/download and make a factorio install that is separate your existing factorio installation. The .zip version will be completely self contained with it's own mod folder, save games and log files.

Ok that worked! But ofc im getting the "
Couldn't establish network communication with server." error now...........

Post Reply

Return to “Multiplayer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users